eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Speakers for communications use | NCS-3230 Multi-Rx Help


Reviews Summary for NCS-3230 Multi-Rx
NCS-3230 Multi-Rx Reviews: 8 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $$279.95
Description: The Multi-Rx was designed to providea flexible way to monitor and control the receive audioof multiple receivers.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.ncsradio.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the NCS-3230 Multi-Rx.

KI4FIA Rating: 5/5 Apr 7, 2011 11:35 Send this review to a friend
Can't Live Without It!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I own 2 of the NCS-3230's for about 5 years. Both units worked perfect out of the box. Very good and ample volume and easy to set-up.

After a couple years of use both units developed a problem with scratchy audio and the volume would not stay at a consistent level. I emailed NCS and they offered to fix the problem (for a small fee, out of warrenty). They also told me how to fix it myself. It seems that the pot for the volume at the time I bought mine had some problems. They gave me the Mouser part number, I ordered 2 (1 for each unit) and replaced the pot myself. Now both units are working just like new!

I use one for the ham-rigs (IC-756 ProIII, FT-1000MP MkV, IC910) and the other for scanners used for military aircraft scanning (6 Uniden BC-780XLT's). With the NCS-3230 its so easy to control what your are listening too. With 9 active radio/scanners in the shack the NCS-3230 makes listening a joy....
 
WA2E Rating: 5/5 Jan 27, 2011 15:31 Send this review to a friend
Very Useful!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought a previously owned old style 3230. I suppose it's not PC to say "used" any more. Audio is easy to setup. Adjust the radio till the associated green LED lights and you're all set. The best part as others have mentioned is the ability to use 2 speakers for 6 radios. The flexibility to record any or all radios is a nice feature. After a couple months or so of using the 3230 I've yet to find a downside. Well, there is one downside. NCS has announced the 3230 is discontinued. Too bad, it's a fine product. One that hasn't disappointed.

Mike
 
N9FTA Rating: 5/5 Jul 1, 2010 21:22 Send this review to a friend
A Useful addition to any Shack!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Nice addition to the shack! I thought I'd submit another review of the product, since one hasn't been done in a while and the product has changed appearance. It is now painted black with white lettering and blends well in my shack with my other black radios and speakers. Functionally, it operates as advertised. I have no complaints. However, if your audio input has any "hum" associated with it, this unit and a combination of good speakers (I use m-Audio's DX 4 speakers) will definitely make it noticeable!

Setting the volume level of your audio inputs from your various sources takes just a little time and as one reviewer mentioned, is critical to obtaining GREAT audio from the Multi-RX. However, once accomplished, you'll be rewarded with some GREAT listening pleasure from your radios! I have one scanner, a dual-band ham radio, and my PC currently attached to the Multi-RX with two more inputs available for usage. Any combination of these can be listened to at one time and the the "spatial feature" is really COOL! It actually makes you think you are listening to your radios spread out in front of you and positioned in different locations. It makes listening to multiple radios very easy, as if they are all producing their audio separately in different speakers.

I would have preferred ⅛" mono phono plugs as the input terminals, as opposed to the RCA jacks. But, that's a nit and the RCA jacks are acceptable to me. However, you may want to consider getting NCS's Multi-RX Receive Audio Cable Kit. It's a package of six (6) 6 ft. cables with RCA jacks on one end and ⅛" mono male jacks on the other. This allows you to immediately hook you radios to the unit without having to run to RS or some other supplier to get cables.

Have only had my unit for three days now, but everything has worked on the unit and I haven't experienced any problems. so far. The build quality of the unit appears excellent and the appearance professional. Looks GOOD in the shack!
 
NA0AA Rating: 5/5 Oct 10, 2007 18:39 Send this review to a friend
Very useful  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I've only got 5 radios, but I feel this is critical to my enjoyment if only because I only need two speakers, which if nothing else saves space on my desk. It really is hard to explain why it's so useful but the Spatial listening mode really works well in separating the varying audio streams.

I'm not going to repeat everything else said here except to say I'd buy it again if I had to.

My only complaint is that it's too light and slides around every time I go to punch buttons.

Coolest feature for me? MUTE ALL - it's great when the phone rings or the wife calls.
 
N2DY Rating: 5/5 Aug 3, 2007 11:22 Send this review to a friend
Reduces Clutter and Works Great  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have two Multi-RX units hooked up to a total of 12 scanners and receivers at my "listening post". I do a great deal of local PD/FD and EMS scanning, military air band monitoring, medium wave listening and shortwave listening. Before I got the Multi-RX, I had different speakers hooked up to each radio. That took up a lot of space in the shack and looked pretty cluttered. The Multi-RX took care of that. Now I have just 4 speakers. In fact, the Multi-RX could allow me to get away with just 2 speakers for the 12 rigs. I use 2 speakers on each Multi-RX because of the spatial feature. This feature essentially makes each rig sound like it is in a different portion of the sound field coming from the speakers. In other words, the rig that is to the left sounds like it is coming from the left. The rig on the right sounds like it is coming from the right. The rig in the middle sounds like it is in the middle, etc. The Multi-RX also allows you to record from any, or all, of the rigs. Audio quality is virtually the same as the rigs sound on their own. As other reviewers have noted, setting the proper input volume from each rig is critical to getting the best sound out of the Multi-RX. If you set the input volume too high, the sound will distort since the Multi-RX is being overdriven. Getting it right is not difficult and, once you do, it sounds terrific. Not only does it work really well, it is a terrific looking piece of equipment. Build quality is beautiful. It has a military sort of look to it. It always impresses visitors to the shack. Doug has a real winner here. If you want to reduce clutter in your shack, consider picking up this really cool accessory.
 
W2DIP Rating: 5/5 Aug 3, 2007 06:50 Send this review to a friend
A Must Have  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Two rigs, two scanners, two PCs and some handhelds. It was a mass of confusion before I got this great little unit. Before, I had three sets of headphones and would switch from one to another or use one set and constantly unplug and plug it into one radio after another.

There are two units that allow you to hook up two rigs but that is it. This baby lets me hook up all of my rigs, use a single headset and also allows me to pick which and where each device sends its sound using both speakers and headphones, either separately or together. Now I can hear my PCs while I monitor 20 meters or listen to my scanner. If I get a call from a ham buddy, I simply disable all other inputs with the easy to use large front push buttons so that I only hear what I want to hear. For me, two years of Army Artillery, means I need LOUD. Before I got this unit I had to turn my volume all the way up to hear, even with headphones, and even then I had problems with some low talkers or weaker stations. Since this unit amplifies the signals it receives, I know easily get by using only half of its power.

The best part is that this unit is small. It fits nicely on top of one of my rigs (see the pic on qrz.com under my callsign).

The only issue is that it is fussy with the input level. Not really fussy but you have to set your input level so that the green indicator light just barely comes on with a signal present. They tell you to do this and if you do it sounds great. If you do not, the sound may be a little distorted because it is overdriving the unit. But basically it is a one time set and forget type of thing and you simple adjust your volume until the green indicator light comes on. Can not be any simpler than that.

One other tip, sometimes you will experience hum, which is not from the RX unit but rather from something plugged into it. Since this unit amplifies the sound it receives, something unnoticible on its own may be noticed now. A snap on ferrite choke solves that problem nicely.
 
CLEBOT Rating: 5/5 Mar 20, 2006 13:29 Send this review to a friend
Changes the way you will listen!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
How I ever got along without one of these is beyond me!
Well designed, built, and laid out, the NCS-3230 is perfect for tying everything together for me.
The options and flexibility are just fantastic. This unit screams quality. Despite being fairly light weight, the momentary push buttons and volume/balance knobs all have a very solid feel to them.
I have the record out going to my computer soundcard. In conjunction with the Recall Pro recording software, the Multi-RX is just what the Dr. ordered.
I enjoy listening to VHF Airband, so I have an older Bearcat 20/20 as my designated airband “recording” radio. Now, if I don’t want to listen to extended periods of silence, I just let the recording software take care of catching anything that comes up while I enjoy other frequencies. Then, after a few hours or days, I can play back what I recorded. This is also great for recording those “rare” catches like pilots reporting strange lights, etc. I just leave the Recall Pro software running and when I want to record something, I just hit the button on the Multi-RX. No need for separate recording equipment.
Additionally, running the record out to the sound card allows me to use my computer speakers as monitoring speakers. I have an AudioSource 12 band equalizer connected in line also. That way, if I want some richer sound while listening to music on the wideband receiver through the computer speakers (w/woofer) I can adjust the tone to my taste. Then, if I want to enhance the vocal range for listening to voice communications, I can just adjust my equalizer to favor the human voice range and reduce any high frequency hiss.
I have noticed no discernable overloading/interference/distortion problems with this unit. Nor does the audio appear “thin” to me. If anything, at least in my case, this unit has REDUCED background hiss from my Bearcat’s ext. speaker jack. I used to have to set the threshold on the recording software very high to avoid undesired static recording.
The only drawback for me was the price. It has come down from $349 to $329, but that is still very steep for me. I have been waiting almost 2 years to get this, but it was definitely worth it. I wholeheartedly recommend this to anyone who actively listens to multiple radios simultaneously and desires a central point of control.
O.k. I have only had this unit for about 3 days now, but my first impressions are very good. I’ll post a follow up after I have continued to see what else this baby can do.
If you are planning on making this purchase, do yourself a favor…download the manual from the website and get all the necessary cables beforehand. Read the manual and learn how it works and what it can do before you get it. I was up and running in under 5 minutes. I wish I had gotten this 2 years ago!

 
KC5LVW Rating: 4/5 Jun 6, 2003 09:14 Send this review to a friend
Godd but Cautious  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've been on the wait list for awhile & it finally arrived. I wanted a match to drive a pair of SoundSweet speakers. Seemed like a good idea. Operation is fairly straight forward. A little better labeling on the back in layman's terms would be better (the "effects send & return" are confusig). First impression was the audio is THIN, i.e., narrow bandwidtrh. Easy to achieve "distoration" even before the Audio input LEDs come on. May have a little impdance issue on the inputs. I added a car 10-band EQ to it & now it sounds GREAT. Bottom line: it works, you'll have to work with your inputs for distoration free listening & you NEED a EQ system to enjoy some good sound. The aufio amps (2.5W) are plenty for the Shack environment. Still it's a good first run & I'm glad I got one.
73's
Jon, KC5LVW
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.