eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Standard C228A Help


Reviews Summary for Standard C228A
Standard C228A Reviews: 7 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $750
Description: Standard's 144/220 HT, now discontinued
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.standard-radio.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Standard C228A.

VA7CRH Rating: 4/5 Jun 26, 2009 08:45 Send this review to a friend
A great oldtimer - if you can find one  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I waited a year for a Standard c228a, bidding on a few on eBay and in May 2009 finally won an auction. Paid US$225 for it. The price was very reasonable given it's rareness on two counts:

1) A c228a for sale is few and far between
2) there were only two dual band 2M/220MHz dual banders ever made, and the Icom IC-V21AT is even more scarce.

Even though it is a throw-back in bulk, it gets the job done. A 12V battery is a must to get the full 5 watts out of the radio. Fortunately Batteries America and other 3rd party outlets have the CNB-152xs in stock for about US$50.

Operationally, it is straight forward, with some issues. The squelch control for each band is easily twisted when adjusting the volume knob. When the squelch is open the buttons will not work, so it took a minute to realize the squelch had been inadvertently opened - ie. the radio wasn't just locked up.

But reports from QSOs are good. I hit line-of-sight repeaters on lowest power from 50 miles away.

All in all a solid performer from another age.....

Meaning that after it's given up the ghost it really can be used as a boat anchor.

Check out: http://members.shaw.ca/francislyster/220/



The charging stand is handy, although its not the easiest task to remove the
 
K6WAC Rating: 5/5 Oct 18, 2007 11:26 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
If you can find one buy it! I've only had this one for about seven months and find it to be one of the most rugged and usefull ht's that i've owned.Full 5watts on 220+2m plus the utility of X-band rpt. It may be a brick but it is strong and dependable brick.
 
AC6IN Rating: 5/5 Dec 7, 2005 01:15 Send this review to a friend
Standard is the best  Time owned: more than 12 months
Standard ht's are simply wonderful CAN YOU SAY QUALITY :) If you can find any of the standard ht's buy them you will not regret it...I promise :)
 
W4HWD Rating: 5/5 Nov 5, 2005 19:59 Send this review to a friend
Like a tank!  Time owned: more than 12 months
HTs are not made like this anymore! Rock solid construcion, beautiful receiver and quality transmit audio. A bit pricey when they were new, but with Standard HTs you got what you paid for - how many of these HTs made today will be around 20 years from now?! Bought it back 14 years ago when there was alot of 220 activity in my area. When I got back after 4 years with Uncle Sam there was no 220 activity here anymore, but I kept it. I refuse to part with it!
 
N8IWS Rating: 5/5 Jan 9, 2005 09:00 Send this review to a friend
Best Radio I Ever Owned !  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had this radio since it came out. Loaded with features it has become my primary radio. With the feature of 220, we were able to have the primary SKYWARN nets on 2m and the secondary traffic on the local 220 repeater without disturbing the main nets.

With the many battery options I was able to control how long I was on the air at a time. With the programming / clone function, you can set up a group of radios and save time getting everyone on the same page.
 
K2ROK Rating: 5/5 Jun 11, 2004 07:59 Send this review to a friend
If you can find one, great 220 rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
Solid 90s-era 2 meter/220 HT which I bought mainly for the 220 side. Large but rugged. The only wear is on the volume and squelch knobs and the Standard case for this unit basically fell apart quick quick after only a few times of putting onthe radio and taking off. The rig itself has a hot receiver and great intermod reject. Nice S meter for both bands with dual receive, in the spirit of the Icom W32A which is a rare thing on HTs these days. Very expensive when it first came out, and Standard was soon absorbed by Yaesu/Vertex after I got this rig. I was going to get the Standard tri-band mobile but the company was gone by the time I was ready to get it.

The rig is a little large by today's standards but I used it mobile, so the size was welcome in the car. If you are looking to get into 222 for the first time, the new offerings from Kenwood or Alinco may be a better investment since Standard Radio is now gone.

Again, the most outstanding feature was the clear audio and sensitive receiver.
 
W6EMR Rating: 5/5 May 2, 2004 16:00 Send this review to a friend
Great, quality HT  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
The picture above is too Dark............I have better ones
These were expensive rigs for what they are.
Don't try to compare this HT with any of the new stuff that is out...........remember, this is at least a 12 year-old radio, technology-wise.
This radio was built by Marantz Japan, Inc..........older guys probably have a Marantz stereo out in the garage to listen to music on.
Navigation is straight forward, but the manual is a little vague......
So, with 12V in, it's 5W out on 2M/220 on high (yes, it's from BEFORE we lost the 220-222Mhz spectrum), 2.5 W Medium and 350Mw Low.
With 7.2 battery pack, it's 2.8W on 2M, otherwise 2.5W medium and high;both bands and 350 Mw low.
Antenna is BNC connector, has speaker connections for SPKR/Mic: one band audio on radio, the other on speaker/mic. OR Both bands on SPKR/Mic.
Cross-Band repeat or turn off one band.
10 memory slots per band. More than enough for 1.35M..........
Displays both bands simultaneously. Separate vol/sql knobs for each band.
Dry cell case available.
Battery packs (NiMh)still available from the major battery distributors.
Low IMD on 2M, almost none on 220.
DTMF and PL tones incl. 67 to 250Hz
I had to change the memory batt. in the radio, but I am happy with it's function, quality of construction (Well made inside, comml. type)

One Downside: Will not charge battery while on the radio......
If you can find one of these radios; I would definately recommend it.
They were over $600 new........I got mine for far less than that and with accessories.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.