eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF Verticals and Wire | Alpha Delta DX-DD Help


Reviews Summary for Alpha Delta DX-DD
Alpha Delta DX-DD Reviews: 18 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $89.95
Description: 40/80 meter shortened dipole (82')
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.alphadeltacom.com/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Alpha Delta DX-DD.

<— Page 2 of 2

HFSPOOK Rating: 5/5 Jul 26, 2008 07:09 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The DX-DD replaced a home built 40M dipole. The DX-DD performs as well as the full length unit on 40M and now I have 80M as a bonus. Both bands work great and I get great reports using my home built 40M/80M QRP rig (2 watts).
Robust antenna like the other Alpha Delta antennas I have for ham and SWL.
 
KC5NWS Rating: 5/5 Jul 25, 2008 09:55 Send this review to a friend
very good  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Put up the dx-dd today, one leg is up about 25feet,the other about 15 feet and the center is about 27 feet, runs south and north. Right now using coax and a outboard auto tuner on 75/80.No tuner needed on 40. Results are very good. Getting one leg up at 25ft got me over the ridge to my west and now I can also work 75/80, talked to a station in new mexico at 8;30am on 75 so thats great, talked to the old geezers on 40 this am and my signal is much improved so i am very happy.Later I may go to ladder line and try that.This ant replaces a 40m dipole.
k5jyd in texas
 
KY6R Rating: 5/5 May 6, 2008 04:14 Send this review to a friend
Great Antenna & Service  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I recently converted my Alpha Delta DX-LB to a DX-DD so I could get the antenna up higher - as a 50' flat top. I emailed Don at Alpha Delta and he was most helpful, and I think very kind to support me in my conversion.

I learned a few things as well, and its really great to have an American company, owned by a ham, support their products the way Don does.
 
KF2WL Rating: 5/5 Apr 8, 2008 15:07 Send this review to a friend
Good Antenna  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After having wind destroy my 135 ft inverted vee I put this antenna up in a different location about 35 feet above ground. It works as I was hoping it to work. However I did as previous reviewers did and ran 450 ohm line instead of coax. To a 4:1 balun to rg-8x at 8 foot into the shack.

In this setup it receives better than my end fed half wave. It actually has SWR under 1.5:1 on 15M & 10M before tuning. So after the "mod" I am very happy and the antenna covers all of 75M now.
 
IW1QN Rating: 5/5 Jan 9, 2008 10:37 Send this review to a friend
Works Very Well  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I use the DX-DD Model from 6 Months.
I set up the Dipole like Inverted V and the Highest point is at 7meter of my roof.
I Haven' t another solution and there is not another space on my roof.
The Dipole works very well in DX and I Obtain good results.
I have 1,5:1 SWR on 40m and in 80M the resonance is very little, but I know that the Dipole work better if I can setup the Dipole in better condition.
Form me the Rating is 5/5 because I work without problem good DX in 40 like VK,ZL, and many other.
The Signal from USA are vesry strong.
Good Antenna.
 
WB4TJH Rating: 4/5 Apr 25, 2007 09:20 Send this review to a friend
Works well with mod  Time owned: more than 12 months
My full sized 75 meter dipole recently snapped because of some high winds. I had this Alpha Delta antenna in the garage and decided to dig it out. It has always worked pretty well but very narrow banded on 75 meters, so I decided to improve on its frequency capabilities. I removed the coaxial center connector and replaced it with a connector that takes balanced feedline. I connected 300 ohm windowline to the antenna (450 ohm balanced line would also work just fine) from my previous 135 foot dipole. The balanced feedline comes down to a DX Engineering 1:1 balun in a waterproof enclosure on a short post driven into the ground with an 8 foot groundrod beside it. A 6 foot piece of coax goes from the 1:1 balun thru the wall of my house to my MFJ tuner. Now I can enjoy 80 thru 10 meter coverage with this 82 foot long antenna and not have to worry about its narrow coverage on 75 when used with coaxial feedline. I also have an Alpha Delta DX-EE 40-10 meter antenna thatI am thinking about modifying the same way. Balanced feedline is super low loss and SWR worries are non existant with this setup and a good 1:1 balun and an antenna tuner. DX Engineering recommends this setup over using the built in 4:1 balun in a tuner, and I have to agree it is a super antenna system. I have the 82 foot DX-DD in an inverted V configuration with the apex at about 55 feet. It is a super antenna and does very well on 75 with this setup, and swr is no longer a factor with the balanced feedline.
 
WB4TJH Rating: 4/5 Nov 17, 2003 12:50 Send this review to a friend
works well, but expensive  Time owned: more than 12 months
I moved to Florida a few months ago and decided to use this antenna for my main station antenna. I had had it up for several years at my previous qth. In order to get more bang for my buck I modified it to use a hundred feet of 300 ohm radio shack twinlead feedline. Now I can, with an external tuner, use it on all bands from 80 thru 6 meters. Fed with coax it is a plain old 40 meter dipole with extenders for 80 meters and is very narrow on 80. I work mostly qrp and this is an ideal antenna when fed with balanced feedline for use on multiple bands.But if I had it to do over again, I would save my money and get 10 bucks worth of wire to do the same thing.
 
W5ZZG Rating: 4/5 Sep 17, 2003 21:39 Send this review to a friend
works great  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
So far, this antenna is working great. I have had this antenna about a week and I would give it a 4 or a 5. I plan on buying another one and giving it to a friend..

I needed an antenna for 40/80 that I could put up about 20' and still keep the antenna inside the boundries of my small back yard. The first time I put this antenna up it didn't work so well as I attached it directly to a tree. (the SWR was very high) And then, as per the instructions, I made an arm to hold the center of the antenna 18" away from the tree and Viola! Now the SWR is between 1.1 and 1.5 on both bands.(see stand off - http://newwaverly.net/stand%20off.htm )

So far, I can work any station that I can hear and I seem to be able to hear pretty good...

 
<— Page 2 of 2


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.