eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Radio education & exam prep materials | HamTestOnline Help


Reviews Summary for HamTestOnline
HamTestOnline Reviews: 623 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $24.95
Description:
  • Technician: $24.95
  • General: $29.95
  • Extra: $34.95

    Web-based training for the ham radio written exams.

  • Quick, easy way to learn.
  • Better than random practice tests.
  • Provides additional information.
  • Presents concepts in logical order.
  • Tracks your progress on each question.
  • Focuses on your weak areas with “intelligent repetition”
  • Better than books — question drill keeps you engaged.
  • Web-based system — study when you want, at your own pace.
  • 100% guaranteed — you pass the exam or get your money back.
  • Free trial includes 50 questions from each exam.
  • Product is in production.
    More info: http://www.hamtestonline.com/
    Email Subscription
    You are not subscribed to this review.

    Subscribe!
    My Subscriptions
    Subscriptions Help

    You can write your own review of the HamTestOnline.

    Page 1 of 63 —>

    AC2UX Rating: 5/5 Mar 25, 2017 21:53 Send this review to a friend
    Excellent Program!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
    It helped me pass Extra with a 98% score.
     
    K8PRG Rating: 5/5 Mar 25, 2017 10:01 Send this review to a friend
    I thank Ham Test Online! I couldn't have done it without you!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
    I'm not a quick learner...never have been. I have to keep going over material over and over again for it to sink in.
    Well that is what Ham Test Online makes you do, in a very painless way.
    I highly recommend it and I will to anyone I hear that is preparing to upgrade.
    I'm happy to be an Extra now, and I can honestly say, I doubt I could have passed the exam without Ham Test Online.
     
    KC1FLG Rating: 5/5 Mar 22, 2017 08:26 Send this review to a friend
    How Sweet It Is!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
    I was skeptical at first being an auditory and kinetic learner, but with HamTestOnline I learned fairly quickly and was able to pass my General Exam yesterday (March 21 2017) with only four incorrect answers! I highly recommend this as a way to study for all your exams!
     
    GRETTKE Rating: 5/5 Mar 21, 2017 21:22 Send this review to a friend
    Learn more than required to earn your licenses in less time tha  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
    HamTestOnline (HTO) helps you learn more than required to earn your licenses in less time than every other method. HTO does it by maximizing your learning. That unique feature defines its super-power differentiating itself from every other approach.

    After completing both the Technician and General exam you will find yourself staring at Amateur Extra (Extra) and it is scary and intimidating. Unlike the first two exams now you must understand the concepts completely. You will never pass Extra using memorization, or any other “cheater” methods. You must understand the concepts, their implementation and consequences, or you will never pass.

    For example consider the section on semiconductors. You must understand the pros and cons of using them, their construction and their operation at the atomic level.

    If you understand all three, then it is possible to pass the exam. If you fail to understand just one of them, then the questions are too difficult. In fact, you will probably get most of them wrong because they are strung together. Nearly all of the questions are like that. You fail on one aspect of a single topic and next thing you know, you’ve got seven wrong answers in a row. If you want to learn everything and more required to pass the exam then you must study using HTO because it works. There is no magic with HTO.

    HTO’s method is to study each subject’s topics in their logical order. This feature alone sets it apart from other study methods which follow the question pool which at times includes items that are wildly out of order. Then as you work through questions from the question pool it takes note of both your strengths and weaknesses. Based on what it learns about you, it starts choosing areas from the question pool that help solidify your strong areas and strengthen your weak areas. It helps you learn exactly what you need to get confident and stay confident. There is no magic with HTO. HTO provides something even better, true learning.

    HTO helps you learn. Learning makes you feel good. HTO doesn’t force you to learn though. Your effort is required. Your time is required. Nobody ever failed their licensing exam because they studied too much, right? Is HTO some kind of weird magical cheating approach? No, but you should still be a skeptic because passing the Extra costs you a lot of time, effort and dedication and you should get the most out of every single minute doing it. Your time is valuable and I don’t want you to waste it, and neither do you!

    Don’t take my word for it. You can try it out now for free (it is all online). Find out for yourself if you enjoy and value this approach. When you study for your Technician license using HTO, you get a 100% money back guarantee if you fail the test. Then again if you use HTO and you put in the time and get your score up to the passing level, then you will pass. It is entirely up to you.

    All three exams combined are so difficult, that passing them requires weeks and weeks of study). It brings to mind the famous Abe Lincoln quote about facing challenges, exemplified by his story about chomping down a monstrous cherry tree:

    Give me six hours to chop down a tree and I will spend the first four sharpening the axe.
    HTO is the sharpening wheel. You are the axe.

    Sharpen it well, and you will chop down that tree faster, more easily and learning more than you could have ever imagined.
     
    KKADAN Rating: 5/5 Mar 15, 2017 18:57 Send this review to a friend
    EXTRA HAPPY!!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
    Purchased the three test package and never looked at it for the first two years! Then, extended my HTO study privileges for another two years in July of 2016. Had good intentions. LOL. Finally got serious in December 2016. Bottom line: Passed Tech & General 01/21/2017. Passed Extra 03/04/2017. Joined ARRL. Life is good! 73's to HTO.

    Wanna be a Ham or upgrade your Operator Class? Git 'er done at HTO! Outstanding.
     
    AG7FD Rating: 5/5 Mar 14, 2017 14:52 Send this review to a friend
    great product!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
    signed up on HTO website Feb 18th
    preregistered for a test on March 2.
    passed all three tests on Mar 2.

    this website is perfect for teaching you the material and drilling you with questions. when you forget a topic, easily click to review the material. the material is presented in a logical order. Signing up for the test motivated me to study quite alot the week before the test. the key for me to learning is to learn as much as I can, then sleep on it and then wake up hit it again.

    In any event, highly recommend this site!
    chris
     
    KE0HBS Rating: 5/5 Mar 11, 2017 11:58 Send this review to a friend
    Great Study Tool  Time owned: more than 12 months
    I used HTO for both Tech and General elements. For the Extra, I decided to use both the ARRL study guide (hard copy) and HTO. Quickly put the book down and used the interactive web site exclusively, because it's that good.

    One month of study, and I passed the Extra with a 96%. The site "learns" about your learning style and adapts itself to present questions in such a way that you learn and memorize quickly and effectively. Streamlines the material to stuff that will be on the test. You can set your own parameters as to how often you see questions, what subject areas you want to study, and whether you want to spend time on the math-based questions.

    The site ranks your progress alongside other users, providing incentive. Practice tests can be generated and taken at any time. The site will tell you how much of the material you've covered, how much you've mastered, what you need to concentrate on, and what you haven't seen. The site even includes helpful study tips. At $35 for the Extra subscription, it's the same price as the ARRL book, but way more effective (at least for me). I would point anyone to Hamtest Online for an effective tool that will get them their ticket. Even has a money back guarantee, in case you don't pass. Subscriptions are good for a whole year, in case "life gets in the way" of study.
     
    W4MLO Rating: 5/5 Feb 26, 2017 08:46 Send this review to a friend
    Outstanding!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
    Wow! Thank you HTO for the amazing courses! In less than 60 days, without even really trying, I was able to get my Amateur Extra ticket! Just an hour every now and then over a couple months and I passed on the first try! Your VE program is great and what a way to give back! Myself and another of our Club's Officers and VE's took the course and passed so thanks to HTO our club can now provide full service testing instead of just Tech's! Thanks again for a great product and an awesome payback program to the hobby. 73 de W4MLO
     
    W0XXX Rating: 5/5 Feb 25, 2017 11:20 Send this review to a friend
    Worked for me!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
    This is a cool method, I like how the repetitiveness works.

    I worked off a spiral bound study guide as well.

    I originally subscribed in February of 2016, studied on and off through out that year (bad idea) really buckled down over the final 3 months.
     
    N5TWB Rating: 5/5 Feb 21, 2017 10:30 Send this review to a friend
    Breakthrough to /AE  Time owned: more than 12 months
    This past Saturday, 2/18/17, marked my breakthrough to success on the Extra test and HamTestOnline (HTO) was the reason. I started my quest back in 2013 with two test failures, bought the HTO service, piddled with it and let it expire, along with the change in the test. I decided to give it another go and added some books.

    Books gave me a false sense of confidence that led to further test failures #3 and #4. Finally decided to set the books aside and use HTO exclusively. I put in the time to alternate between study mode and practice test mode to build knowledge and confidence. I really picked it up when using Study Mode as it keeps returning to weak areas so you can really grab the concepts. The 50/50 choice also gave good exercise on identifying wrong answers so test-taking tactics are also addressed.

    Don't look any further - this is the one that's worth the time and the $$. Success is within your grasp when decide to devote the time to use all the features.
     
    Page 1 of 63 —>


    If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.