eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antenna Rotators & Accessories | Channel Master 9521A Help


Reviews Summary for Channel Master 9521A
Channel Master 9521A Reviews: 16 Average rating: 3.6/5 MSRP: $$79.95
Description: Low cost, reliable rotor with digital display remote control. #9537 is an upgrade package to give existing older rotors full digital/remote capabilities. ($49.95)
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.starkelectroic.com/cmmatv.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Channel Master 9521A.

<— Page 2 of 2

KG6POG Rating: 5/5 Jun 18, 2008 03:14 Send this review to a friend
Great 6 meter beam rotator  Time owned: more than 12 months
Perfect with the 9537 for anything up to about 10 to a max of 15 pounds.

I know people who have used this set up for their MA5B for years without problems, but I think that's pushing it, and I would rather not have to replace the rotator once everything's up and in place.

What I believe this unit is perfect for is anything up to a small 12 meter beam. It's perfect for a four to six element 6 meter beam that normally weigh in at under 15 lbs.

I have a small Diamond 502HB antenna set up with this system and plan to put a four or five element 6 meter beam up before too long.

I like the digital display and the remote control is great, but it takes way too long to turn the antenna 360 degrees. 180 degrees is bad enough, but the way the units set up there is no over play so if your pointed north east and hear a station in the north west, you sometimes have to hope the signals still there when the antenna gets pointed in the right direction.

But with all the positives and the price, I have to say its a great buy.
 
K3JVB Rating: 5/5 Jul 7, 2006 11:51 Send this review to a friend
gets the job done  Time owned: more than 12 months
Using it for a 5 band hex beam at 40 feet. Been through one average winter. Does need to be reset once in a while. As wind will move it slightly. Will spin the 18 foot, 20 pound hex 360 degres in about a minute...
The digital controller is small and out of the way. Easy to use , with the remote. Good value for a lite wind loading beam.
73
JohnB
 
WD9IDV Rating: 2/5 May 11, 2004 13:00 Send this review to a friend
Not for windy installs...  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Nice remote and display box.
However, Had it installed with a
Cushcraft MA5B. Rotor stripped
gears in less than 6 months up.
I am in a rather windy Chicago area
environment.

Thought I would try one for the minibeam, but it
was not built for that wind load.
Good rotor for 2m beams or TV antennas.

 
W1WIU Rating: 5/5 Sep 15, 2003 22:15 Send this review to a friend
Added the digital controller  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've had the rotor on a US Towers MA 40 for 12 months and added the 9537 digital controler 1 month ago.
The antenna is the Cushcraft MA5B mounted at 50'. The rotor is not on a platform or any mounting fixture.
The controler works great ! Easy to install, large digital read out, and it turns the antenna faster that the "push and wish" manual controller did. It is also a lot smaller that the old unit. The remote control that comes with the 9537 has the ability to "program" headings so you can swing the beam without having to hold any buttons down
I orderd the controller on line from Warren Electronics. Fast delivery, excellent price, and good feed back as to order status.
So far , it looks like a hard to beat combo.
 
KI6LO Rating: 5/5 Sep 15, 2003 18:17 Send this review to a friend
Light Duty Workhorse  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
First let me say that I made this little rotor due full duty as I was using it as the AZ rotor for a 2M/440 satellite setup holding a Cushcraft 144-20T 10x10 'Twist', a Gulf Alpha Antenna's 70cm 8x8 satellite yagi and a U110 (Elev rotor) and 7' crossboom. It didn't have a bit of trouble swinging the mass or holding it in high winds we have in the Mojave desert.

I agree that the digital readout is nice however there still isn't any feedback so I occaasionally would visually verify the alignment. I'm not sure what the actual windload rating is on this rotor but I had about 4 to 5 sq.ft. on it and it was mounted inside a light tower with just a thrust sleeve (no bearings) to turn against. All in all, well worth the money. It's down now but is already planning a new home for a 6m/2m/440 setup using this one.
 
WB5UVP Rating: 5/5 Jul 20, 2003 20:51 Send this review to a friend
low cost, reliable, rotor system  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The Channel Maser 9251A antenna system offers digital display, remote control, and a reliable light duty rotor for very low cost. It is reasobably prompt in swinging 360 degrees, and offers a very small footprint control unit with big, bright LED display. Place it accross the room if you are running short of desktop space. The remote control works great. For a great 3wire system, give this offering some consideration.

For those with existing rotors in service, the 9537 upgrades you to the digital readout controller, and the remote control for $49.95. You can get rid of your old style "twist and guess" control, and get a nice digital display and remote for a great price.

The Channel Master rotor head can be made to mount on a standard (US Tower) rotor platform. This takes a little work, but simply involves removing two of the motor mount screws, and using longer 1/4-20 bolts to come through the bottom of the rotor head. The rotor access plate will need modification to do this. Cut or grind out pass through holes. Alignment of the rotor will take a little care to make sure adequate clearance is provided for crank up sections.

My rotor head is now three years old and going strong. The upgrade 9537 package has been installed for two months. Wow! What an improvement over the old controller.

Really nice to have a quality low cost rotor system available. Also great to have an upgrade pathway for older systems at a fair price.
 
<— Page 2 of 2


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.