eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Software - Other than logging | FTB8800 Help


Reviews Summary for FTB8800
FTB8800 Reviews: 24 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $15.00
Description: FT-8800 software for memory management
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.g4hfq.co.uk/ftb8800.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the FTB8800.

<— Page 2 of 3 —>

PA3ALF Rating: 5/5 May 2, 2007 05:33 Send this review to a friend
Nice & Easy  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Did you ever try to program the 512 + 512 memories from the original keyboard??? That's a disaster. With this program it is easy to do. You can also make and save different files for different countries if you go on holiday. NICE !
 
KG0WX Rating: 5/5 Jan 28, 2007 08:30 Send this review to a friend
Works great, costs little - what more could you want?  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This software does what good software should do - it makes either a hard or a repetitious job easy. Like other reviewers here I noticed that it does not follow windows type operations 100% but when it does divert, there is a good reason.

I made my own programming adapter for my ICOM CI-V cable - all I needed was a mouse cable and a 1/8" in-line mono headphone jack. Both were parts I had in my bin. Just connect GND to Base and PTT to Tip. The Yahoo! eGroup has details on how to wire this up.

Something hard to find online - how to TEST that new cable: Start Hyper-terminal and connect the cables - type abcd: if you see this:

ABCD

then you have a problem. If you see the letters echoed back:

AABBCCDD

Then all is well!

Ken KG0WX
 
KE5HFM Rating: 5/5 Jan 4, 2007 11:30 Send this review to a friend
ADMS Eat your heart out!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Like everyone else who has written a review or used this software, I now find it indespensable.

I do agree that it doesn't follow ALL of the windows programming best practices (I am a programmer too) - but where it slips up, it does so for a reason.

When I first started messing with my 8800R, I found myself scratching my head a lot trying to figure out just how the hypermemories worked, how to do banking and how to use several other functions of the radio. This software not only made the radio easy to program, but it is organized in such a way that you can actually see how the programming will work once installed and what options are available, instead of constantly hunting through the manual asking "how do I do..."

As far as ADMS software is concerned... HA! What a joke! FTB8800 is 100x - no make that 1,000 times better, and best of all, CHEAPER!

I am using a homebrew OPC-478 cable as well. I use it to program ALL of my radios, including Icoms and Yeasus.

Check out http://groups.yahoo.com/group/FT-8800R/ for information on on this radio and if you're handy with a soldering Iron, (and most HAM's SHOULD be) making the cable for about $4.00
 
KC0KBC Rating: 5/5 Nov 23, 2006 01:37 Send this review to a friend
Can't imagine owning an 8800 without it  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought this software shortly after I bought my 8800 and have used it nearly exclusively for all the programming since. The user interface doesn't *quite* follow typical Windows standards (although it's close), but is well done nonetheless.

I like knowing that if my radio gets zapped somehow, or must be reset, or heaven forbid is stolen, I don't have to manually re-program it. Like any data, if it's worth having, it's worth backing up - and this program allows you to do that very easily.

I had been trying to accomplish a complicated scenario using the hypermemories but could not get it to work. I e-mailed Bob with a simplistic description of what I was trying to accomplish. He very quickly replied with a clear description of how to do what I needed, and it worked perfectly on the first try.

I also own ARRL's "Travel Plus for Repeaters." On a recent trip halfway across the country, I used Travel Plus to build a list of repeaters along my route, saved them to a text file, imported that file into FTB8800, and downloaded them all into my 8800. With a few swipes and keystrokes, I had every repeater along my route completely configured and loaded, in the order they would be encountered along the way. All I had to do was hit the "Up" button occasionally on the mic to follow the repeaters all along the trip.

If you own an 8800, you SHOULD also own this software.
 
KA5NXT Rating: 5/5 Nov 2, 2005 11:24 Send this review to a friend
Good Stuff!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have 2 FT-8800s and this software works great.
Just a word to those you that might use this and are also considering modifying/expanding the transmit section: You will have to re-download the baseline from the radio after the automatic reset/initialization following the mod. I suspect the mod re-creates the rado in eyes of the software such that it doesn't recognize the old configuration. It is a very minor inconvenience to re-download etc. but certainly not enough to deter me from the "5" rating that this software deserves.
 
N3ATS Rating: 5/5 Oct 13, 2005 13:47 Send this review to a friend
A MUST for any FT8800 owner!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I use this software with a homebrew cable that I adapted to my OPC-478 programming cable for my Icom radio.

Works flawlessly. Easy to understand, easy to use, and problem free. At $18, it is very reasonably priced. The writer has also been known to offer assistance in the FT8800 Yahoo group as well.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/FT-8800R/

Top notch! Thanks Bob!
 
N1BD Rating: 5/5 Jul 18, 2005 05:13 Send this review to a friend
Top Shelf!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
For a mere 10 British shilling (about $18 US), you get a truly outstanding programming package from fellow ham Bob Freeth. Easy to order, easy to download easy to program, easy to upload to your rig and to disk. Bob is easy to reach via e-mail, too, if you have a question. He replies almost immediately! The thoughtful programming comes with multiple dropdown menus for such items as CTCSS tone, power setting and alpha/frequency.
Note that you will need a cable like that supplied with the RT Systems ADMS-II or, if your savvy enough, construct your own.
First time users like me: Be reminded that you ARE first required download an "image" of your rig to Bob's program before you begin enter memories but that procedure is easily accomplished in less than fifteen seconds by clicking the appropriate box. Nice job, Bob!
 
WF6O Rating: 5/5 May 18, 2005 21:15 Send this review to a friend
WOW!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
So much better than the crappy RT Systems ADMS-2I! Had it up and running in less than 5 minutes. Read the memories from my first FT-8800 and wrote the same memory setup to the second FT-8800 on the first try! A huge improvement over the ADMS-2I software. Try it, you'll LOVE this program!
 
W0IPL Rating: 5/5 Aug 20, 2004 11:15 Send this review to a friend
Works well  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I received the information to activate the FTB8800 software in, to me at least,
near record time. I then installed the software without incident and proceeded
to upload the frequencies from my FT-8800 I had entered by hand. Works fine.

I started to do some "investigating" of the features of FTB8800 and was a bit
disappointed until I happened to hit an alpha key. At that point a drop down
window opened for the data element the cursor was over, and I said "AH-HA, now
I see." Bob wrote the software for those that are "key-board challenged", i.e.
those that do "point and click" best. If you keep that in mind, the software
works quite well.

I did find one bug that I reported to Bob and I'm sure he will correct in the
next release. Once you have over half of the total memory positions filled
(that's more than 512 entries - total - in both "Left" and "Right") and you
attempt to import more information, an error message appears telling you that
you have xxx memory positions filled and there is not enough room for yyy more
(xxx being the number you have in and yyy being the total you are importing).
If you remembered to click "Clear all before input" AND "Use imported mem numbers"
you have only to click "Yes" to the question "Do you wish to continue?" to have
everything work as you would hope.

This is where I wish the rating scale was 1 to 10 rather than the 1 to 5. With
a 1 to 10 scale I would rate this software as a 9, so with the 1 to 5 I must
say a 4.5

Not poor enough to rate a 4 but not quite a full 5 (even if I did enter a five
on the header for this evaluation).

Pat, W0IPL
 
N1KSN Rating: 5/5 Jul 9, 2004 16:44 Send this review to a friend
I am impressed  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased the RT Systems cable and software for my FT-8800R. The cable works fine, but the software had very frustrating problems on both computers into which I attempted to install it. (I'll spare the reader that litany of woe, but I will mention that after attempting a download my FT-8800R locked up so bad I couldn't even turn it off.)

On the other hand, I downloaded and registered for FTB8800 (a whole $15) and was able to install it on both my old Windows 95 shack laptop and my Windows ME desktop. It worked perfectly on both machines and is very easy to use.

My RT Systems software for my Icom handhelds works fine, but as for the FT-8800R, forget it! Get FTB8800 and be happy.
 
<— Page 2 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.