eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Software - Logging | ARRL - Logbook of the World - LoTW Help


Reviews Summary for ARRL - Logbook of the World - LoTW
ARRL - Logbook of the World - LoTW Reviews: 611 Average rating: 3.3/5 MSRP: $00.00
Description: LoTW ... is a repository of log records submitted by users from around the world. When both participants in a QSO submit matching QSO records to LoTW, the result is a QSL that can be used for ARRL award credit.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.arrl.org/lotw/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ARRL - Logbook of the World - LoTW.

<— Page 5 of 62 —>

AI4N Rating: 0/5 Jul 23, 2015 12:48 Send this review to a friend
Don't Bother  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Like many others, I couldn't even get started. I contacted their so called support people and found them to be rude and condescending. I just finally gave up on the whole thing. There are better ways to waste your time.
 
SV9RMU Rating: 0/5 Jul 17, 2015 06:27 Send this review to a friend
Get Real!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have now tried to get LotW 2 times, just to help hams who want QSO confirmations through it, but I have given up trying. Can't comment on the functionality of LotW, because to get it even running in a PC is ridiculously hard and time consuming. And absolutely no useful help from ARRL! Why has ARRL made the setup so incredibly complicated? From the other comments here I gather that for US amateurs the process is easier (though not what one would expect from a software nowadays), but for anybody operating outside the US the setup is a no-go. Why must we send and receive stuff by snail mail? For instance from my QTH an airmail letter to US takes about 2 to 3 weeks, then the handling at ARRL (a month?) and then again another 2 or 3 weeks before I would receive a POSTCARD of all things! As others have commented, this is a hobby after all and no-one's life or property would be in danger with a lot less crazy security. As a good, functional example, see how eQSL works. Been working professionally with computers, including programming (among other things with machine language), since the early 1970's and LotW is like some badly designed SW from the 1980's. If I had programmed something like LotW even in my early programming days, The Boss would have told me to do the whole thing again, so that people can actually use it! So, unless ARRL makes some radical changes to LotW, I will not install it in any of my computers!!!!
 
WQ1H Rating: 5/5 Jul 7, 2015 07:00 Send this review to a friend
LoTW is perfect for me  Time owned: more than 12 months
First it is not a logging program where you can edit a QSO. That is the integrity of it. One upload a while back I realized that my QSO time was off by 1 hour. Simple. I corrected my log and uploaded again. Now I had QSLs for those QSOs. I use it for my off-site back up. And, I use it for the ARRL awards. It works on both my Windows 7 PC and my Mac. I have 3 Certificates on my computer. One for my wife. One for my grandson. One for me. I just select the operator, enter call sign and pass word then up load to the correct LoTW data base. I found it easy to set up.
 
N7KFD Rating: 5/5 Jun 22, 2015 19:44 Send this review to a friend
No problems here  Time owned: more than 12 months

It's a free service to track my contacts and awards if I so desire, there must be something I can find to complain about.


Nope.

Setup was easy and my logging software uploads the contacts which was also an easy setup. I'm not a computer genius and I was able to do it, why are so many people struggling with this? Complain because there's to much security or use eQSL and complain because there's not enough. I don't get it.

There's a saying, "Rocket science is hard but the end results are really cool".
This isn't rocket science.
 
WB8VLC Rating: 0/5 Jun 13, 2015 16:40 Send this review to a friend
Worst of the worst  Time owned: more than 12 months
This program must have been written by the same people who wrote Health Care dot Guv.

It never worked on any of my machines, XP, WINDOZ 7 NOR on WINDOZ 8.

The stupid TSQL file or whatever that dumb thing was never worked either, the GUI never even displayed a menu list either just the crap empty opening screen.

No ARRL help either, will drop my stupid ARRL membership when it expires this year.
 
VE7IG Rating: 5/5 Jun 13, 2015 07:18 Send this review to a friend
Excellent!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I rarely find the LoTW site down and I access it a lot. There is no faster, easier or less expensive way to obtain QSL confirmations and make applications to DXCC. I made an application yesterday and it was processed within a couple of hours.

There is nothing wrong with the appearance of the site either, it has everything needed and is presented in a way that is easy to understand.

You can easily set up an icon on your desktop to get into LoTW and display your contacts ---

https://lotw.arrl.org/lotwuser/qsos?login=XXXXX&password=YYYYY&qso_query=1&qso_qsl=yes&qso_withown=yes&&qso_sort=QSL+Date&qso_descend=yes&awg_id=DXCC&ac_acct=1

where you substitute your call sign for XXXXX and your password for YYYYY will get you a nice display on entry.

DXCC approval is given quickly for operations and expeditions using LoTW where you may have to wait for approval from the DXCC desk on some call signs when making paper QSL applications, even for the same operations. There appears to be a bit of a disconnect here and LoTW is better.

More DX operators and DXpeditions are coming onboard LoTW all the time. It is easy to setup and easy to use.

Even those (like myself) who don't keep electronic logs can enter QSOs easily using the entry system in TQSL. You can also set up multiple call signs if you use them. I enter log data by hand when I need a confirmation and on request for those who want my confirmation. If you are rarer DX it would be far easier to use electronic logging and enter your entire log as most do.

So please "get with the program" and start using LoTW right away, you wont be sorry you did!
 
W4JTB Rating: 3/5 May 7, 2015 19:18 Send this review to a friend
A love hate relationship  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
LoTW makes it so easy to get confirmations quick and cheap. That's the good.

When it's working, it's fairly good.

But, it was poorly thought out and is still poorly executed. It goes down all the time, and all of the steps that you have to take to join probably keeps a good group of people from using it.

The only reason I am giving a 3 instead of a 1 is because when it does work correctly, it makes everything easy (once it's set up).

ARRL really needs to hire an outside firm to come in and assess the software and website, and make some major improvements.

Also, I'll never understand why all websites that relate to Ham Radio look like they were built in 1999.
 
WO8L Rating: 0/5 Apr 27, 2015 14:13 Send this review to a friend
Poorly Designed  Time owned: more than 12 months
One of the dumbest designs of software I have ever seen and that is saying a lot!

Not user friendly, not web based, cumbersome technology, too many words in the instructions. Virtually no user support. Only works with a single computer.

Dumb and dumber.

73s,

Rick
WO8L
 
AA4A Rating: 2/5 Apr 25, 2015 04:39 Send this review to a friend
Good when it works  Time owned: more than 12 months
It is relatively easy to use and very effective when it works, but be warned - it works less and less often.
 
W2LTD Rating: 4/5 Apr 24, 2015 03:31 Send this review to a friend
Site down a lot  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Works OK for me except site is down a lot and can't log in.
 
<— Page 5 of 62 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.