eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: VHF/UHF+ Directional (Yagi, quad, etc.) | M2 2m9ssb Help


Reviews Summary for M2 2m9ssb
M2 2m9ssb Reviews: 19 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $125.00
Description: 144 MHz yagi
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.m2inc.com/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the M2 2m9ssb.

<— Page 2 of 2

N0YK Rating: 5/5 Apr 24, 2006 19:11 Send this review to a friend
Nice Yagi  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Purchased last summer for the contest and notice a hugh improvement over my larger cushcraft yagi. The beamwidth is much better and very noticeable. Another good product from M2, survived Kansas winds so far.

Worth the cash. Nice where space is limited.


 
K2AXX Rating: 4/5 Jun 24, 2005 19:09 Send this review to a friend
Decent antenna - We'll see about winter, though...  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought 6 of these antennas in March (2005) to construct a small EME array. M2 must read these reviews, as the problem of FM vs SSB is solved. Each antenna came with BOTH SETS OF ELEMENTS. So I now have 54 spare aluminum rods for 2M9FMs...

Construction was fine. As with other reviewers, I'm not fond of the swaged joint / tiny front boom. The next natural sized tubing would be a better option for strength and convenience. I've built lots of K1FO, KLM antennas, so this element mounting method is nothing new. I used the aluminum tubing provided for the keeper pushers. (M2 - send 2 push tools for each antenna - it's easier to push with 2). Imagine this multiplied 6x...

Each antenna tuned precisely, only based on the t-match settings in the construction manual. The Balun connectors (Thomas & Betts) and construction are quite interesting. I suspect this should survive for lotsa years, without real problems.

They are not in the air yet. They will be up in a short period of time. I'll pass judgement next Spring, as to their ultimate reliability. I live on a hilltop in Western NY. We average > 120" snow per season, 2 or more ice storms per winter, and some serious winds all the time.

-Mark, K2AXX

 
AD5TH Rating: 5/5 Apr 6, 2005 16:14 Send this review to a friend
Easy Assembly - Outstanding Performance  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Really a quality antenna and it is evident just as soon as you unpack the carton and handle the component pieces. Instruction manual with dimensions available at www.deepsouthnet.net The performance is as advertised and is the highest gain per boom length of any beam antenna VHF or HF. Swings easily with Hy-Gain AR 35 rotator and Channel Master infrared remote controller. 5 starts for top shelf quality -and- kick butt performance.
 
NT9M Rating: 5/5 Oct 12, 2004 06:45 Send this review to a friend
Survived a fall  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This antenna was one of three antennas to hit the ground after a tree fell against my tower during severe thunderstorms. The boom and matching block survived, but the elements were spaghetti. Thanks to the details in the assembly manual I was able to order aluminum rods of the same size and specs through a warehouse company. (By the way, my manual shows the dimensions for both the SSB and FM versions.) Put it all back together and it plays just like new. Haven't logged a great deal of time on the antenna, but I did put about 30 QSOs into the log during the recent 2M sprint. My longest contact was from NE Indiana to Alabama. Overall I'm very satisfied with this antenna and would recommend it.
 
N8YV Rating: 4/5 Mar 22, 2002 10:28 Send this review to a friend
Skeptic Turns Admirer!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
When I first received this antenna, I noticed the instructions were the wrong ones. The diagram and specs were for its "sister" antenna, the 2m9FM which uses different elements and spacings. Not a great problem to solve, tho....a phone call to M2 got me on the right track within ten minutes
and it was back to the garage to finish it. Since this antenna does not use steadily-tapering dimensions, it is not a simple matter of longest-to-shortest when installing the elements.

As an antenna builder myself (I once planned to start a small Yagi-manufacturing business), I was intrigued with the simplicity of the element fastening system. The stainless steel locking rings require extra effort to properly secure the elements, but the task was simplified by using an old grommet-piercing tool with the sharpened end cut off square....this worked MUCH better than the little piece of aluminum tubing M2 supplied for the task along with the hardware kit.

I used vise-grips on the elements, carefully centering each into the boom from one side and clamping them on the opposite. First, I secured all the grommets and lock rings from the side opposite the vise-grips, then I removed the locking pliers and completed the element assemblies. This method ensured accurate centering and speedy completion of the wire-rod elements.

The boom was my biggest concern. The forward portion is smaller in diameter than the rear (as would be expected), but rather than being the next "natural" size smaller to telescope directly into the rear section, the diameter is further reduced by means of swaging at the forward end of the rear boom. This results in a forward boom that is somewhat disproportionately small in diameter, causing me to be concerned about its strength and ability to withstand rough weather.

In addition, the swaging of the rear boom resulted in a slight "kink" in its centerline-- when the forward boom section was inserted and secured, the antenna had the appearance of having been "stepped-on" at the joining swage. This is where a well-equipped shop comes in handy! With thorough reinforcement and some carefully-applied pressure, I restored the boom to accurate alignment.

NOTE TO M2: Try avoiding the swage reduction and use a "naturally" telescoping size of tubing--can't hurt the strength, either!

I was VERY impressed with the excellent matching device and connector block assembly---first class machining and design and, IMHO, the best feature of the antenna. Here is where the money rests, and M2's thoroughness and workmanship is the best I've encountered in over 25 years of antenna work.
The plate-to-boom saddles are well-made and strong, ensuring protection from unwanted slippage, important with the smaller-diameter booms required for VHF and UHF Yagis.

The use of an "N" connector is also commendable, although I'd like to see M2 include this connector with the antenna hardware, as it is not an item carried by many local electronics suppliers. I ordered one up from a ham dealer in advance of the project, but if I had not done my "homework" I would have incurred an additional delay in completion time. A thoughtful touch is the inclusion of weather-sealed checknuts for the phasing harness--this is first-rate design and quality all the way.

The antenna has been up for about five months, as of this posting. It has survived several severe wind events, the latest of which felled many trees and powerlines in my area. It has however, not been subjected to heavy icing. The antenna has survived undamaged, despite the frightful windstorms, looking as good now as the day it was erected!

As for performance, I feel this is a much better antenna than the 13B2, element-for-element. Its pattern is sharply-defined and has performed well with just a few watts input, with a very narrow forward lobe and excellent "side rejection" on received signals. This is especially appreciated in my location, with intermod and line noise problems a-plenty.

M2 factory assistance was excellent, order-to-delivery time was fast and the product quality (apart from the swage problem) is top-shelf. This is not a "beginner's antenna", however and if you are inexperienced or have less-than-adequate facilities and tools, I recommend you seek the assistance of an experienced helper.
 
WB2WIK Rating: 4/5 Nov 21, 2001 17:23 Send this review to a friend
Satisfactory  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The 2M9SSB I received, only a few weeks ago in a factory sealed carton from Texas Towers, came with an assembly manual and element dimensions that did not match. The manual cover sheet was for "2M9SSB" but the dimensions on the assembly diagram printed on the back side of that same page was for "2M9FM" (the FM version of the antenna, which is optimized for 147 MHz, rather than 144 MHz), and they are dimensionally quite different.

I figured out how to put it together by scaling the dimensions with a calculator, and proceeded. It takes longer than one would think for such a simple antenna, because of the "through the boom" element design, with insulators and "keepers," the internal tooth washers that are used to hold the elements in place. There's no good science to the assembly, since proper assembly relies heavily on the operator being able to hold a thin rod element in place while pushing on one end of it with probably 30 or 40 pounds of force. I ultimately used vice-grips for this task, but it's still not very easy. I cannot imagine a child or small woman completing the assembly without hurting themselves.

The matching section and balun, and methodology of that assembly and its weathproofing, are excellent. And the assembled antenna loaded up perfectly, with a dip to VSWR = 1.0 at 144.2 MHz, without any adjustment other than setting the T-match section dimensions as described in the instructions.

The antenna is kind of "light duty," in my opinion. I'll see how it holds up when the winter winds kick in, in another month or so. The boom is thin and fragile in appearance, although aluminum tubing is amazingly strong so hopefully there won't be any problems. On the plus side, the "thin" construction yields a very lightweight antenna that I could install over my head with one arm fully extended while standing on a top rung of my tower! I couldn't have done that with a heavy antenna, hi.

The antenna performs as expected for a 2.2-wavelength yagi and pattern, as well as performance, reminds me a great deal of my old 8 element Telrex model 2M814, a product of about 1962 -- although the Telrex was MUCH heavier, and didn't use SS hardware so the whole antenna became rusty and badly oxidized in only five years or so. I expect the M2 will still be shiny five years from now.

Overall, good job. If I were re-designing the antenna, I'd figure a different method of holding the elements in place, and possibly go to a square extruded boom instead of round, just to make it easier for the installer to assure planar polarization desired. With the four U-bolt mast-to-boom mounting bracket provided, and a round boom, it's possible to mount the antenna at any angle from vertical to horizontal, or anything between, and when you're up on the tower sometimes it's difficult to tell if the elements are really horizontal or not. I don't have a third hand to hold a level.

WB2WIK/6

 
NL7CO Rating: 5/5 Oct 10, 2000 18:36 Send this review to a friend
Good for Portable Use  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
As the first VHF Beam that I've used since 1987, it is a definate improvement over my omni-directional loops. I will continue to use it for portable operation but am going to the 2M18XXX for more permanant use due to the narrower frontal lobe pattern.
 
KF6A Rating: 5/5 Aug 2, 2000 15:01 Send this review to a friend
Good Stuff!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I made an EME qso on this antenna! Granted it was with W5UN, but it still went from here to the moon and back. That is impressive to me. That IS the furthest DX I have ever worked. I definately like this antenna!
 
KF6A Rating: 5/5 Dec 19, 1999 15:43 Send this review to a friend
Great antenna  Time owned: unknown months
Put it together in 2 hours. Football game was on so it took longer, hi. Mounted it on a 6 ft roof tower with a 10ft mast. It's about 2 ft from the top of the tower. 50ft of 9913. Roof is about 33 ft high. I can pretty much work anyone I can hear. Way better pattern than my 13b2. Nice F/B & F/S. 6 stars!
 
<— Page 2 of 2


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.