eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | Icom IC-27A/H Help


Reviews Summary for Icom IC-27A/H
Icom IC-27A/H Reviews: 13 Average rating: 4.1/5 MSRP: $329.00
Description: Icom 2 meter mobile from mid to late 80s
Product is not in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Icom IC-27A/H.

Page 1 of 2 —>

W6RV Rating: 5/5 Oct 8, 2013 19:30 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
My Icom 27a was the first rig I bought before I rec'd my first call sign in 1989. It has served me flawlessly as a mobile rig, as a packet radio for the DX cluster in the Bay Area and now as a base station radio in the Ham shack. Nostalgic and dependable.
I took it out of service as my primary mobile rig because I bought a Kenwood TM-731a, another excellent mobile radio. I still have the 731a and as all of you know, an excellent radio, and quite versatile.
I have owned an Icom 47a and it worked great for many years and unfortunately sold it.
Today I got the 27a out of it's box, hooked it up to a Diamond X200a antenna and it's working great and tripping repeaters without a problem!
 
KB6QXM Rating: 2/5 Nov 9, 2012 22:49 Send this review to a friend
Stopped working  Time owned: more than 12 months
I would have given it a good rating, but I powered up the rig after 20+ years of the radio sitting on the shelf. I powered it up and it did not transmit. I am quite disappointed and believe that the repair would exceed the value of the radio.
 
IK8TEO Rating: 5/5 Apr 18, 2011 15:01 Send this review to a friend
Reliable  Time owned: more than 12 months
Mine IC 27H, 27 years old, is serving as APRS digipeater HP over an high mountain for years, without batting an eyelid.
Sensitive, selective, indestructible.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=EcrxhNAQs_c
Francesco IK8TEO
 
JA2XXXSWL Rating: 2/5 Feb 3, 2011 23:24 Send this review to a friend
Good features, but...  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I will be short - all good apart from fault of Vol and SQL potenciometers. As result i wouldn't recommend to buy this RIG, if pots hasn't been replaced recently
 
RADIOWEENIE Rating: 5/5 Apr 6, 2007 06:48 Send this review to a friend
Oldie but goodie  Time owned: more than 12 months
Am running ICOM radios in 3 cars. This IC-27A is 20 years old and is installed in a Toyota T100. Judging from comments received over the air, it is one of the best radios i have ever owned. It is durable, rugged, and reliable. I have used it all over the country and its performance is nothing short of flawless, impressive, and outstanding.
 
W4VD Rating: 5/5 Jan 8, 2007 07:27 Send this review to a friend
Good little radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I would have to give this one a 5, I picked up one used for the W4VD-R Echolink Node and it's been a solid performer, good audio coming and going,

Low cost, high performance
 
W8WZ Rating: 4/5 Dec 7, 2006 17:18 Send this review to a friend
Good Rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had mine for years, and have used it mobile in many cars/trucks and in several home station setups also. It has always worked great. It doesn't have modern features like, direct freq input, or tone decode, but it does what I need it to do. I have no complaints.
 
SE6M Rating: 1/5 May 20, 2006 05:07 Send this review to a friend
Very bad rig - in my opinion  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have own this rig since late 80's. First years it works good, but after some time the volume and squelch knob starts to malfunction. The potentiometers for these knobs was dead and after exchange of this, the rig was working again. One year later the both potentiometers was dead again.
New exchange of potentiometers...
Now also the display starts to dim, hard to see the frequency even inside dark room's.
Last year the radio was completely dead, no audio, no display, no transmit, only little "hum" in the loudspeaker...

I have been owner for many ICOM's, but this is the worst rig I have owned my 22 years as Ham-amateur.

SE6M Mats
 
N3EAY Rating: 5/5 Nov 20, 2005 02:30 Send this review to a friend
A little workhorse  Time owned: more than 12 months
This little radio puts out! It has been a faithful little workhorse for many years now. One of the things I like the most is it's performance. We put it on a spectrum analyser and it was tighter than a lot of commercial radios.
 
W0RMS Rating: 5/5 Aug 26, 2005 08:00 Send this review to a friend
FB OLD RIG  Time owned: more than 12 months
I got this rig new longer ago than I care to remember---no problems at all --Always mobile--If I can find another at the right price(60 to 70 dollars) would buy it!
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.