eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Keys & Paddles | Military Naval Flameproof keys xxx-26003A Type Help


Reviews Summary for Military Naval Flameproof keys xxx-26003A Type
Military Naval Flameproof keys xxx-26003A Type Reviews: 12 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $85.00
Description: These keys are one of the most underrated bargains on Ebay nowadays. They need to be mounted upon a heavy base, or screwed to the table, but they are excellent and sturdy. I have "enhanced" the ones I use by taking out the front top gap setting screw, and dropping in a 1/8" long stem section from a plastic Q-tip shaft. I then re-insert the gap setting screw and readjust it for a minimal gap. This totally eliminates any return "chunk" sound from the key, making it virtually silent.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Military Naval Flameproof keys xxx-26003A Type.

Page 1 of 2 —>

WA9CWX Rating: 5/5 Mar 28, 2015 20:52 Send this review to a friend
Great key, made to last  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have a modest key collection, and have been on CW for over 50 years now, I have owned several Flameproofs, have two now, both in use on a regular basis. There is no other key that comes close to the smooth, firm feel and tactile feedback offered by this beautifully crafted masterpiece. As stated before, take some time to mount it on a firm, stable base. I have one on a maple base and another on an oak base. Small rubber feet are fine, so is a flat bottom. You will keep this key for decades, take your time and care making the base. If your previous 'military key' experience is limited to the J38, you are definitly in for a suprise. Enjoy!!
 
WA2WMR Rating: 5/5 Jun 29, 2010 12:13 Send this review to a friend
Great Key  Time owned: more than 12 months
Got mine in '62 and used it until I got a Vibro Keyer. Then went QRT for 20 years.

Became active again on HF about three years ago and started using the Flameproof or Vibro, depending on my mood at the moment.

Now have it dedicated to the K1.

Really love this key. SOLID!!

However (isn't there always a however?) this Field Day, it started failing to break when released. Found that the problem was the cloth insulation on a wire on the inside that was contacting a large disk attached to the keying arm (have no idea why something that big is inside the key) and there were signs of arcing. Fixed it by slipping a strip of Scotch tape down between the wire and the disk.
 
K1YPB Rating: 5/5 Apr 11, 2009 17:03 Send this review to a friend
The best straight key ever  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have the WWII surplus Navy CMI key. I have had this key since 1962, and it is by far better than anything I have ever found since then. I will never get rid of it. Mine is screwed to an enamel finshed heavy metal plate with rubber feet. It stays put on the bench where ever it is put. If you happen to be into antique cathode keyed transmitters, this key is essential for safety. If you can find one of these, get it. You will not be sorry.
 
K9BAG Rating: 4/5 Apr 11, 2009 16:50 Send this review to a friend
A Good Hand Key  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Based on ref. here I got one on the Bay. A sturdy design, keying action smooth, good feel with the navy knob. Like the grip on a knob over a flat disc. Based on tips here, I plan on mounting on a piece of 3/16 laminate with a long tongue to accomodate an arm-rest pad. Have #4-40 FH machine screws for tapped holes in the laminate base. Works. Find the key quiet in use. Like mine a bunch. -- Peter
 
WB1HJS Rating: 5/5 Feb 11, 2009 17:25 Send this review to a friend
A classic  Time owned: more than 12 months
I got one as a stocking stuffer from my father for Christmas in 1977, when I was 15 and had just gotten my General Class and entered the hobby. I've been in and out of ham radio a few times over the years, and have sold entire stations, but this is the one item that's been there since the beginning and will never leave. Great key, I've tried others but none others come close.
 
K1MLP Rating: 5/5 Nov 15, 2008 11:42 Send this review to a friend
Great Straight Key  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I picked up a new/old Flameproof key in the card board box for a good price. I have wanted one for awhile. I mounted it to a Corian base (thanks for the idea from NT9K ). Used it on a SKCC Sprint and fell in love with this key. There is no fatigue once you have set it up to your liking. This key really shines against the J38's. If you find one you won't be unhappy.
 
N9ESH Rating: 5/5 Jun 27, 2007 08:05 Send this review to a friend
Bravo Zulu!!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Awesome key! I was first introduced to the Navy Flameproof as a crewmember aboard an SP2H (P2V7) Neptune anti-submarine aircraft in the 1960s. The Flameproof was standard issue in the cramped, noisy radio compartment. This key was often called on to provide communication when the RTTY (KY7?) went down. I remember thinking how crude and clunky the thing looked bolted to the top of the operating table. But, being a true workhorse, it always got the job done. A solid performer.

Thirty-some years later, I was bitten by the CW bug. What better key to work CW than the Navy Flameproof? I picked 2 up on eBay. It didnít take long to remember how to adjust them from their very stiff feel, to make them smooth and crisp. Bouncing around the sky required the key to be stiff. Secret: Loosen the nut under the spring adjusting screw to ease up the spring a little more. My Navy flameproof keys will be around for a long, long time. I now like the look and feel of this key. It brings back fond memories.

Jim/N9ESH
 
KI4JOT Rating: 5/5 Dec 13, 2005 14:01 Send this review to a friend
one of my favorite keys!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just bought this key at the 2005 Gaston Swapfest. I found this key by accident while looking at some J-38's and obught it then and there. When I got it home I cleaned it up and "quickie" wired it to test it out on my 817. I loved the key for made that sound everytime you keyed it and love the styling. This is a key I would recommend to anyone if they can find it.
 
ALEX_NS6Y Rating: 5/5 Feb 19, 2005 03:15 Send this review to a friend
Really Cool Key!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'd messed with these and noticed they feel good, and after a bad experience with a cheapo made in Japan key, got right on Ebay and bought one for $35 including the shipping.

This thing is cool! Even has DO NOT CLOSE OVER 2 MIN. engraved into the knob skirt. I'll keep that in mind.

I made up some leads with #6 ring lugs that go to a 1/4-inch plug, and then an adaptor with a 1/4-inch jack to two banana plugs, so I'm covered for code practice osc's and rigs - I hope! Then: a base. I had some 2-1/2 inch wide oak about 3/16ths thick, and a 6-1/2 inch long piece of that makes a nice base. I drilled some holes that turn out to fit #4 screws just fine, dug around and found some nice countersunk #4-40 screws, and since I own something like my own weight in PEM nuts, it's nice that the base of this key, of rather soft aluminum, doesn't mind a bit having PEM nuts pressed into the holes, these are "broaching" threaded inserts, hard to explain but the Wilderness SST appears to use them or something like them in the case. Countersink the holes underneath, screw in the screws from underneath into the key, and that's that! I put some really sticky rubber feet I have around here on the bottom, now I can start learning code again!

The site for looking up all the old flameproof keys is at http://www.telegraph-office.com/pages/Navy_numbers.html
 
K3UD Rating: 5/5 Dec 29, 2003 14:06 Send this review to a friend
One of the better keys ever made  Time owned: more than 12 months
Got mine at a military surplus store in 1964 for the princely price of $1.00 (my weekly allowance then) and have used it for almost 40 years. These things are so well built that some of them might be in use at the end of this century. Easy to adjust, comfortable to use, and as mentioned, makes that classic "thunk" sound. The lack of a shorting bar is not a problem.

73
George
K3UD
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.