eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Feedlines (coax, ladder-line, etc.) | Cable Experts CXP008 Assembly Help


Reviews Summary for Cable Experts CXP008 Assembly
Cable Experts CXP008 Assembly Reviews: 21 Average rating: 1.6/5 MSRP: $(missing—add MSRP)
Description: 100ft RG-8/U coax with PL-259 connectors
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.cablexperts.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Cable Experts CXP008 Assembly.

<— Page 2 of 3 —>

N1KSN Rating: 1/5 Dec 1, 2004 06:01 Send this review to a friend
Disappointed  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I purchased a length of high-end coax with connectors to attach to my chimney-mounted VHF/UHF antenna. Although electrically the line seems to be OK, the shrinkwrap came off the antenna end while removing some electrical tape, and I was surprised to find that the coax jacket wasn't even close to the connector. I've taped it up as a fix, but I was quite disappointed.
 
K5UJ Rating: 5/5 Dec 1, 2004 05:46 Send this review to a friend
Extremely satisfied customer  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have purchased many feedline assemblies from Cablexperts over the past 4 or 5 years, including 10, 15, 50 and 75 foot runs of basic RG8 foam, and 1318, and several short 8X jumpers for use in the shack. The longer runs have been in use outdoors through a number of four season cycles and have exhibited no flaws. I have found their connector installations have been quite good--far better than any I could do myself, and I have been pleased with the use of teflon silver plated UHF males on these cables. They have a website with a lot of useful information and their response to orders has been very prompt. I can submit an order and receive it the next day (I am located only about 20 miles away from them). I have also purchased other items from them such as insulators and tinned braid which I highly recommend for use as an indoor ground strap. I'd like to underscore that my review is of materials purchased directly from the company. I can't comment on their return policy performance because I have never had anything from them I wanted to return. I normally try to avoid lavishing praise on a business here by giving them a 5 but in my experience, they deserve the "Great!" rating.
 
K4EQQ Rating: 0/5 Dec 1, 2004 05:34 Send this review to a friend
Save Your Money !!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Over the course of 3 years or so (I hate to admit that) I purchased a number of connectors and coax jumpers with both N and PL-259 / SO-239 connections. I must say, the cable "looks pretty" - nicely formed heat shrink tubing near the connectors, fine legible printing, etc.

After I began to experience intermittment problems on HF and VHF with different coax jumpers (both N & PL-259's) in my mind I found it hard to believe the coax was the problem since I paid a lot of money and the jumpers were all essentially new. Finally I cut away the heat shrink tubing and found the poor craftsmanship that other reviews have mentioned. I was shocked and really xxxxx-off that I had been ripped off.

So please don't buy anything from these guys - pretty face, but rotten products and angry, defensive, customer support too.

I might add the connectors I purchased seemed to be okay, but I found later I paid too much - another slap in the face.

Try Mouser.com for connectors - you'll get the real thing and rougly the same price. This is professional stuff, not cheap knock offs.
 
KB0HAE Rating: 0/5 Nov 30, 2004 22:44 Send this review to a friend
This place sucks!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Not sure what # my cable assembly is. It is a 75 foot length of Beldon RG-213. It was a pre-made assembly. A local ham donated it to me as he didn't have time to mess with replacing the ends. It is less than a year old. In both ends I found (as others here) that the coax had not been properly prepaired, so that none of the outer jacket was inside the connector. Also, the insulation on the center conductor was not stripped back far enough so that the center conducter did not project through (or even within 1/8 inch of) the end of the connector and so was not soldered at all. The only actual solder connection was to the shield braid! Needless to say, both connectors came off with only the slightest of pulls. I have replaced the PL-259 connectors (see the artical in Dec 2004 QST) and now they are installed correctly.

Cable Experts my foot! Should be cable idiots!!!!
After seeing the poor and shoddy workmanship they put out, I will never buy ANYTHING from them, and have already recommended to all my friends to stay away from these idiots!!!!!!!!!
 
N3MVF Rating: 1/5 Jul 13, 2004 23:17 Send this review to a friend
Poor  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Ditto on the short connections. In a few days, I noticed my receive was down afetr about a night on the radio. Believe it was 213 coax Touch the coax at the radio connector and the signal went up. Removed the coax to the amp and tried that, same problem. Removed the connectors and solder joints were broken as well. I put cheaper Radio Shack stuff through the same configuration for a quick fix and they worked with no problem for days. I switched to another cable vendor, especially since I have been in the process of installing some larger runs for LMR-400 and those connectors are expensive.
 
KC0MQR Rating: 1/5 Jul 13, 2004 22:50 Send this review to a friend
poor manufacturing  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought several of their ready made cables and when received was impressed with the appearance.
That is at far as it goes. All of them have failed due to poor soldering or no solder at all.
I called and complained and was told they were only supposed to handle 1 or 2 lbs of tension and the problem was basically mine. I have yet to find one with the center conductor soldered and most of them have fallen apart. Now i may not be the best with a solder gun but can sure do better for a lot less. Will never buy anymore from them. It would have been nice if they would have admitted there was a problem and replaced my cables but instead offered me excuses. A very disappointed ham.
 
AE7Q Rating: 1/5 Jul 13, 2004 20:20 Send this review to a friend
Poor manufacturing method  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I own several RG-8 Cable Experts cables, and all seem to work fine so far (all are indoors). However, I needed a really short length of coax, so I took a longer length and cut a connector off the end. I was ASTOUNDED to discovere that they trim enough outer insulation from the end, so that there is NO outer insulation inside the PL-259 connector. Industry standards for PL-259 installation CLEARLY require that the outer insulation be inside the connector for a better mechanical connection and seal.

They obviously plan for this by sliding shrink-wrap tubing on the cable before assembly, in order to subsequently "seal" the PL-259 to the cable. I'm sure this makes manufacturing cheaper, but it makes the cable less mechanically secure, and probably less well-sealed (since the shrink-wrap tubing tends to open up with age and flexing).

So, I won't be buying any more Cable Experts coax.

 
KG4RUL Rating: 5/5 Jan 23, 2004 00:47 Send this review to a friend
No QC Problems Noted  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have nine cables made by Cablexperts. No problems with any of them!

Dennis
 
KC8YIU Rating: 4/5 Jan 22, 2004 23:44 Send this review to a friend
OK  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Have had no problems at all with this cable. Installed on my GP-15 when it was about 10 degrees outside.
 
K9UNA Rating: 0/5 Jan 13, 2004 11:44 Send this review to a friend
Sad  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I screwed the coax into a switching box that was mounted on the wall. This meant that the coax was hanging down but was under no strain. I was shocked when the coax simply fell off the connector. I went with a premade assembly because I didn't want to depend on my own poor sodering. In the end I had to soder it. I now fear the connection at the other end which is about 30 feet up in the air on on my roof. If that one goes I have no way to replace it as I can't climb roofs!
 
<— Page 2 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.