eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | Kenwood TS-B2000 Help


Reviews Summary for Kenwood TS-B2000
Kenwood TS-B2000 Reviews: 8 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $$1500
Description: The "silver box" version of the Kenwood TS2000, for use with the ACRP-2000 software. No display, no buttons, uses the virtual front panel on the computer screen
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.kenwood.net
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Kenwood TS-B2000.

AE6OP Rating: 5/5 Nov 29, 2011 21:39 Send this review to a friend
RC-2000 / TS-B2000  Time owned: more than 12 months
In reading these reviews, I was surprised no one mentioned the RC-2000 remote head Kenwood offers for the TS-B2000.

Iíve been using this set up in my 2010 and now 2012 Honda Pilot and canít imagine a more perfect radio for the road.

While this review is about the RC-2000/B2000, I must touch on this particular installation in passing.

The Honda Pilot lends itself quite well for this remote controllable radio as there is a secret little compartment underneath the aft deck that is perfect for mounting the B2000. From there, itís relatively easy to conceal all the wires forward to accommodate the mic, the audio and the RC-2000 remote head.

In my installation, I send the mic cable and one of the two B2000 audio outs into the center console compartment where the mic is completely concealed and out of the way when not in use and where one of the audio outs can plug into the aux in of the Pilotís stereo system for audiophile communication listening through all the speakers at once. The other audio out of the B2000, I send to a Hi-Fi speaker concealed behind the drivers seat. This allows for monitoring while also using the Pilotís stereo system at the same time.

The antenna is a single, roof mount NMO base that allows for easy antenna base changes while on the road. I also have a selection of stingers for the bases to precisely match the band or bands desired between pit stops. A triplexer attached to the B2000 makes this a snap. For low band HF, one could easily add a hitch mounted screwdriver which would only require 3í of coax to get to the B2000 as itís already near the rear bumper. The B2000 will not only auto tune from the remote RC-2000 but will even switch to the alternate antenna.

Another nice thing about the RC-2000/TS-B2000 combination is the dual monitoring controls. There are two separate AF/SQL controls on the little unit. I use this routinely to monitor two independent frequencies at once, or switch easily between the two.

I have to give the Kenwood TS-B2000/RC-2000 a 5+ for not only the venerable TS-2000 performance and specifications, but making that powerhouse of communication conveniently accessible and driver friendly in such a small space on the dash. And when mounted well, the RC-2000 is indistinguishable from part of the factory panel.

If you want all the power of a TS-2000 integrated elegantly and discretely in a nice vehicle, I can't imagine a better choice than the TS-2000/RC-2000.

In conclusion, let me add that I have no connection to, or any interest in Honda or Kenwood Radio.
 
KD4VCU Rating: 5/5 Jun 14, 2008 17:41 Send this review to a friend
Great Radio and Fast Service  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I went to Dayton with a friend this year for my first time after being off the air for several years. I had no intention of buying a rig, but I heard a lot of good comments on the TS-2000 and ended up brining one home. After 3 or 4 days the radio locked up and kept giving a high SWR response even though I knew the antenna was fine. Called AES and sent the radio back. I sent the radio on a Fri and received a replacement radio the next Fri. AES support said they belived this was just one of those rare problems. I agree which is why I am giving a 5 rating. The new radio has been working with no problems and the wuick response from AES was great.
 
N5EPI Rating: 5/5 Nov 25, 2007 17:34 Send this review to a friend
The Best On The Market  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I got mine used but it was only 2 months old. I was using a FT-100D and I still love that radio but my TS-2000 hit the radio desk oh man. All the HF bands 100W and 100W on 2M 50 on 70CM. The DSP is great you can just about remove all QRM with the low cut and high cut filters. I also have a mc-90 mic. It blows. I use a Heil HM-10 with the TX EQ on bass boost. The sky command is to cool. If you just got one enjoy it. 73's Tim.
 
W0DLR Rating: 2/5 Aug 22, 2007 17:24 Send this review to a friend
Questionable  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have a TS2000 that came on Thursday, by the next Tuesday the 2 meter transmit had died. All other functions worked, HF and UHF, but 2 meter Transmit was dead. The exciter was running, I could hear it in a TM261a sitting next to it, but no power out, no matter where the power setting was. Tried a hard reset and it didn't change anything. So its on the way back to Kenwood. I will put up with it going down once, but the next time it goes down its gone from my place. I always fall back on a TS520s, I am beginning to wonder why I don't just stay with it.
 
N2EIK Rating: 5/5 Feb 5, 2007 02:40 Send this review to a friend
AWESOME  Time owned: more than 12 months
I use the ts-b2000 for hf and satellite. I have been a Kenwood fan for years. This is a well made product and I highly recommend it. With 10-160, 6mtr, 144/440 capabilities its a great bang for the buck!
I must say that I didnt care for the ARCP software that comes with the radio and I use Ham Radio Deluxe (freeware).
 
IW9CTR Rating: 5/5 Nov 7, 2006 04:44 Send this review to a friend
Great  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Great for remote use, the RC-2000 is very easy to use. --- I love it ---
 
KA1BB Rating: 5/5 Nov 25, 2004 10:11 Send this review to a friend
nice  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Hi all I just got my new TSB 2000 from Gigaparts and I must say for thos who havnt seen or tried it should at least give it a try. I dont have alot of room on my desk and the radio fits great the computer program worked great to.
 
NE0P Rating: 5/5 Jan 26, 2004 14:45 Send this review to a friend
I'd buy that for a dollar!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
First off, I have never used a rig control program before, so I was unsure how I would like this setup. I wanted to get another TS2000, and as my summary implies, this is a cheaper way to get one. Also, with a 1 year old daughter in the house, who loves to grab and poke at everything, I figured this might be a little safer. The silver box looks alot less interesting to a toddler than a regular 2000 with all of its buttons. And there are no buttons to go bad, or display to burn out.

I am finding that I really like this setup. I had a TS2000 before and wrote and extensive review on it, and am now remembering why I missed it so much. I had a FT100D inbetween (and also a FT847 but I repressed that memory) and it did very good for its size and price, but the TS-B2000 does everything. The NB and IF-DSP makes the low bands usable again through the power line noise I have. I can once again hear EU stations on 40 and 80 very clearly, and 60 meters is a blast on this rig.

The computer control works very well. In fact, I find it is easier than the front panel for most things. More settings are available at one time. You can change several functions at once using the multicontrol that require separate button pushes on the regular rig. I still go looking for a volume knob at times, and the frequency changing is taking a little getting used to, but you can also change frequencies much quicker than the dial. The biggest drawback I have found is in satellite mode, where the original software limited some of the frequency changing schemes. There is an updated version which fixed those problems, but I had a problem with full duplex, so I uninstalled it. Could be pilot error.

Also, the silver box just looks cool sitting on the computer center, although I also loved the looks of the regular TS2000. I am using a 120mhz pentium with 64mb of RAM, so a top of the line computer isn't needed. Works just fine on my machine.

So if you are looking for a TS2000, and need to save a little money, feel comfortable going this route. I wasn't sure if I would like computer control or not, but it is really growing on me. Plus this rig just performs. With the B2000 I was able to replace my:

1. FT100D
2. FT8900R used for crossband repeat
3. Mirage B1016B 2 meter amp
4. Klitzing 70cm amp
5. Astron SS30 PS for the amps
6. MFJ coax switch for going between rigs
7. Triplexer for the FT8900

Heck, I came out money ahead after selling that stuff, and I still get more features! I'd buy that for a dollar!!
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.