eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Yagi, Quad, Rotary dipole, LPDA | OptiBeam OB8-4M high performance fourbander (40-20-15-10) Help


Reviews Summary for OptiBeam OB8-4M high performance fourbander (40-20-15-10)
OptiBeam OB8-4M high performance fourbander (40-20-15-10) Reviews: 2 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $2,155
Description: Very efficient trapless Yagi for 40-20-15-10m.
Extremely efficient but compact due to two Moxons (40/20).
Lossfree shortened 40m elements by computer designed high Q air coils.
40m elements decoupled from other bands by the "OptiBeam decoupling stub technique".
Broadband single 50 Ohm coax cable feed system by the patented "OptiBeam direct coupled driver feed system"
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.optibeam.de
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the OptiBeam OB8-4M high performance fourbander (40-20-15-10).

DL4TJ Rating: 5/5 Jun 21, 2011 14:39 Send this review to a friend
Long lasting high quality product  Time owned: more than 12 months
I am happy to made one of my best decisions 8 years ago - I purchased an Optibeam OB8-4M!
So my dream of having at least a two element yagi on 40m went true.
This antenna has the same perfomance today as when I got it new in May 2003 as the first one in field. It is sturdy and survived heavy winds.
Due to its Moxon design this 4-Band Yagi for 40/20/15/10 has a footprint of not more than a classic fullsize 20m Beam.
If space is a concern and you would like to play the game on 40m you should put this antenna on top of your list.
It is amazing if you rotate it and get nearly 20dB F/B while pulling the DX out of the noise or get that punchy signal to pop out of the crowd.
On 40 I often log the DX after the first or second call. Two elements even make the difference to the majority of callers.
So the decision 8 years ago IS one of the best I have made.
 
G6PWY Rating: 5/5 Jun 26, 2009 13:19 Send this review to a friend
I'm still in heaven  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
A quick update, the antenna is still working great, infact its that good i've took to working qrp to give me a challenge, still working dx on legal limit but also working 2k+ miles on 10watts, its a real dream.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.