eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Power Supplies | Palstar PS-30M Help


Reviews Summary for Palstar PS-30M
Palstar PS-30M Reviews: 9 Average rating: 4.1/5 MSRP: $110
Description: Input - 220/240V AC
Output - 3-15V DC adjustable
Current - 25/30A Max.
10mV RMS noise and ripple
Thermostatically controlled fan
Volt and current metering
Overcurrent warning indication
Short circuit protection
Weight: 8.58kg
Size: 150 x 145 x 300mm
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.palstar.co.uk/Palstar-PSU.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Palstar PS-30M.

M0KFO Rating: 5/5 May 3, 2015 09:44 Send this review to a friend
Reliable  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have the 15 amp version (PS-15) and have had it for 11 years.

I can't fault it, never had a problem and it easily does more than it says. A case of older type units always had a bit extra in them, rather than being built to a price.

Being linear, instead of the now more popular switch mode, it doesn't give you any RF noise in the radio. It may be heavy, but then I don't transport it at all.

Fan has never been a problem, in fact the fan on my FT-450D is more of a problem and that kicks in almost instantaneously.

I'm going to have to buy the 30 amp version, because soon the 15 amp won't be enough. To M1VPN, you can still get them, Maplins sell them, 100 free delivery.

You can send me a cheque for the info & link.

http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/375w-linear-dc-variable-voltage-bench-power-supply-rp10l
 
M1VPN Rating: 5/5 Mar 1, 2015 02:26 Send this review to a friend
Well made PSU  Time owned: more than 12 months
After 11 years of faithful service, my Palstar PS-30M has just started to show signs of failing. The voltage is spiking after a while in operation so probably an easy fix when the lid comes off so hoping it'll continue to provide service as it's replacement isn't built anywhere near as well.

Has powered my Datamodes radio for 11 years, which isn't an easy life and has been faultless to this point. Bought new with the radio in 2003 from Nevada, Portsmouth.

A compact Linear PSU, with good metering and positive controls (The Vari Voltage click for 13.8 is captive). Fan is quite loud when it comes on, however the various mods online can sort this simply.

Would buy another tomorrow if they were available.
 
26JLH Rating: 3/5 Jan 10, 2014 17:04 Send this review to a friend
good but fan is to loud  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
this is a good bit of psu,one of the best but the fan sux its just to noisey and gets picked up over your audio.
it is better than a switcher but the fan noise is like hell.
jeff m0prf
 
M0TNX Rating: 4/5 Sep 2, 2012 03:10 Send this review to a friend
Well built but Hellish noisy  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bought the PSU second hand, to replace one I wish i had never sold, a Kenwood PSU..

The Palstar is a very well built and robust PSU, but when drawing current, as others have said, the fan is unbelievably noisy.

I will be mdoifying this as other have helpfully described, as this fan spoils what is essentially a great PSU
 
PA0FRI Rating: 4/5 Apr 15, 2010 05:23 Send this review to a friend
Poor rectifier bridge  Time owned: more than 12 months
The EP925 is a good power supply, but the rectifier bridge has not enough capacity for example a continuous 5 volts load at full power . It is better to replace the rectifier by a 50 amperes type. In my Dutch article, are pictures and schematics for some modifications. See http://www.xs4all.nl/~pa0fri/Diversen/EP925/ep925.htm
 
G7TMU Rating: 4/5 Oct 6, 2008 00:56 Send this review to a friend
Noisy!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have one of these Palstar PS30M power supplies and it works fine, but as others have said it is noisy.

Rather than do the internal fan mod, which might affect the warranty, I simply fitted a 12 volt PC fan to the outside of the case blowing air into the vent at the side. I run the fan at about 8 volts which keeps the noise to a minimum, with the PS30M's internal fan now rarely coming on at all!

Victor G7TMU
 
G8FXC Rating: 4/5 Sep 17, 2008 09:11 Send this review to a friend
you can cut the noise down!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have the Manson branded version (EP-925) and, as others have reported, it's a good value PSU apart from the very high fan noise!

Never fear! Help is at hand. I did a quick web search and found an article on mods.dk which describes how to kill the noise. Unfortunately it's in German and doesn't translate well through bablefish, but I managed to work it out -

The trouble is that the thermostatic control of the fan is an all-or-nothing affair - it's off till the regulator is really quite hot, then it runs full blast till it's nearly cold. The modification is to drop a resistor of around 1.5k in series with the thermostat - that makes the fan idle at a moderate speed (and quietly) all the time, just kicking up to full speed if the temperature gets high.

The regulator is a two pin device screwed into the heatsink right behind the volt meter - it's a normally closed switch which opens when it gets hot - just unsolder either wire and drop in a series resistance to taste - 1.5k seems right to me.

Obviously, like any modification, you do it at your own risk - probably invalidates all guarantees and don't blame me if you blow the PSU, your rig, or both!!!

Martin
 
G4REK Rating: 4/5 Oct 4, 2007 10:06 Send this review to a friend
GOOD  Time owned: more than 12 months
A nice p.s.u....but why don't manufacturers add overvoltage protection which is the most important protection feature of all, forget overcurrent..i always add a crowbar circuit to the output terminals which has saved a ft847 when a 2n3055 decided to go dead short on a expensive p.s.u......
 
GM1EXK Rating: 4/5 Mar 9, 2004 10:58 Send this review to a friend
Solid PSU for a good Price but NOISY!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This seems to be a solid PSU

+The Build Quality is very good
+The PSU gives a good stable output
+No apparent RF noise/immunity problems
+Meters accuratly report the Voltage and Current
+The voltage is variable (though this is of no use to me, I just need 13.8 solid for all the gear)
+Protection for short circuit and overcurrent
+Good value for money (about half the price of an equivalent 'branded' Yaesu or Icom PSU)

-Noise
-Did I mention NOISE!? When the fan kicks on (which it seems to do often even with a low current draw it's LOUD! Far too LOUD.. I acturally need to turn the Volume up on the radio to compensate for it. I'm tempted to try and mod the PSU with a slower/less noisy fan.

All in all a Very good PSU at a good price. Will power any 100W HF set with no problems and looks like it will last. However I hate big noisy fans, silence is golden! If i'm trying to hear a weak HF signal.. then that's all I want to hear.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.