eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Vertical, Wire, Loop | OCF Dipole Australian made. Help


Reviews Summary for OCF Dipole Australian made.
OCF Dipole  Australian made. Reviews: 10 Average rating: 2.8/5 MSRP: $100 to 130
Description: A Windom-like OCF (Off Center Feed) 8-band dipole
Rating 500 Watt to 2KW Version.With TWO stage open
Magnetic Path Design BALUN.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the OCF Dipole Australian made..

VK7LW Rating: 1/5 Nov 18, 2006 02:01 Send this review to a friend
"Amateur" product.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months

Balun burnt out completely after less than 3 months light use, with less than 400watts SSB. NO feedback from manufacturer after emails sent.

I know we are "amateur" radio enthusiasts, but if you are selling a product it should be reasonably professional.

Would not recommend.
 
VK3KCG Rating: 4/5 Jun 27, 2006 07:15 Send this review to a friend
Works Well  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is very educational, my OCF works within specifications on all bands and I will even allow amateurs to come in and test the antenna on air. Most hams get great results but some do not by the look of it. Comments about arcing over with 50 watts is a little hard to believe as there is no mechanism in the balun to allow this to occur. VK4APN ,I never have received any emails from you?
 
VK4APN Rating: 1/5 Mar 14, 2006 03:50 Send this review to a friend
poor performer & construction quality  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Does not perform as advertised. Have tried multiple installations all with poor results. Construction quality is very poor. Dont wast your money on this one.
 
EI3GRB Rating: 0/5 Mar 14, 2006 01:53 Send this review to a friend
totally unprofessional service & product  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Took 5 weeks for delivery, high swr & low signals on most bands. Tried various configurations & feed line lengths. Any power over 50 watts & got flash over with rig cutting out due to high swr .Every thing double checked & can only assume balun is faulty. No reply to complaints to from supplier who had earlier told me LIES about shipping date.. This is a piece of junk from an individual who does not give 1 hang about customer service. It is best to avoid him & his totally junk products & unprofessional service.
 
M0FGH Rating: 5/5 May 15, 2005 06:47 Send this review to a friend
Top Performer - recommend  Time owned: months
Quality product - purchased to replace a Carolina Windom 80. No chewing gum needed to seal the balun on the OCF dipole unlike the old antenna and a SWR of less than 1.5:1 across all bands straight out of the packet. No trimming was required, the internal ATU on my 756 pro3 had no problem in showing 1:1 SWR across every band. Immediately noticeable was the reduction in noise on all bands, and after several weeks I am convinced that its receive and transmit performance is better that the Carolina Windom it replaced in my location. Initial emails were answered promptly and antenna was despatched on the day I paid for it, arriving in the UK within a week. Would buy another, but looking at construction quality I don't think I will need to.
Good DX - Steve
 
VK3GK Rating: 5/5 Mar 28, 2005 23:02 Send this review to a friend
All band coverage inc WARC  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have this High Power version OCF at a 45' apex, inverted v configuration, ends at about 20'.
i am amazed that it works on all bands inc WARC at less than 2:1.
flat on 15m, full band coverage on 10m.
on 80m i get full band coverage, 1.8:1 at 3.5mhz, 1.1:1 at 3.8 mhz and 1.3:1 at 4mhz
had a little swr trouble at first but i added about 25' to the feedline, (now about 140' of rg213) and its fine.
 
M3RMC Rating: 2/5 Feb 13, 2005 01:45 Send this review to a friend
could be better  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
took 10 weeks to deliver and antenna wire snapped after one week. works well on 40 meters
and will tune on all other band with my icom756
 
M1BWM Rating: 0/5 Jan 20, 2005 10:21 Send this review to a friend
NOT GOOD  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Poor perforemance tuner needed custermer service 0-10 better of using a RADIO WORKS windom witch you can get over the counter
 
TANGO19 Rating: 5/5 Oct 25, 2004 02:34 Send this review to a friend
A Windom-like OCF (Off Center Feed) 8-band dipole  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have two of these set up in Tasmania,one on the West Coast and one on the North West Coast,until I sit my exam I am only on 27mghz,also works fine on 8022,can get into W A and Queensland no worries
 
VK6WB Rating: 5/5 Apr 22, 2004 18:44 Send this review to a friend
Great Antennas  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Hello There
I totaly agree with Bill VP1MWB.I got up About
12 M from the ground..and get better VSWR.....
On V configurations(120')Angle. And the Wire must
not so close to tree or anything like that. It
will effact your SWR...This antennas tend to be bit more directional toward the longes wire.
And of course will get less noice.
All the best

de GUSTI VK6WB
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.