eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Repeaters | Kenwood TKR-850 Help


Reviews Summary for Kenwood TKR-850
Kenwood TKR-850 Reviews: 7 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $1500
Description: Kenwood UHF Repeater
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.kenwood.net/indexKenwood.cfm?do=ProductDetails&ProdID=66&Group=3
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Kenwood TKR-850.

W7MAG Rating: 5/5 May 23, 2014 06:39 Send this review to a friend
2 years and running  Time owned: more than 12 months
Bought a used one off eBay and put it in service.
Been running perfectly since then.
Super easy to set up.

Super easy to align the front
end for the 70cm band.

An all around great machine.
 
N4LPK Rating: 5/5 Apr 9, 2014 13:04 Send this review to a friend
EXCELLANT REPEATERE  Time owned: more than 12 months
Our club has a TKR-750 V2. repeater that works well. It was installed about 4 years ago and hasn't skipped a beat. Hope to someday replace an aging UHF
repeater with a TKR-850. Easy to program.
 
N4SJW Rating: 5/5 Dec 2, 2008 18:23 Send this review to a friend
Keeps on ticking  Time owned: more than 12 months
We've had 6 of the UHF Kenwoods in service for a regional health care system primarily at local hospitals since 2005 and all feeding into a common hub repeater. No failures to date in a busy continuous duty system. We matched the TKR-850s (and several 750s) to the Arcom 210 controller. You can toggle the Kenwood outbound tone to drop when inbound tone drops - nice feature.

I agree with the fellow below that the Batwing is a better repeater (one of our hubs is an MTR2000 and works quite well) but you can buy 3 TKR750/850s for the price of 1 MTR2000.
 
K7PFJ Rating: 5/5 Apr 24, 2008 13:53 Send this review to a friend
Kenwood Commercial repeaters for Ham use.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have more than 18 of these repeaters in HAM repeater use. All of the repeaters are the TKR-850K. Some of them are the first version 1.0 and most of them are the version 2.0 All of them we are using the Link Communications RLC-4 controllers. I have tried many other models of controllers and found that the RLC-4 and the Kenwood mated together are a perfect match. If you find one of the first version repeaters they had a recall on the PA board and it was a dirrect replacement and is easy to install. THe repeaters in boht the VHF & UHF band will work great in the ham band and last you or your club many years of trouble free use. Being a Kenwood Dealer i make special deals for clubs and hams. The repeaters can be setup ready to go with or without a controller. However i recomend if your using them in Ham use spend the extra and use an external controller (FCC Requirement) to remotely control the repeater. You can disable it via the internal controller but if someone is jamming your repeater its nice to come in on a full duplex link or external receiver.
 
W2XAB Rating: 5/5 Apr 12, 2006 13:21 Send this review to a friend
New version 2 models  Time owned: more than 12 months
I just received a TKR-850 (450-470) & TKR-750 (136-150MHz), both new version 2 repeaters. They REQUIRE the KPG-91D programming software (different from the older versions). The new version includes more DTMF remote control feature then the older v1 repeaters I have used in the past.

I paid under $1,100 each from a dealer.
 
N2XPM Rating: 5/5 Aug 3, 2005 15:09 Send this review to a friend
None Better  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have this repeater on the Ham band and it works flawlessly. The exciter is operating 10 watts out into my PA delivering a nice signal with outstanding audio! Sure, the repeater has a basic controler and it does a terrific job. If your looking for something other than a Motorola, this is a great repeater at the fraction of the cost. Hats Off to Kenwood for doing a superb job in putting such a great machine together!
 
KB1JRX Rating: 4/5 Mar 26, 2004 00:41 Send this review to a friend
Great repeater  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After looking to buy a used machine and rebuild, I decided to just buy a new one. It was slightly modified to work in the HAM band, but the front end was adjusted to compensate. The repeater has been installed in a high RF zone with great performance giving me -121dBm RX out of the box. Easy to program via a PC with the Kenwood KPG-66D software. The controller is very basic, but it will satisfy the minimum requirements. You can always add an outboard controller to the included serial port. It has a 25W continuous PA which can be turned down to 10W without a problem to drive a higher power PA. I also looked at the Motorola GR1225, but the Kenwood had better specs than the Motorola. I have given it a 4 as I have only owned it for a few months, so it has very low run time, but so far it has performed well. If the selection was available on this site for a better rating I would rate it at a 4.5. Not a MTR2000, but for a fraction of the price, the performance specs are very close.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.