eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Books/Manuals/Videos/Pod-WebCasts on ham radio | Ham Radio for Dummies, by Ward Silver Help


Reviews Summary for Ham Radio for Dummies, by Ward Silver
Ham Radio for Dummies, by Ward Silver Reviews: 13 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $21.99
Description: A reference manual for the beginner in Amateur Radio
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.dummies.com/WileyCDA/DummiesTitle/productCd-0764559877.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Ham Radio for Dummies, by Ward Silver.

Page 1 of 2 —>

KC9GUZ Rating: 5/5 Feb 3, 2007 03:09 Send this review to a friend
good book!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this book pretty much as a joke but it does have some great info for the seasoned ham as well as a newer guy like me.
 
N7GCO Rating: 5/5 Sep 22, 2006 15:15 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This is a great book!!! It has so much helpful information and advice. It is written in such a way that us non-energinering people can understand it. I love the clarity of the writing, It is also very practical, with many down to earth hints and ideas.
I hope Ward writes a sequel!!!
 
OE3SGU Rating: 5/5 Aug 2, 2006 12:28 Send this review to a friend
Guess I keep it...  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought this one for a friend of mine as an introduction to our great hobby. After reading in some chapters I am thinking of buying another one and keep this copy for me. It is not only for the beginner but also for the more experienced ham. You find a lot of very useful things in it.
 
KC9GUZ Rating: 5/5 Mar 24, 2006 21:45 Send this review to a friend
Great!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this book as a joke but i found myself reading it. It has a lot of interesting stuff inside that a beginner can relate to and learn from.
 
VE4MM Rating: 5/5 Dec 10, 2005 20:03 Send this review to a friend
FUN!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Got it just for the fun of it!

Michael Mark, P.Eng.
 
9K2HN Rating: 5/5 Nov 8, 2005 03:25 Send this review to a friend
I liked this book  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I got this book last year and I really enjoyed going through it, it is good reference for the Ham Operator.
 
W6ONV Rating: 5/5 Nov 7, 2005 21:57 Send this review to a friend
A good starter.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
About 10 years had passed since I earned my ticket and from when I actually got on the air. This was the first book I picked up in order to get an overview of amateur radio.

It's a quick read, not very technical and answers many questions that new hams have. Aside from the ARRL material, I found this to be a very useful book in order to get started in the hobby
 
NS6Y_ Rating: 5/5 Apr 3, 2005 23:48 Send this review to a friend
Good for whetting interest  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just bought a copy of this for someone I"m hoping to elmer. Not the be-all and end-all but a lot of material, not too hard technically but high enough level to be interesting, to get someone interested - the kind of person who's a ham and just doesn't know it yet! Was $19.00 at the local Barnes & Borders, not bad. For Dummies books are good anyway, a good way to get up to speed on a subject, so I was happy to see this when it came out.
 
KF6GOM Rating: 5/5 Sep 28, 2004 18:27 Send this review to a friend
Great Introduction to a new Ham  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
bought this book for my son to read and he found it very detailed and got his answers quickly. Ive read it and was impressed with the text and diagrams.i refered to it a few times with questions that i didnt know, overall a great reading book for our Hobby.anyone going into hamradio should pick one up. thanks KF6GOM
 
KQ7K Rating: 5/5 Sep 28, 2004 15:47 Send this review to a friend
FANTASTIC  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have been licensed for 20 years. I have read, and own, many books on the subject of Ham Radio. Some are good, some are OK and some are not so good. That is an opinion. I believe that no one author is going to please everyone. All that being said, I found this to be one of the most informative and entertaining books I have read to date. I don't claim to know everything about Ham Radio but neither am I a complete novice. I think everyone can get a lot from Ward's book. I have 2 grandsons, ages 8 and 11 and I bought one for each of them. My hope is they get at least some of the knowledge and enjoyment that I got. I will always have one on my shelf and it will always be available for anyone to borrow. (However, I will loan it to only people I know cuz I had Ward sign it) 73 Terry
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.