eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: General Coverage | JWIN 9 Band Digital JX-M14 Portable Help


Reviews Summary for JWIN 9 Band Digital JX-M14 Portable
JWIN 9 Band Digital JX-M14 Portable Reviews: 8 Average rating: 4.3/5 MSRP: $12-20
Description: Very small, light weight, portable SW receiver (no BFO). Inckudes digital read out on all bands. Uses 2 AA batteries.Has clock, alarm setting, and auto shut off feature. Car adapter included. Stand and carrying strap bulit-in. Size is about 5 x 3 inches. Pull up antenna.
Bulit-in speaker and headphone jack
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the JWIN 9 Band Digital JX-M14 Portable.

KC9IBN Rating: 3/5 Dec 7, 2006 16:17 Send this review to a friend
Okay  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Plastic and clunky but fits in my shirt pocket. $8 with free shipping here:
http://www.hhgregg.com/ProductDetail.asp?ProductID=12041
 
FORMER_K0PD Rating: 5/5 Oct 16, 2006 19:10 Send this review to a friend
Well worth the money..  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After reading all the review's on this little gem i had to give it a try. I found this one also on e bay but i paid slightly more than $10.00 plus shipping. No matter the cost it was well worth the money and i am in concurence with all the previous review's and all i can say is buy one and be amazed as i was....
 
K4IDX Rating: 3/5 Feb 10, 2006 19:03 Send this review to a friend
Only OK IMO  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
For $10 it's pretty good, but don't expect much! I got 2 of these, one for the backpack and one for the desk. The SW coverage differs on each band from one radio to the next. For example, on one radio I can tune down to listen to Radio Taiwan on 5950 or the BBC on 5975, but on the other radio I can only tune down to 6050. My fave radio in this size range is the Kaito WRX911 and it's worth paying the few extra bucks for it. The JWIN does seem to do a good job on MW, but FM suffers. Like I said earlier, for $10 it's ok, but if you've gotta pay to have it shipped, I wouldn't recommend spending the cash on this one.
 
SLIDERULEX Rating: 5/5 Jul 12, 2005 07:58 Send this review to a friend
Ten dollar wonder!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
On AM/FM/SW this little radio performs much better than your typical $10.00 radio. I'm especially impressed with its SW reception being as sensitive as it is. And the digital frequency readout is a nice feature. I am amazed at how much radio they packed into such a small price!

The construction is very solid and very light weight. This radio feels like it could be dropped and not adversely affect it. Tuning and volume control is done via dials recessed into the case and the tuning control has enough tension to make it easy to tune and maintain your station of interest. I bought this radio mainly for SW, and I'm pleased (and surprised) at how well it performs here. Sensitivity and selectivity are better than what I expected.
 
KB2HSH Rating: 5/5 May 24, 2005 05:11 Send this review to a friend
Awesome little radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After reading the K9UNA review, I had to try a few of the rigs that he talked about. I tried the Walgreen's Lifelong and was pleasantly surprised...but the jWin is simply...amazing. This radio "should not be" a $10 radio. It performs better than what you'd think a $10 radio should be. It had a nice solid feel to it...the radio is exceptionally sensitive-even with the onboard telescoping whip antenna, it has great selectivity...as proven by the fact that I could hear a signal at 9.98 MHz, and it didn't interfere with the 10 MHz WWV signal. My Lifelong doesn't perform THAT well.

The only downside to the radio is that it is made in China. In the late 80's and early 90's, Sony made a radio of this same size that sold for $350 US. Sure, the jWin may or may not have the same performance characteristics as the Sony, but because it's Chinese made, the price is EXTREMELY low.

Bottom line: I love the radio...and I'm glad I stumbled upon it.
 
K9UNA Rating: 4/5 Mar 28, 2005 11:09 Send this review to a friend
Correction to my review  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Please note that the last line in my review should read:

Despite its oddities, the JX-M14 does a fine job at an amazing price (if you shop around).
 
K9UNA Rating: 4/5 Mar 19, 2005 14:06 Send this review to a friend
Great Price  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The jWin JX-M14 is a pocket sized radio that features AM, FM and 7 shortwave bands. It retails for around $30. Amazingly, it can be had for around $10 with a little shopping.

The radio is in a stylish silver tone. The case has rounded corners and molded reliefs giving it a nice look. The front of the radio contains the speaker grill, LED lights for AM, FM and tuning, various controls and a digital readout. The antenna is fully positionable. Tuning and Volume are controlled by thin thumb wheels. On/Off is controlled by a little slide switch. There is also a jack for an adaptor (not provided) and an earphone (accepts a stereo plug, but delivers only mono). There is a little wrist strap and the back contains a flip-up tab to tilt the dial up when the radio is lying flat on its back.

Power: Power is provided by 2 AA cells which should last a long time. If desired, an aftermarket adaptor could be used, but is probably unnecessary.

Sound: The radio has a built in speaker and sound is consistent with a pocket radio. It is a bit better than the sound from a Grundig Mini 100 and a bit worse than a Sony S10MX2. The differences are small. This radio often comes with ear buds, but mine did not. Listening using an inexpensive Sony headset resulted in very pleasant audio (in mono).

Ergonomics are strange; many things operate in a fashion that is backwards from what you would expect. One annoying fact is that the radio always reverts back to FM when it is turned off. The thumbnail controls are thin and the tight tuning knob tends to dig into your thumb.

The radio also features a clock that seems to keep time reasonably well. The clock can also turn the radio on thereby turning the radio into a simple clock radio.

There are no other features such as a dial light, bandwidth control or memories.

Build seems to be a bit better than what I would expect. Quality control seems to be on par for a cheap radio.

Tuning is analog, but the display is digital (using a simple digital counter). The last digit is missing when tuning shortwave, so a station at 6.155 will appear as 6.15 or 6.16. This is still vastly better than a slide rule dial.

Reception:

Note: Reception was done at my home which is about 35 miles west of Chicago. Iím also a few miles away from a couple of local broadcasters.

MW (AM): MW reception was decent. The biggest problem was the jWinís wider than normal selectivity. With that said it performed well for an inexpensive pocket radio, but not as well as the AM/FM Sony S10MK2. Local stations came in fine and I was able to log many stations from other states including: Wisconsin, Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York, Texas and Colorado.

FM: FM was also decent. I was able to listen to most Chicago stations. Stations like WFMT at 98.7 came in loud and clear. WBEZ (NPR at 91.5) came in with some fiddling but I could hear another station softly at the same time. Here again the Sony did a better job, but I have definitely had pocket radios that did much worse.

SW: The radio tunes the 49, 41, 31,25, 22, 19 and 16 meter international bands. Strangely, it often cuts off the lower portion of the band and extends past the upper portion. Despite using a single conversion design the radio is reasonably free from extraneous noises such as birdies, dit-dahs and the like. You will hear images of shortwave stations, but they are not too objectionable. I didnít hear a lot of bleed over from local MW and FM broadcasters into the shortwave bands, a surprising and welcome fact. The radio has enough of a dynamic range to allow the connection of 5-10 feet of wire (via alligator clip) to the whip antenna. This significantly increases the radios sensitivity to weak signals. In my radio it didnít overload the radio. Selectively is what you would expect in such an inexpensive radio, but it is acceptable.

I was able to tune many shortwave stations (using 10í of attached bell wire).
I heard numerous foreign language station and numerous religious/right wing stations. In two days of casual listening I was able to listen IN ENGLISH to stations from the following countries:

Sweden
England
Holland
Germany
Slovakia
Czech Republic
Russia
Israel
China
Taiwan
Japan
Thailand
New Zealand
Cuba
Canada
US

In the around $10 category there are not too many contenders. I personally know of the Coby 12 band and the Bell and Howell 9 band offerings. I can tell you that the jWin works better than either of these radios. The Grundig Mini World 100 is considered a good radio in the super cheap category. It retails for about $40 but it is often sold for $30. I wondered how this $10 radio would stack up. Listed below are the ďwinsĒ from each radio:

Grundig Mini 100:
- Wins at sorting out a weaker FM station next to a stronger FM station
- Wins at being able to receive FM stereo
- Wins with size (slightly smaller and lighter)
- Wins with a plastic belt clip on the back of the radio (dubious value)

jWin:
- Wins with digital frequency readout instead of analog
- Wins with more stable horizontal style
- Wins with fully adjustable telescopic antenna
- Wins with the addition of a digital clock
- Wins with the addition of a wake to radio function
- Wins with ability to pick up more MW (AM) stations
- Wins with ability to pick up more SW stations in a given band
- Wins with slightly better sound via the onboard speaker
- Wins with having a power adaptor jack
- Wins with visual indicators for bands, AM/FM and tuning
- Wins with separate on-off switch
- Wins with more shortwave bands (22 meters not on the Grundig)
- Wins with a street price that is 1/3 the price of the Grundig
- Wins with a tilt up bail on the back of the radio

Letís face it, if you want a serious shortwave radio you have to pay the price. A nice starter is the Grundig S350 (street price $100). If you want a more sophisticated portable the Sony ICF-SW7600GR is quite nice (street price $170). Naturally, a high grade table top will cost thousands.

But there are times when a multi-band radio would be nice, but you donít want to use an expensive piece of equipment. A trip to the beach or park would be one example. Camping also comes to mind. This radio would be great as a travel companion as it is small and it can also serve as a clock radio. At its throw away price it would also be great as a gift to a college student who is studying abroad (they can listen to the Voice of America to get the latest news). Solders in the Armed Forces would also find this radio handy. How about for a kid who has expressed an interest in radio (when they lose it, you wonít be too upset at $10).

Normally, I think of jWin products as being inexpensive, stylish but sub-par to terrible in performance. Despite its oddities, the JX-M16 does a fine job at an amazing price (if you shop around).
 
KE5GK Rating: 5/5 May 26, 2004 10:31 Send this review to a friend
Under The Radar Winner  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This little radio is a winner!

Sensitivity, selectivity and sound are nothing less than awesome. The digital read out is accurate. Clock is very good.

Perfect for travel, vacation, or office to have the world at your finger tips. Copies 10 & 15 Mhz WWV.

The price varies from supplier to supplier. If you have access to the miltary AAFES stores you will find them for less than $10. I bought three at a local BX. Hope to give them to grandsons a bit later.

Also, the reviews on Google search engine are well worth the reading.

Get one and walk past the next Radio Shack store with a money-saving smile!
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.