eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: General Coverage | Degen DE1103 Help


Reviews Summary for Degen DE1103
Degen DE1103 Reviews: 78 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $54.90
Description: A world band radio: 100-29000 KHz AM + SSB + stereo FM. Two IF bandwidths.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Degen DE1103.

<— Page 2 of 8 —>

GI0HWO Rating: 5/5 Oct 3, 2010 01:17 Send this review to a friend
Brilliant  Time owned: more than 12 months
Best portable SW radio I have ever had.
It outperforms all my Sony radios in every aspect.
Superb value for money
 
MUNGOSOOTY Rating: 5/5 Jul 7, 2010 08:57 Send this review to a friend
Very good for the price  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have used quite a few radios and communications receivers - Icom, Kenwood R5000, Yaesu FRG-7700, FRG-7, Sony SW77, 2001D, Vega Selena 215, RCA AR88D, RACAL RA17 etc. Got my Degen DE1103 on ebay from seller lipyn. Arrived in one week form Hong Kong to England. What a nice little Receiver, it looks beautiful , specially with the dial lights on. At twice the price I would still recommend it. FM stereo quality is very good particularly through the line output. But for me, Shortwave broadcast reception is the main reason for buying this radio. Using it on the supplied re-chargeable batteries, as a portable it is very sensitive and using the whip antenna and the sensitivity on high, most of the time all works really nicely. It does not seem to overload dramatically but very occasionally reception is better if the dx/local switch is set to local, or better still, use the supplied long wire antenna with sensitivity set to local. But using a Yaesu FRT-7700 receive antenna tuner connected to the DE1103 antenna input socket, this radio is pretty hard to fault. Audio quality is very pleasant, not tiring, unlike some other receivers . Most radios have good and bad points, For the price, the DE1103 has no serious faults that are going to spoil your enjoyment. It's not perfect - SSB reception is good for a portable but not as good as a Communications receiver but as an AM shortwave receiver it is all you really need. On Long and medium wave , you can hear a little noise from the LCD display between stations and on very weak signals, Controlling the volume by pressing a button and turning the tuning knob is easy to get used to. The DE1103 has preset bands covering all the broadcast bands, the rest of the shortwave spectrum can be accessed using direct entry, tuning knob and scan. The 268 memories are not difficult to use. On AM using an Aerial tuning unit , this radio will embarrass much more expensive communications receivers , as a portable its pretty decent. Yes its not as good as the Racal RA17 (definitely not a portable!) its not quite as good as the Sony 2001d , or even the old analogue tuned Vega Selena 215, itís a much nicer radio to use and listen to than the overpriced Sony SW77 which has poor audio. --- As others have said, buy one and you will not be disappointed. (If you want a very good analogue and still under-priced radio for MW,LW and SW, try the old Russian Vega Selena 215 and use it on batteries not mains as this eliminates a great deal of mains noise, this is something to bare in mind with any AM radio - disconnect form the mains supply - battery power is always better).
 
TAMASHIDA Rating: 4/5 Jul 5, 2010 09:56 Send this review to a friend
Good for the price  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I bought a Degen DE 1103 after reading all the opinions on this page. It was useful (thanks to everyone), but my experience is a bit different. The sensibility is good (not too however). The selectivity is also good, but there are two problems. 1 - When the reception is very good all the strong stations can be heard, so the radio is "singing". 2 - If a strong station has powerful high sounds, it can be heard through the whole band, what is very disturbing.
Everybody says that it has so good sound while it's a small radio. It's true in that meaning that low sounds are strong, and high sounds are limited. But for listening to news medium high sounds would be more useful.
It also has good sides, of course. The first is its size. A so good radio with so small size is unic, I think. The high sound cutter/better selectivity button is very helpful when you are seperating two weak radio station 5 khz from each other. But for strong stations and on SSB it is not functioning very good. Yes, the radio can receive SSB, and for a radio like this it's functioning well enough. It's also good that this radio can tune from 100 - 29999 Khz. It's easy to use, nice looking receiver.
It's good for tarveling and for beginers. But for good DX-ing is not enough. So I give "4" as a note, because by this price it's worth the money.
 
AA1OQ Rating: 1/5 Jul 4, 2010 11:10 Send this review to a friend
Don`t buy it  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought a DE1103 new. It worked perfectly for about 6 months, then the rotary tuning encoder failed, and you could no longer tune it manually. Then the telescoping antenna broke at the base (plastic radio frame) then the 6 volt power adaptor failed (generated hash) At this point all you could do was enter the frequency from the keyboard. Since the keyboard, (if you could call it such), was a goofy Chinese design, and the volume control was operated by push button (and counter intuitive techniques), my final opinion of this Chinese piece of ---- was that I wasted my money. Trying to use it was almost now impossible. DON`T BUY IT !!!!!
 
5B8BA Rating: 5/5 Mar 1, 2010 04:18 Send this review to a friend
great value  Time owned: more than 12 months
Owned for over a year now, asked on G-QRP for advice on broadcast receiver within price range - this was the one that was recommended by 75% of responders (and I could have bought 4 for my budget!).

Ordered over Ebay, arrived (China-Cyprus) within a week).

The 'strange' controls (e.g. push 'vol' button and use universal tune control to increase/decrease volume - or enter (e.g. 2 & 0, push vol button to set volume at 20) no big deal, I was aware before I bought so wasn't looking for problems. Took a day or so to get used to them, now natural.

Pros. PRICE. superb tone for such a small radio. Built-in battery charger.

Cons. None.
 
OE3SGU Rating: 5/5 Feb 22, 2010 22:49 Send this review to a friend
amazing for the price  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
It simply amazes me how it is possible to produce a good receiver like this for such a small price (I paid 65 Euro, including delivery from Hong Kong AND a Degen 31 active antenna). The radio comes complete with a wire antenna, a good english written manual, earphones, a carrying pouch, a charger and 4 rechargeable batteries (1300 mah, charging time 13 hours). Sensitivity is very good and even SSB and CW tuning is easy (easer than on the Tecsun PL-600 which is also an amazing radio but slightly larger). I was listening to CW stations during the ARRL contest this weekend, with the telescopic whip I had no problem to copy plenty of US stations - indoors. The only shortcomings I noticed is the weird volume control and the non standard layout of the keyboard, but one can get used to it. Other than that the radio offers almost the same performance and versatility than some much more expensive models I own. Due to the light weight and compactness the Degen always travels with me in my backpack now.
 
W1GFH Rating: 5/5 Jan 11, 2010 18:48 Send this review to a friend
HOT  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The real pleasure of the Degen 1103 is its amazing sensitivity using just the 3 foot whip antenna. I've had Sony portables (with much longer antennas) that didn't do this good. And getting that kind of performance with a 36" telescopic whip is a real "wow" moment.
 
G7AQK Rating: 5/5 Jan 8, 2010 09:27 Send this review to a friend
Great performance and very portable.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I really like this little radio. And have found a new way to enjoy my hobby without even getting out of bed. The radio is very sensitive and can pick up ham stations even when operating on just the telescopic whip, so I can often be found enjoying a lie-in whilst trawling the bands with my DE1103.

My only complaint is the audio quality when listening to music stations on MW. The audio quality could be better but is probably limited by the tight filtering of the radio. FM music stations sound great especially through the headphones.
 
N7JBH Rating: 4/5 Dec 9, 2009 08:34 Send this review to a friend
Great value  Time owned: more than 12 months
For the price, you can't beat this radio. I used it together with a Vectronics 1 watt QRP CW transmitter on 40 meters. Made contacts all over the western United States using a random length end fed long wire at work. The volume control and additional "analog" tuning indicator are my only complaints. I have a Tecsun PL600 on it's way in the mail. The Tecsun has a dedicated volume control, BFO and is a little bigger. I'll write a review on it after putting it through the paces. I just wish somebody made a 160-10M QRP CW transmitter with digital frequency readout. It would make the perfect "on the go" station coupled with the Degen 1103 or Tecsun PL-600
Cheers and 73
 
31DELTA90 Rating: 1/5 Nov 15, 2009 10:19 Send this review to a friend
Chinese Junk  Time owned: more than 12 months
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. WORKED GREAT WHEN I FIRST GOT IT, THEN SUDDENLY NO AM BROADCAST RECEPTION. VERY LOW RECEPTION ON 80M SSB. MY GRUNDIG $10 RADIO DOES BETTER. REMEMBER PEOPLE IT'S CHINESE MADE GARBAGE. BUY A GRUNDIG OR A SONY.
 
<— Page 2 of 8 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.