eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: General Coverage | ICOM IC-PCR1000 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-PCR1000
ICOM IC-PCR1000 Reviews: 11 Average rating: 3.9/5 MSRP: $199.95
Description: PC software-controlled receiver.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.icomamerica.com/receivers/pc/#IC-PCR1000
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-PCR1000.

Page 1 of 2 —>

BEAM Rating: 5/5 May 22, 2005 14:50 Send this review to a friend
Un ricevitore affascinante!  Time owned: more than 12 months
La ICOM PCR 1000 è un ricevitore molto particolare che ha cambiato in maniera irreversibile il mio modo di vivere la passione per l'ascolto radio.

Nel corso degli anni ne ho comprate due su Ebay a circa 250-300€ e, se vi capita, vi consiglio vivamente di aggiungerne una al vostro parco radio.

Il primo consiglio che vi do è quello di non installare il software di gestione ICOM, utilizzando invece TalkPCR (http://www.mahy.demon.co.uk/talkpcr/talkpcr.htm), anche per quanto riguarda l'antenna non prendete neanche in considerazione l'uso della piccola antennina telescopica in dotazione, La PCR 1000 funziona benissimo su tutto lo spettro, utilizzando un'unica antenna esterna tipo Discone 25-1300Mhz, in questo modo avrete una buona sensibilità anche in onde corte, evitando l'overload cui è soggetta utilizzando un dipolo filare oppure una random wire. Ovviamente l'altoparlante esterno oppure l'uso delle casse del computer è d'obbligo.

La bassa velocità di scansione e di ricerca è il suo punto debole, ma, a mio avviso, questo piccolo neo viene ampiamente compensato dal fatto che il numero di frequenze che è possibile archiviare sul PC è infinito, che la riorganizzazione dei banchi di memoria, e delle frequenze all'interno di essi, avviene con pochi click del mouse e, anche il fatto di poter descrivere ogni memoria con una stringa alfanumerica lunga quanto si vuole, è di una comodità mai vista su nessun'altra radio.

Un'altra caratteristica a cui, una volta fatta l'abitudine sarà impossibile rinunciare, è la sensazione unica di andare a "pescare" il segnale radio direttamente dalla finestra del bandscope con il mouse! Questo, unito alla piacevolezza di fare un lento scan della gamma ruotando comodamente la rotellina del mouse, sono le cose che rendono questa radio unica.

TalkPCR ha tante funzioni interessanti delle quali ci si può avvalere, come la possibilità di registrare l'audio direttamente sull'Hard Disk come file Wave o Mp3, la decodifica automatica dei codici DTMF, un ottimo modulo per la ricerca automatica che, anche in nostra assenza, può fare un reiterato scan della gamma impostata memorizzando l'elenco delle frequenze attive.

La radio mi sembra ottimamente schermata, ma, per evitare interferenze dovute alla frequenza di clock del computer (e delle varie schede al suo interno), o alle spurie prodotte dal monitor, è necessario tenere la radio ragionevolmente lontano dal computer/monitor e, se possibile, alimentarla da una batteria al piombo 12V, evitando di usare il suo alimentatore.
Questo tipo di disturbi dipendomo molto dal computer con il quale ci si trova a lavorare e dalla gamma radio che si ascolta, al di sopra dei 30Mhz, i problemi di interferenza scompaiono del tutto ed anche in SW ho notato che è soprattutto la zona intorno ai 4-5Mhz ad essere a volte affetta da interferenze.

In conclusione, anche se la PCR 1000 può apparire "goffa" paragonata ad un tradizionale scanner, è in realtà un ottimo ricevitore, adeguato anche per la ricezione delle onde corte, che associa i propri pregi alle enormi possibilità offerte dalla sua completa integrazione con il computer.
 
G1JFK Rating: 5/5 Jul 24, 2003 05:20 Send this review to a friend
A very good overall RX  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned the PCR1000 for nearly 2.5 years now and have been quite impressed with its performance. The box itself looks to have been designed with some sort of military application in mind. I think this may be borne out by Icom's stupidity to release the command set to would be programmers. I believe this box to be able to do much much more than is currently on offer through the software on the web.
I have to agree with a number of the reviews already written about the PCR1000, the original (v1.3/v1.31) software is garbage. However a newer version of the software was released recently to allow people with more modern MS operating systems a chance to play. TalkPCR I have to say is the much better version of software that is in almost daily use here at home. Although it may not be a specialised as one or two of the competitors, it is cheap and flexible enough to give a good overall performance.
The receiver itself does suffer from the temperature problem described in other reviews, however you could remove this problem by drilling a few holes in the case and fitting a micro fan to disipate the heat out from the box. Also the RF interference people comment on from their PC equipment may be reduced / removed by the use of ferrite beads/snaps on power, speaker and serial cables then remoting the box off out of the way. I have done this and reduced PC borne interference by as much as 90%. The same problems have been seen in other more costly RX's/TRX's and therefore I believe it unfair to mark down the PCR for this reason.
The DSP card is so simple to install a child of 3 could do it with ease. The functionality of the DSP card is excellent reducing noise and pulling those really hard to hear signals out of the noise. If you are going to use the PCR for HF recention then I can recommend that the card is a must buy.
Put simply the PCR1000 is an excellent all round receiver that offers more features than the rest for less, and given good programming skills I believe that there may be many more features available yet!
 
N3FWE Rating: 4/5 Jun 3, 2003 12:38 Send this review to a friend
Review has 3 ratings  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Last fall I picked up a PCR-1000 blackbox receiver. I wanted a computer controlled unit for VHF/UHF that would also give me HF. Something I could take with me if need to be.

The receiver performed better on VHF/UHF then a lot of my scanners. On HF it was hard to judge.
The broadcast stations seem to come in ok but for utility listening it didn't perform as well as my Drake R8B HF receiver but that isn't a fair comparsion since they are in a different class.

I did have some computer noise problems at first but a lot of them went way after I put a choke on the external speaker leadn-in and moved a different antenna that was farther away from the computer.

My biggest disappointment at first was the choice of software. They them seem to be a poor choice for scanning. I tried them all. They seemed to be aimed at HF listening.


When Probe1K was made available for the PCR-1000 I jumped on it. The software has some great advanced scanning features like "TacScan", "Hyperbanks", "Smartbanks", searching, great frequency management and logging features. It can scan faster and lock onto tones faster then any other PCR-1000 software out there. I set up a search and had it scan the VHF/UHF repeater range and had a log by the end of the day of the local repeater activity with hit counts and signal strength. I'm thinking of taking it to the next hamfest and seem how many different simplex frequencies it will log. This setup combo would be a great monitoring tool for emergencies and drills.

More information on Probe1K can be found at http://www.probe1k.com

I haven't found anything I been happy with for HF work but TalKPCR seems to be the best bet
right now.

More information on TalkPCR is at http://www.mahy.demon.co.uk/talkpcr/talkpcr.htm


It was hard to rate this type of radio. The radio can't be judge on just the radio since you need software to control it. I was going to rate this radio a two for VHF/UHF scanning use but that has changed. It goes to show that software can change a rating and functionality of a radio.


PCR-1000 and Probe1K software for VHF/UHF scanning use. 5 stars

PCR-1000 and available 3rd party HF software use. 3 stars

PCR-1000 with supplied software. 2 stars



 
W0TOD Rating: 5/5 Feb 21, 2003 03:33 Send this review to a friend
Great Rig for what it is!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have the dsp module installed, a Radio Shack Discone antenna about 25' in the air and I can listen to anything I want (short wave, music, news, utilities, ham radio). It can't begin to compare to a quality dedicated rcvr, but it does what it was designed to do and does it well.
 
KB7SQT Rating: 5/5 Feb 21, 2003 00:46 Send this review to a friend
I love this little box!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have had this receiver for two nights. I'm using a Diamond Discone and I've got all kinds of great listening. I'm not sure why the other reviewers I've read are so displeased. I think Icom has done a fine job. Great filters in AM, SSB and FM and WFM of course works fine. Loads of features even in the cheap software. Click, click I seperate out what sounds interesting. Great! The PCR1000 has loads of devoted fans, except here. I'm glad I went with my gut.
 
DT593 Rating: 2/5 Nov 23, 2002 02:19 Send this review to a friend
A n Intersting "Curiosity" For A Week Or Two  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Have had mine for a few months. Won $500 in the lottery and wanted a new radio to play with...couldnt buy anything really "Good" with $500 so ended up with a PCR1000.
The HF Reception is on the poor side. I have a Kenwood 940S sitting a few feet away and put an antenna switch box where I could connect various antenna back and forth between the 940 and the Pcr1000.
The 940 isnt exactly the greatest thing in the world for ALL band listening but it is better than fair. the 940 beat the PCR1000 on ALL Frequencies. I couldnt hear even 1 Global Beacon with the PCR1000 when the 940 heard 80% of them on most freqs. I rechecked connections and jumpers and all tested OK. My Radio Shack DX-394 has better sensitivity.
This radio is SUPER suseptable to noise from computer monitors, other radios, Quasars in Galaxy X, etc etc. Grounding does nothing to help QRN.
On VHF and UHF it seems "OK". When I attach a diamond dual band VHF/UHF antenna it overloads so bad that NOTHING can be heard. I use a discone but this defeats the purpose of having "Good" antennas up on the roof and limits the receive capabilities to that of a discone.
Having only one antenna connection for such a wideband radio is no less than a sin. Diplexers and such are needed if one does not like continuously changing antennas.
I use TalkPCR, RadioCom, Icom and PCR1k for software.. when installing various other software I found on the net I disrupted my eprom on about 5 occasions. I didnt do anything out of the ordinary to cause eprom erasure or modification...the radio is just REAL touchy. If you buy one dont even think of running it until you back up your eprom. Each radio has it's own eprom addresses so dont try using a backup from another PCR1000..it may or most likely will not work with your specific receiver.
The software available is "Fair" at best..Each different program has a few neat little options which will keep you interested for a day or two...after that the radio will just tie up memory on your computer and will do nothing of any great importance worth the tying up your computer.
Bottom line is ...its a neat $350 "toy" that will keep anyone with an IQ of 75 or more amused for a week or two...after that sell it an put the money toward a radio with REAL knobs and buttons...

Roger "Bear" Yurek
Western NY
 
WB6MYL Rating: 4/5 Jul 18, 2002 07:55 Send this review to a friend
A Fun Product  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a fun product, but it is unique and is going to have some idiosyncracies that are better and some that are worse than other receivers/scanners. This rcvr is not meant to compete with an R-9000; it is unique in its own right and priced accordingly.

On the plus side:
1. The visualization of the radio and its
features on the monitor is a pleasure to
use.
2. I found the rcvr adequate in sensitivity
on HF; you are not going to chase DX with
this thing but 40M listening was good.
3. Audio is good but you must run the system
into a seperate powered speaker system.

On the negative:

1. Noise and QRN is definitely higher than
other receivers/scanners.
2. Will not receive SSB if the band scope is
being used.
3. Lack of RF control (results in overload)

ICOM probably should not have included an antenna at all with the system; it really needs an external if not outdoor antenna. Overall, having this radio and its flexibility on your computer screen is unique and using an outboard powered speaker will provide many hours of listening pleasure. Performance is better on VHF/UHF than HF; if you are considering a PCR-100, add a few more dollars as the VHF/UHF and a BFO is well worth the extra money in getting the PCR-1000.
Thank you for reading. Phillip W. Harris, PhD.P.C.
 
W9LBB Rating: 4/5 Jul 18, 2002 01:30 Send this review to a friend
When it's good....  Time owned: more than 12 months
...it's VERY, VERY good. But when it's bad, it's horrid.

I find that this one's a specialist rig, showing it's finest qualities in some jobs, and giving you the Fickle Finger in others!

I got hold of an Icom PCR-100, and after playing with it for a couple of months I decided I just had to have the PCR-1000; HF without a BFO and a product detector just ain't any fun at all!

I heartily echo the comments of a previous reviewer about the antenna Icom includes in the package... it's a bad joke. I get the impression it was something that Icom had lying around the warehouse that they wanted to get rid of!

On the other hand, if you connect a REAL antenna to this critter, batten down the hatches! Something that provides a REAL signal to this rig, like an 80 metre dipole, is going to send the front end into absolute conniption fits on HF... you've got instant intermod up the wazoo! Thank Gawd for the internal attenuator... but to my way of thinking, if you've designed the front end RIGHT to begin with, you shouldn't even NEED an attenuator to cope with overloading! I can only excuse this faux pas because the radio covers such a wide frequency range that compromises had to be made.

On LF and the AM broadcast band performance is competent, but nothing to rave about.

On VHF / UHF, it's a pretty fair scanner; its performance gives my trusty old Rat Shack PRO-2004 a good run for it's money. Besides that, being computer controlled with essentially unlimited channels, it's a quite useful tool for serious scanning nuts. The bandscope function in the software is very useful here too.

One place where I found the PCR-1000 to be a standout performer is in chasing weather satellites. This is one of a VERY few general purpose radios on the market that has an IF bandwidth that's suitable for weatherbird FAX downlinking.

Someone should have a SERIOUS talk with Icom about thier software... IT SUCKS!!!

For one thing... you're pretty much limited to compatability with WINDOWS 3.1 and Windows 95. That comes as a VERY nasty surprise when you'd planned on trying to hook the rig to a machine that's running WINDOWS NT!

Running the stock software under Windows 95 I've had a few problems with it. There is a form of lockup that occasionally happens in which the computer serial port apparently stops talking to the radio, and it sits there mute. The computer itself is still completely operational, and it can be easily steered into a controlled shutdown.

The only cure for this one is to shut things down and start over again.

There are a number of aftermarket programs out there which do a MUCH better job than the stock Icom software; I run the copy of SCANCAT GOLD that I bought for use with another rig, and a lot of users are happy with the shareware PCTALK program.

Make no mistake about it... this little black box radio runs HOT!!! A whole lot hotter than I'd expected it to. Overall tho it doesn't seem to be too much of a problem.

I recently added the DSP module to the rig, but haven't yet had much opportunity to play with it. All I can tell you at this point is that despite what Icom's web site says, installation isn't difficult. IMHO, if you have to take the radio to an Icom shop to have it put in, you might as well turn in your ham license!!!

Despite the shortcomings tho, I rather like the PCR-1000. PC based receivers are a new area for amateur and SWL use, and I imagine the problems with this first generation gear will eventually be resolved.

73's,

Tom, W9LBB

 
XX73X Rating: 4/5 Dec 20, 2001 09:21 Send this review to a friend
Best for the buck.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had very good luck with mine, using it aboard ship in the mid pacific 0 & 180 , I
could hear KNX a strong L.A. broadcast station ,right next to a New Zealand am station.
The antenna is a 90ft sloper / vertical . .3mhz - 1.3 gig covers most anything worth
listening to .With only a few things to bitch about.
1 The icons/ mouse pointer targets are too small & ergonomically stupid, instead of a
vol./ freq. set up on the keyboard with up & down - left & right arrows NO, they have
Freq. on L& R mouse buttons FINE, but as you scan into a strong signal ,you get blasted
till you hit vol. or mute ,with the pointer, you will miss having a real knob to tune.
2 Make sure you have an open 232 port , best is a USB mouse on lap top,
3 the sensitivity is good but not great, the 706 icom on the boat receives so much better,
then again the pcr1000 is far and away better ,than my Sony ICF-2010 .
4 the speaker is too small ,better use headphones, but then you end up with an octopus of
power sup-232-headphone -antenna -wires & cables , the radio is best left siliconed to a desk or wall.

The plus’s are many small light it all fits in a half a shoe box, the band scope is super for
muted scanning for stronger / none SSB stations ( needs to be bigger than it is 200khz) the
direct entree of a freq. off the keyboard is excellent ,
For the bucks its hard to beat , under 400 , you would be better off with a frg-100 yaesu
table top for 600 bones ,but bigger in size and price.I have had it 4 plus years. NON ham
 
W2DTC Rating: 3/5 Nov 29, 2000 03:18 Send this review to a friend
Useful as a test instrument  Time owned: more than 12 months
It works fine as a test instrument for tuning up receivers. The oscillator is quite accurate and you can set your signal generator quickly to the desired frequency by zero beating in the LSB position. It's great for checking IF's in receivers and oscillators in UHF equipment etc... If your need is for short wave listening, I would not recommend it as it easily gets overloaded on strong signals and there is virtually no way to reject unwanted signals.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.