eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | SWR & Wattmeters & Dummy Loads | Palstar DL1500 1500 watt Dummy Load Help


Reviews Summary for Palstar DL1500 1500 watt Dummy Load
Palstar DL1500 1500 watt Dummy Load Reviews: 11 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $79.95
Description: The DL1500 was born out of the need for a dummy load that enables short term off air testing up to 1500 watts for frequencies up to 500 MHz.

Specifications:
Hyperbolic tuning cone
Impedance: 54 Ohms +/- 5%
Frequency range 1500 Watts up to 500 Mhz
Dimensions: 2.75" H x 3.5" W x 8" D
Weight: 1.5 lbs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://palstar.com/dl1500.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Palstar DL1500 1500 watt Dummy Load.

Page 1 of 2 —>

W8GTX Rating: 5/5 Aug 7, 2012 23:52 Send this review to a friend
Excellent!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Not much to say other than it works excellent. Been using it for my AL-80B for quite some time.
 
N4FBW Rating: 5/5 Jan 19, 2012 20:30 Send this review to a friend
High Quality  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I picked up a DL-1500 used as I was looking for a high-quality dummy load and this one came highly recommended (new price is $129.95). The DL-1500 is well built and includes holes in the mounting flange so that it can be permanently mounted. SWR is flat from 160-6 meters.
The unit barely got warm when I did some testing on my 100watt rig.

Only one nitpick: The nice aluminum box does have some sharp corners that should have been 'broken' during manufacture. I took care of the corners with a large file.

All in all, the DL-1500 is a solid product and worthy addition to my ham shack.

 
K1YPB Rating: 5/5 Dec 30, 2010 17:08 Send this review to a friend
Rock Solid Dummy Load  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Like all Palstar products, this is a well built piece of equipment. High quality through out. It works as specified. I tune my SB-221 into this load. Plenty of air circulation keeps the load well ventilated. You might find cheaper loads out there, but Palstar quality is worth it.
 
KK5JY Rating: 5/5 Nov 15, 2010 21:51 Send this review to a friend
Solid.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Nice solid design. Plenty of air gap between the resistive element and the casing. Like all loads, it will get warm under QRO, but the case seems specifically designed to dissipate the heat without the case becoming uncomfortable.

Mine shows an SWR of 1.2:1 when cold on all bands I have tried. When it starts to warm up, it gets much closer to 1.0:1. That's very acceptable for attachment to any solid state amplifier.

Simple, does what it should, nice test gear. The price is a bit higher than when this review thread was created. Picked up new in the $120 range.
 
M0MRR Rating: 5/5 Nov 16, 2008 11:55 Send this review to a friend
Very good  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is probably one of my most used pieces of test equipment. I use it every time I power up the Acom amp to ensure the amp is tuned for full load before I back off the power. I also use it when doing tests between radios by transmitting into the dummy load. It was inexpensive to buy and has performed flawlessly. Thoroughly recommended.
 
W9JH Rating: 5/5 Nov 12, 2008 19:09 Send this review to a friend
Get one you will be glad!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is the best dummy load I have owned and does what is supposed to do. Top quality components and construction. Get one of these and you will keep it for life!

Jack W9JH
 
EB5ESX Rating: 5/5 Aug 5, 2007 04:15 Send this review to a friend
It is Palstar  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Excelent...it is a Palstar product.
Does its job without any problem.
 
KW4N Rating: 5/5 Aug 28, 2006 06:03 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Product  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bought mine new off e-bay for $71. Clean punched holes at each corner for mounting screws. I prefer the mounting arrangement of the connector because its a cost effective method; it does not come loose unless you screw your coax on and off with vice grips :-) Electrically it meets or exceeds spec.
73, Dave
 
KR3DX Rating: 5/5 Dec 29, 2005 23:34 Send this review to a friend
Nicely Built  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This dummy load does what it's supposed to do. Mine shows a 1:1 SWR from 160 Meters through 10 Meters when it's connected directly to my transceiver with a short piece of coax. The documentation includes a graph that shows the power dissipation rating versus time, and my DL1500 got reasonably warm when I applied RF at the power and duration that was specified. This device does not have the nice powder coated cabinet (let's face it, this isn't something that you show to your friends) that other Palstar products have, but normally a dummy load is placed out of sight, so appearance isn't a factor. There are some rough burrs left over from when the enclosure was stamped from the aluminium (aluminum) blank, but a fine file will take care of them without spoiling the finish. The only nit that I can pick is the coaxial jack, it's the kind that can work loose and spin in its mounting hole when you attach or disconnect a cable, I would prefer the kind with a small mounting hole at each corner, that type doesn't work loose with use. Overall, this is a well made product utilizing quality parts(except for that connector), and it does as advertised.

73,
Denny
 
KB5PQL Rating: 5/5 May 15, 2005 13:29 Send this review to a friend
Excellent product  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
It does what it's supposed to do very well. Just watch out for the sharp corners..they will cut you!
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.