eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Vertical, Wire, Loop | DK1RP DX-Wire Windom Help


Reviews Summary for DK1RP DX-Wire Windom
DK1RP DX-Wire Windom Reviews: 5 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $ 55.00 (abt US$ 70)
Description: 6-Band Windom, 42m long, for 80/40/20/17/12/10m, 100Watt, 20m RG174 with connector, 30m support line (Dynnema) 1.5mm diameter
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.dx-wire.de/brit/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the DK1RP DX-Wire Windom.

DJ5QV Rating: 5/5 Oct 26, 2012 06:28 Send this review to a friend
Great Multiband Antenna  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I've got the 750W version from DX-Wire. It comes with a 1:4 balun with 2 toroidal cores. Length is 42m. Until now I used it with 100W only. First surprise it really works on all advertised bands without tuner. Ok 100m coax may contribute to the good match quite a bit. Exception is 12m where I need the rig tuner to produce full output. The height is currently about 9m. Wires pointing north/south.

15m + 30m is not officially supported but I got it initially working with the rig ATU. With some modifications it also works without tuner. But see below.

80m: With only 9m height this is obviously a sky burner. So within Europe this works well. Though I also got middle east in pileup conditions with 100W.

40m: Still high radiation angle but DX is possible. A lot better than my vertical for Europe and comes very close to it for DX.

20m: This was actually the biggest surprise. Good performance for Europe but also for DX in certain directions (especially Asia and Oceania). Reversebeacon and WSPR experiments indicate that this thing comes close to a 2el beam in the preferred directions.

17m: Works but no comparisons done yet.

12m: Tuner needed. Main lobes go north/sourh which is not optimal for central Europe. Made some nice ZS contacts here.

10m: Radiation similar to 12m. Usually I prefer my J-Pole here.

Modifications:

Since I was looking to catch as many bands as possible with this antenna I really wanted to get a decent match on 30m and 15m as well. There are concepts to add a 2nd windom feeded in parallel. However this can lead to problems since typically one element of the 2nd windom would also be close to quarter wave resonance on 40m. However I came across an article on DB0HST site about adding an open sleeve element to a Windom. To make it short I've added a wire (length about 14m) in parallel to the windom. Spacing is 10cm and the wire is located below the main antenna. It's important to to keep that spacing as constant as possible. There is now electrical connection between the main antenna and that wire. This works perfectly and gives me 2 more bands without tuner.

On 30m (great band) I typically get 1-2 S units more than on 40m from North America. So it was worth the effort.

There is another modification by adding a 240uH coil to the long wire followed by only 5m of additional wire. This would make it work on 160m as well. Haven't tried that yet.

Overall a great antenna. However it's broadband capabilities will be a challenge for many receivers. For the shorter bands it has a high directivity which has pros and cons.

73s, Matthias DJ5QV
 
DF2AR Rating: 5/5 Aug 2, 2010 00:19 Send this review to a friend
Great Antenna  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have the 100 watt version for 40, 30 and 20 (abt 21 m long) in use for abt. 3 weeks and I'm very satisfied with it!!

The ant. is almost invisible, easy to mount and it had a SWR of 1:1 immediately after installation on 40 and 20 meter. No problem to work on 30 Meter with a an antenna tuner.

In unmounted situation, the wire rolls easily up itself (due to characteristics of the wire - only the 100 W-Version), so from my point of view this antenna is very not applicable for often assembling and disassembling (mobile operations)

73 de JUL
 
VU3MES Rating: 5/5 May 15, 2010 05:15 Send this review to a friend
Great Value for Money Antenna  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
hello

I purchased one of these antennas from Peter two weeks back and have found that this is a very effective antenna which is also very stealthy too. I have it erected about 40 feet height in inverted vee style and could make many contacts with stations in the subcontinent with very good reports. But the greatest fun was making the first contact with a new German antenna with a German station,OM Suad, DK6XZ, Stuttgart was calling cq in 20 mtrs when I had just erected the antenna and was testing, we exchanged 58 reports both ways in poor band conditions. so that is it, a good stealth antenna that I can recommend to any hams who cant put up a huge antenna system.

73 vu3mes satyan
 
WS4T Rating: 5/5 Jul 31, 2009 02:24 Send this review to a friend
just what I needed  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'm visiting Europe for the summer and brought my Yaesu FT-817 but no antenna. I wanted a simple wire antenna that would let me get on a few bands quickly and easily. I wanted to avoid anything needing an antenna tuner like a G5RZ or W3DZZ.

I bought a 3-Band Windom from Peter Bogner (DK1RP) and I have to say I am very pleased with it.

The antenna is very lightweight and appears to be solidly built. I put it up in the apple tree in the backyard, not more than 20 feet high, and have made 40+ CW contacts in only a couple of weeks. I've had QSOs from as far away as Soviet Asia although band conditions have been fairly miserable in July 2009. It's great to be on the air from Eastern Europe and I'm looking forward to getting the antenna a little higher to see how it performs then.

My rig seems happy with the antenna on 40 m, 20 m and 10 m and I've had QSOs on all those bands. I'm not using any sort of antenna tuner and it matches up fine.

DK1RP even includes 14 meters of coax with the antenna which I found convenient.

All-in-all, a winner for me.

Peter also offers a lot of components for building your own antennas and I've ordered some stuff to put together a few more antennas of my own.

WS4T, ES1WST
 
DL6XAZ Rating: 5/5 Aug 19, 2004 05:48 Send this review to a friend
excellent performance  Time owned: more than 12 months
With very limited space and living in some kind of row-house estate I got quite reduced possibilities to extend any wire antenna. This item, made of "dx-wire" enamelled black, is hanging from my attic as U-shape sloper (quite unusual and close to being "adventurous") into two trees at the end of the green patch in the backyard for over a year now. It is in use daily, has undergone heavy frost, thick snowfall, severe storms and near-miss lightning impacts - and it performs as on the first day with more than just satisfactory results, for qrp and qro. It is additionally tuned by MFJ-ATUs resp. Z100.
No neighbour has ever objected or complained about tvi/bci.
Taking it down and rigging up is done in 10 minutes although admittedly the rather stiff steel wire requires patience to wind it up without getting tangled.
Meantime I bought another one, packed in my outdoor equipment luggage, for being light-weight, unobtrusive and efficient.
I can fully recommend this item to every ham needing a stealth multi-band wire aerial of very good quality and fully satisfying performance.
Fred DL6XAZ
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.