eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antenna Tuners | Vectronics HFT 1500 Help


Reviews Summary for Vectronics HFT 1500
Vectronics HFT 1500 Reviews: 24 Average rating: 3.8/5 MSRP: $459.95
Description: Roller inductor Tuner with peak-pwr bargraph
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.vectronics.com/vectronics/index.php
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Vectronics HFT 1500.

Page 1 of 3 —>

W5GNB Rating: 3/5 May 10, 2016 19:22 Send this review to a friend
OK for QRP.....  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
The unit is Lightweight in construction and I would be afraid to put a true KILLOWATT of power into it. I have put 800 watts on it after carefully lowering the SWR with about a hundred watts prior to cranking up.
If you are looking for a TRUE Killowatt or Fifteen Hundred Watt tuner, you better continue shopping around, this one is a bit ~~ SCAREY ~~~


 
W5VK Rating: 5/5 Jun 20, 2013 18:12 Send this review to a friend
Works for me  Time owned: more than 12 months
I think my tuner must be an "old" one. Works great! Used with different amps up to 1000 watts. Used with different antennas. Never a problem. Guess I got a good one.
 
N1CKX Rating: 4/5 Aug 20, 2011 15:14 Send this review to a friend
SURPRISE - It works on 6 Meters  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Discovered that when we put up my stack of antennas, one of us evidently knocked the Gamma match out of alignment on the 6 meter beam and left me with a 1.5/1 SWR, not a lot, but my amp was not happy.

Only way to access it is it bring back the 90 foot man lift.

With delivery/pickup charges a day would cost me $1000.00

Had a Vectronics HFT-1500 tuner that I picked up at an estate sale practically new for $40.00.

Figured I would gut it and make a 6 meter tuner.

Put it on the bench to see how much I had to modify it, and to my surprise it actually tuned up to 6 meters.

I have no idea if it will tune a really complex impedance, but I only needed a little range for my beam.

Another Surprise, the Peak Reading Bar Graph meter seemed like a Gimmick, but actually comes in handy when tuning the amp.

Even the SWR bridge seems to work acceptably on 6.

The roller inductor tunes cleanly/smoothly and the 6:1 capacitor drives allow fine tuning.

I havenít used it on HF so I canít comment on all the horror stories of arcing on 80 meters.
 
SM3LGO Rating: 4/5 Feb 18, 2011 05:54 Send this review to a friend
OK+ tuner  Time owned: more than 12 months
Works OK+ for me for 10+ years. I do have reasonably low SWR already from my bare antennas so have seldom needed "stressed" it, except on 80. There, I have had tendency for arcing at about 500W, but nothing significant / no damage done. Like many others have reported the mechanics is not exactly "overdesigned", and the roller inductor coupling has lost its contact on occasion. If the rating scale had been finer, I'd give it a "3.75".
 
KK8ZZ Rating: 5/5 Nov 9, 2009 18:35 Send this review to a friend
FINE HIGH POWER TUNER!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Maybe mine is pre-MFJ, but it tunes smoothly and accurately, easy top reset for the best settings for the Ameritron AL-811 amp. I replaced the old incandescent lamp with the new MFJ LED replacement ($6 shipped) and it really looks great with the other gear. I guess the simple review would be -- matches the Zero-Five 43 foot vertical quickly and easily on all bands, even 160, which is darned hard to match with most tuners, automatic or manual ! Love this tuner!!
 
KL7IVK Rating: 5/5 Sep 21, 2009 19:12 Send this review to a friend
Great piece of equipment  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my Vectronics HFT-1500 back in the 1990's when the company that made it was still in Canada before selling it out to More Flipping Junk (MFJ) I am not sure how the unit MFJ cranks out works but I swear by the one I have. It is a beautiful tuner and worth having. I would lkike to think that MFJ did not cheapen it up in anyway but who knows.
 
KW4N Rating: 5/5 Jul 3, 2009 11:57 Send this review to a friend
You don't need a "tank."  Time owned: more than 12 months
Silky smooth adjustments. Highly repeatable settings. Can tune my Zepp, G5RV, loops, end fed, vertical, etc. Power meter matches my Bird 43. Workmanship excellent: all screws tight, clean shiny solder joints, solid cabinet. High quality L and C's. The roller needs cleaning (I use Deoxit) maybe once or twice a year or it will jump settings; they all do it.
"It's vain to do with more that can be done with less"
 
N7ZM Rating: 2/5 Apr 3, 2009 12:41 Send this review to a friend
OK but not the best  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The Vectronics is slightly better than ok, but after all it's made by MFJ now. Had one for a few weeks then got rid of it when I heard arcing. I now have a Palstar AT1500DT tuner with quality parts and workmanship and it'll take all my Alpha can give it without arcing or any other grunts.
 
KA6OTJ Rating: 5/5 Apr 3, 2009 11:47 Send this review to a friend
has worked great for me over the years  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned this tuner for over 5 years and it has done very well for me. It has never arked or given me any problems. It tunes my doublet and Marconi antennas from 10 to 160 using about 600 watts. The tuning caps are smooth. The roller inductor is fine. The antenna selector switch allows for great flexibity. Is it in the same class as a Pal Star or my Dentron MT300A? I can't say. I will say it does everything my Dentron did and if you find one of these used like I did and can get it for a good price it is worth a shot.
 
KE7FFM Rating: 1/5 Apr 2, 2009 20:17 Send this review to a friend
shoddy  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
doesn't even compare to my palstar 1500 at the same price. flimsy, coarse jerky controls. light weight. tuning is very rough, spotty, like lots of poor contacts. put a couple of lights on it and anyone will buy it i guess. those who like this tuner must have only used mfj's and other budget types. if you have used a good nye or palstar, you'll hate this one.
 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.