eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Amplifiers: RF Power - HF & HF+6M | ACOM 1010 Help


Reviews Summary for ACOM 1010
ACOM 1010 Reviews: 62 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $2340 USD
Description: KW 160 - 10 m PA, 700 W PEP

Jan 2007 Note - Vine Antennas, UK agents for ACOM, have advised that their ACOM 1010 amplifiers now have a fan- noise reduction modification that reduces fan noise considerably whilst maintaing sufficient cooling of the amplifier tube

Product is in production.
More info: http://www.acom-bg.com/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ACOM 1010.

Page 1 of 7 —>

MI0MSB Rating: 4/5 Jun 26, 2016 14:33 Send this review to a friend
Cost  Time owned: months
Nice amp 700 watts out and the only disappointment is that it has went from 1200 to 1600 in Less than a year from mid 2015 to now mid 2016 WHAT A RIP OFF the cost of parts or shipping has not increased 30%
 
W1BG Rating: 5/5 Mar 9, 2016 18:00 Send this review to a friend
Cooling Issue Resolved  Time owned: more than 12 months
The cooling issue others have reported can be easily solved my jumpering-out resistor R35A (33 ohms) not R35 (22 ohms) as reported elsewhere. R35A is not shown in the schematic but it physically sits alongside the blue 22 ohm 3-watt R35. The correct resistor to jumper is the 33 ohm R35A (1 watt). This has been written-up on the Acom Yahoo user group forum and full information, including a high-res picture is available there in the files section. The Acom 1010 is a truly great amplifier and beautiful addition to the shack. Love mine!
 
KA8DSS Rating: 5/5 Feb 13, 2016 12:51 Send this review to a friend
great amplifier  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Using the amp for five weeks now. Beautiful fit and finish and tuning is a snap. Pleased to have this in my station.
 
K2QB Rating: 5/5 Nov 23, 2015 12:22 Send this review to a friend
Best AMp for the Buck  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
My Acom 1010 arrived a on a Wednesday. Replaced a 30 year old Kenwood TL-922A. First thoughts out of the box were WOW! Looks ten times better than any pics I have seen on line. More like a high end piece of stereo equipment with the brushed black finish and hidden LCD's. Tested it briefly that night using my FT2K to my Optibeam OB9-5. Thirty to forty watts of drive produced 700w+ across all bands. Swithed to the R7 vertical and pretty much the same results. Able to switch bands and re-tune the amp within 10 seconds. Very easy and slick tuning method. Also looking at the FT2K SWR meter, it never budged off of zero. The input matching circuit on the Acom is excellent. With the 922 I would sometimes see a slight SWR on the FT2K, 1.2 to 1.6 or so depending on the band. Ran it this past weekend at 400w out for the ARRL SSB SS contest and it performed flawlessly. The one time I forgot to switch the band on the amp when I did change bands, the protection circuits kicked in and shut the amp down before any damage was done. Waited ten seconds for the amp to reset and I was back on the air. In between SSB contacts I managed to work the VK9WA on RTTY and even on the RTTY setting the amp put out 500w. I thought a lot about which amp I wanted to replace the TL-922 with, and even though the 1010 is not legal limit, I couldn't justify the extra expense to go from 700W+ to a KW+. If I can't work it with 700 the extra couple of hundred watts isn't going to make the difference. I also looked at solid state amps, but the qualtiy of this amp and the forgiveness of a tube versus transistors made sense to me. I wouldn't hesitate to make the same decision. Although as others have stated, it may seem a bit pricey for a 700W amp, but once you get your hands on this amp you will not regret it one bit.
 
M0HDX Rating: 5/5 Oct 23, 2015 21:16 Send this review to a friend
Nice Amplifer...Cooling issue  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The Acom 1010 is a very nice medium power amplifier and nice design,It will easily put out 700 watts and uses a single 4CX800 ceramic tube which are still cheap to replace,My only issue is the cooling and Acom use a 22-ohm, 3-watt resistor (schematic symbol R-35) in series with the Acom 1010's fan lead which gives a 3.8v drop across R-35 to slow the snail blower down and reduce the noise (Bad move)At a cost of substantial increase in heat from the ceramic tetrode.I removed R-35 and replaced it with a jumper lead for a substantial increase in the blower speed,Now the discharge air temperature is down and the tube cools down much faster and runs much cooler.I agree with WB9FOP Blower noise was not really bad to start with before Acom used a 22 ohm 3 watt resistor.I know alot of people complained about blower noise on there Acom 1010,s but a nice quiet tetrode amp shifting very little air up through the tube comes at a price! Lots of heat and insufficient cooling.

jim M0HDX
 
ON5JPJ Rating: 5/5 Oct 23, 2015 01:48 Send this review to a friend
new owner of ACOM 1010  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Owned this amp in august 2015. Made the choice for acom because of the inside and outside aspect, but also afterreading some products reviews. After testing it at low power (round 200W) and increasing it slowly with the using time, i was ipresssed of the quality of the modulation and the result during the JOTI JOTA (scouts on the air) With 50 W Power 800W out Fantastic stuff
 
KE4EX Rating: 5/5 Sep 19, 2015 10:19 Send this review to a friend
# 4 # $ 4 $ Sweet...  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have used her on all bands
tuning is a snap.
drive with 25 to 35 watts 700 to 800 out.

gotta say, sweet...
 
W6GF Rating: 5/5 May 28, 2015 04:13 Send this review to a friend
Great Mid-Power AMP  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Maybe a little pricey, but very well constructed. It is the easiest tube amp I have ever used. Tuning is a snap. ACOM says 10 seconds, but if you use the dial presets, it can be done quicker.

Box to on the air was quick. Good manual...well written.

It costs twice as much as an Ameritron AL-811H, puts out no more power, but the extra cost can be justified with all the protection, ease of tuning and quality of construction

73
de
George, W6GF
 
WA3SEE Rating: 5/5 Apr 10, 2015 04:24 Send this review to a friend
Beautiful   Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Ordered from Array Solutions, they confirmed line voltage and fuses correct before shipping to me. Tuning and operation with the peak reading LED Power/SWR display is a snap! Nice to have choice of two antenna outputs. Quality construction, quiet, and excellent on-air reports.
 
WD1W Rating: 5/5 Mar 28, 2015 17:24 Send this review to a friend
WOW!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After two weeks ... WOW! What a fun piece of equipment to use. If you're running it on 120V (as I am), have them set the line voltage at the dealer (they'll put in the proper fuses, too). I didn't ... but, to an inexperienced solderer (or the faint of heart), the potential to permanently damage a circuit board is there. I would have thought the line voltage changing method would have been screw terminals ... not desoldering / soldering fixed jumpers. I'd suggest that Acom work on changing that system on future units. That said, 700 watts ... great signal reports ... easy to tune ... doesn't weigh a ton ... single tube ... great looks ... pretty LEDs ... normal household voltage / current ... what's not to like? This amp is a winner! Not cheap ... but worth the price. I'm expecting years of trouble free service from this amp.
 
Page 1 of 7 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.