eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Work Bench Tools & Test Equipment | Cold Heat Cordless Soldering Tool Help


Reviews Summary for Cold Heat Cordless Soldering Tool
Cold Heat Cordless Soldering Tool Reviews: 49 Average rating: 1.1/5 MSRP: $19.99
Description: Use this Cordless Soldering Tool for safer and quicker soldering virtually anywhere. By using patented Cold Heat™ technology, the tip, and only the tip, heats up instantly, saving you valuable time. And, as soon as you're finished applying the solder, the tip almost immediately cools off, helping to reduce the risk of burns. Catalog #: 64-2102
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.radioshack.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Cold Heat Cordless Soldering Tool.

<— Page 2 of 5 —>

KA8OCN Rating: 0/5 May 26, 2007 10:12 Send this review to a friend
Worthless Junk  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Yes I purchased one, I knew it was a bad Idea when I purchased it but like many others I thought 20$ take a chance.
I knew it would not be great but it does not work at all! You may be able to connect 2 speaker wires together but no way you are going to do a PL 259!

Spend a little money and buy a butane iron for when You need a portable iron and stick to the pluged in iron that will give you a good old fashion burn when you are not carefull!

73's Del
 
KE4IOK Rating: 0/5 May 26, 2007 07:57 Send this review to a friend
POS  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
It was a nice thought but not a real tool. It simply does not work. I keep returning to my 40 year old, rebuilt several times Weller. Wish I had an old Wen.
 
N3GWG Rating: 0/5 May 26, 2007 07:32 Send this review to a friend
Yes, it is junk!  Time owned: months
Fellow Hams:

While this maybe junk in totality, can anyone recommend a Cold Heat soldering gun that works well?

Stuart
N3GWG
 
N0CODENOW Rating: 0/5 Apr 1, 2007 00:14 Send this review to a friend
Buy something else  Time owned: more than 12 months
Bought one of these at RS a couple years ago. Tried it twice, and it didn't work very well. A butane lighter works better than this junk.
 
W8ZNX Rating: 0/5 Mar 31, 2007 14:20 Send this review to a friend
junk  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
cold heat = cold solder joint
 
G8KHS Rating: 0/5 Nov 22, 2006 14:48 Send this review to a friend
Weller it isn't  Time owned: more than 12 months
Bought this cheap in a close-out sale.
Just Junk, I'll sell it at a fleamarket next year and get my money back.

Don't waste your spare change on this poor excuse for a cordless iron. Later, I bought a cloned version of the wahl isotip iron, no problems with this, works perfectly unlike the so called cold heat pos.

73, John G8KHS
 
KG6WLS Rating: 0/5 Nov 22, 2006 14:03 Send this review to a friend
Pure Snake Oil!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
A little voice inside my head said: "Go ahead and try it. It's only $20".

Don't be fooled by the BS hype. This thing is a worthless piece of junk. The tip easily breaks with little pressure, cold solder joints (I guess that's why they call it "Cold Heat"), and simply just a POS. I would've rather spent the money on a cheap pencil iron and a extention cord.

...and someone gave this a **5** rating???

C'mon, even Santa wouldn't have the %alls to put one of these in your Xmas stocking.

73
Mike
 
W8LV Rating: 3/5 Mar 21, 2006 10:57 Send this review to a friend
It's Solder-o-Matic!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Hey folks, it's the
Solder-o-matic ColdHeatin' Magician!

Doesn't generate heat...Hmmm... For a soldering Iron, that would about relegate it as a Christmas present to the "Island of Misfit Toys", wouldn't it? IF one of your kids gets you one for Christmas, Keep it in the toolbox for that ONE PL-259 outside on the camping trip, or mobile in a pinch, otherwise, forget it. And remember, all Manly Hams have SEVEN different soldering irons, (six of which you can't find at any given point in time). Manly Hams know nothing beats a temperature controlled, grounded tip bench type iron--this is the best and most Manly way to blister your fingers!
BUT--I have a 'portable' pencil soldering iron here that has a 12 volt connector, and while it takes forever to heat up, it...well...heats up. Only fuddy-duddy old manly hams will even remember these as they have not been around for awhile. After all, they worked!
Does anybody remember that really horrible portable RECHARGEABLE soldering iron that Radio Shock sold? Well, the Cold Heat Solder-o-matic is at least better than that..but not much!
 
N6MQD Rating: 4/5 Mar 21, 2006 09:35 Send this review to a friend
A better cordless iron  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I've used that POS and I agree with what everyone says. I was at a local Fry's store and saw a Hakko FX-901 there. Cost about the same so I figured I'd give a battery iron one more shot.

This gets hot and melts solder like a real soldering iron should. I've got a old Weller butane iron and it even beats that!

Give it a shot.
 
WF7A Rating: 0/5 Feb 16, 2006 07:54 Send this review to a friend
But wait--there's more!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I join the chorus of other discontented owners and the previous reviewer who eloquently said that this product is "POS". What good is a soldering iron that can't even burn your fingers? Where's the fun in that? I spent more time trying to get the fool thing to work correctly for a small soldering job than having a regular pencil iron heat up and do the job right the first time and without frustration.

You gotta laugh at the commercial for it, though, where the demonstrator can't solder a joint because his soldering iron's electrical cord is too short to reach the work from the wall socket. Hmmm...tough choice: spend $5 for an extension cord or $20 for a useless soldering iron. :S
 
<— Page 2 of 5 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.