eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | DC Power Supply Distribution Panels | West Mountain Radio PWRcrimp Powerpole crimp tool Help


Reviews Summary for West Mountain Radio PWRcrimp Powerpole crimp tool
West Mountain Radio PWRcrimp Powerpole crimp tool Reviews: 25 Average rating: 4.5/5 MSRP: $$49.95
Description: High performance Powerpole crimp tool for a reasonable price. Crimps all three sizes of Powerpole contacts; 15, 30 and 45 amp. Ratcheted mechanism assures proper crimps every time. Contact positioner holds contacts correctly while crimping. Far faster and better than soldering.
The highest strength and the lowest resistance connections possible. Long high leverage handle makes even 45 amp 10 gauge crimps easy.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.westmountainradio.com/HAMintro.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the West Mountain Radio PWRcrimp Powerpole crimp tool.

Page 1 of 3 —>

NW0Q Rating: 2/5 Dec 28, 2011 07:41 Send this review to a friend
Worked Great Until It Fell Apart  Time owned: more than 12 months
Great tool, easy to master but it self-destructed after 18 months of light use. Rivets popped out. No help from West Mountain, it was out of warranty. Caveat emptor.
 
W8NYY Rating: 5/5 Jun 17, 2011 05:21 Send this review to a friend
Sure Beats the Manual Tool  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Do yourself a favor. To really appreciate this tool, buy the manual crimping tool and use that for a year or two. Then buy this tool. You'll appreciate it's usefulness much more and won't find petty fault in it. It deserves a 5.
 
K6LCS Rating: 5/5 Jun 16, 2011 13:47 Send this review to a friend
Perfect PowerPole Partner  Time owned: more than 12 months
Perfect crimps every time. The only way I can re-create a previous "review" problem of bad crimps is if I were to place a connector in the wrong slot for its size. OR - insert a connector 180 degrees twisted in the right slot on the tool - but not allowing full insertion. But once you get the hang of it, this tool will provide years and years of successful, solid crimps.
 
KE5SSN Rating: 3/5 Jun 16, 2011 10:15 Send this review to a friend
Needs a little tweaking  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
From the West Mountain website:
"Contact positioner holds contacts correctly while crimping."

Well, that's not quite true for the one I have. The positioner allowed the contact piece to go too far into the tool, resulting in a flare at one end of the wire crimp and the leads not fitting into the housing. Much frustration (and wasted leads) until I realized what was wrong.
 
KD4AC Rating: 3/5 Sep 24, 2006 17:54 Send this review to a friend
Update  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
While I may have been a bit harsh in my review of the PWRcrimp, I can't say it's the best tool like the others say. Since the blade from one of the poles is permanently lodged inside the plastic recess, I simply removed and started having better results putting the connectors on. However, at least with mine, forget about making any connectors with 45 amp poles because the connector gets stuck in the crimper and you pretty much have to stand on the crimper and pull on the wire with both hands to get the damn thing free from the crimper....and yes, that's with the crimper open. With all the trouble I'm having, it's easier to just use a pair of pliers to fold the tabs of the connector over the wire and just solder them, which will make a better connection anyway.
 
K3BOY Rating: 5/5 Sep 24, 2006 16:30 Send this review to a friend
Makes perfect crimps.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I second the previous reviewer's (K6IOU) comments. I found that it helps to slightly squeeze the 45 amp contacts befor putting the contact & wire in the crimper will prevent any possibility of a jam. Also a tiny bit of oil on the jaws help. I've done dozens of crimps and have had 100% success.
 
K6IOU Rating: 5/5 Sep 24, 2006 15:55 Send this review to a friend
Work Flawlessly  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This crimping tool works flawlessly 'if' you understand the basic mechanics of what 'is' happening and what is supposed to happen.

After doing many powerpole connectors without them and being 'mostly' successful, now each and every one comes out perfectly and quickly.

A 'must have' if you install powerpoles.

DON
K6IOU
 
K2WO Rating: 5/5 Sep 24, 2006 13:55 Send this review to a friend
The Best!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
After using the original crimping pliers that were distributed by West Mountain (worked ok, but not great), I thought that I would give the PWRCrimp a shot. They are THE BEST! They work perfectly and flawlessly. If you are going to use Powerpoles, get one of these tools. They are definitely the way to go.
 
N9QNZ Rating: 3/5 Jul 10, 2006 16:58 Send this review to a friend
Ok, but could be better  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is a good tool, especially for the money. But, the design of the plastic "registration" block could have been much better. Basically, I found it is too easy for the contacts to slide too far into the registration block. Also, the contacts can rotate in the block. If the block tooling were modified, both of these conditions could be remedied.

I deal with this problem by very lightly crimping down on the empty contact first (when it is in the proper position) and then inserting the wire for a crimp.

Also, it would be nice if the tool released when the proper crimp pressure has been applied. But, again, this is a $50 tool.

Good for the money. Looking forward to version 2 of the plastic registration block.
 
AF0D Rating: 3/5 Jun 17, 2006 11:52 Send this review to a friend
sucks for 45A contacts, but great otherwise  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Having used it a few times, I have been having trouble getting the 45A contacts to crimp properly. Sometimes they work, most of the time they get stuck in the crimper, destroying the contact.

For the smaller, closed contacts, it works just fine.

So, for the money -- if you never have 10 guage wire to crimp, it's a good buy.
 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.