eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Microphones | Heil HandiMic Series (new for 2004) Help


Reviews Summary for Heil HandiMic Series (new for 2004)
Heil HandiMic Series (new for 2004) Reviews: 36 Average rating: 4.4/5 MSRP: $80+cable
Description: Only 4" tall - a new standard for hand mics!
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.heilsound.com/amateur/handi_mic.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Heil HandiMic Series (new for 2004).

Page 1 of 4 —>

AI4HO Rating: 5/5 Sep 12, 2012 21:44 Send this review to a friend
Small in size, huge in perfomance  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Well, what can I say that hasn't already been said. I had the HM-5 handi mic back about 04 or 05. Used it on a Kenwood TS-480HX I had at the time. Sold the TS-480HX to a friend, went on to other rigs. Fast forward about 7 years, I am now once again I might happily add, I again own a Heil HM-4 handi mic for my Icom 756 ProIII this mic works excellently on my ProIII, I have received unsolicited audio reports.,Mark..you sound like your in the room with me. Mark..you sound great, don't know what you're using..but what ever it is sounds super. So..I think I'm gonna stay with this mic for now. Small, light weight, easy to hold, very, very good. Not too long after that, we're only talking a couple of months here, think I got my HM-4 handi mic in late July, early August. I was perusing the ads on qrz, came across a guy who was selling jis HM-5 handi mic for a Kenwood rig, the price was right, and a few days later I had a mint HM-5 handi mic for my Kenwood TS-480HX, a new one to be sure, it is now my main mobile rig, and the Heil HM-5 handi mic works just as well now as my first one did 7 years ago. This is one mic that may be small in size, but is huge in performance.

73 de Mark
AI4HO
 
G7TOK Rating: 5/5 Jun 2, 2011 06:52 Send this review to a friend
Great Value  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned the HM-5 Handi-Mic for a couple of years and it has been pressed into service on transceivers varying from basic VHF units to SDR HF radios.
It has been exemplary on every radio, it has always had a better report than the stock mic (not difficult), and also in comparison to some dedicated mics like the MD-200A8X and MC-90.
 
KD5UDE Rating: 5/5 Apr 13, 2011 19:08 Send this review to a friend
excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
very nice and get very nice audio reports i like it!
 
WB6ZRP Rating: 5/5 Mar 28, 2011 04:35 Send this review to a friend
Great mic.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Definitly better than the stock mic. Over the air recorded audio playback, it sounds like me!
Full complete audio responce, lows, mids and highs are there. I have the pro "studio sound" element. 80 Hz to 15 Khz so i can truly tailor the sound in my K.W. Ts590 to my voice. I get "exelent audio" reports consistantly. When I get, "could use more Bass" or "could use more Highs", I just set my DSP settings to satisfy all the audio critics, hi hi. The wide frequecy response of the mic. is definitly a plus. I can set it to studio quality or DX break thru response w/DSP settings on the Ts 590. It's a great math for any DSP rig.
 
M0VEY Rating: 5/5 Nov 11, 2009 02:03 Send this review to a friend
Good Mic For Mobile Use  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've owned a Heil HM-5 Handi mic for over 3 years. The mic has been used with my Kenwood TS480 . I always receive favourable audio reports when using the HM-5 / TS480 .

Compared to the Heil Goldline, this mic is so much lighter & makes operating /mobile nice & easy. I use VOX with the TS480 , it is easy to set up & avoids use of the rubber ptt that some people complain about.

Settings used with the TS480:

Mic gain: 50
Proc in: 32 (max 50)
proc out: 50

No TX EQ:

RX EQ: HB1 really helps on receive.

I should add that mobile ops are conducted whilst stationary.

Overall, I think the HM-5 is a great upgrade to the stock mic & at a bargain price. I was lucky to purchase my mic secondhand for £35 GBP. This represented quite a saving on the new price.

Bob Heil makes good mics for your radios that are usually a fraction of the price of the manufacturers own brand accessory mics.

Regards,
Phil. M0VEY
 
K6AER Rating: 2/5 Aug 17, 2009 20:01 Send this review to a friend
Needs better ergonomics  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought a Flex-3000 and needed a decent microphone for the radio. After a trip to HRO, I came home with the Handi Mic with the HM-5 cartridge. The audio sounds fine. Nice range and good articulation. While not as good as my studio microphones I needed something to use in the field and this fitted the bill.

After using the microphone for a couple of weeks I found that the PTT button is too small and tiring. You need to have your thumb dead center and after about 20 minutes the button is fatiguing. The button needs to be larger and less sensitive to the exact pressure point for actuation. I almost want to remove the cartridge and put the cartridge into a Motorola microphone housing.
 
KC2OYZ Rating: 2/5 Mar 30, 2009 23:11 Send this review to a friend
Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I retract my previous good rating - PTT button started failing after only a few weeks of very light usage. I also discovered that it's too thin and slippery for my hands - cannot grip it well and hand gets cramped from having to keep it so clenched up to hold the mic. The audio appears to be very clean and clear, but lacking punch compared to the HM-36. Stick with the HM-36 if you're like me and prefer a hand mic.
 
KC2OYZ Rating: 5/5 Mar 11, 2009 21:19 Send this review to a friend
Nice!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've got the HandiMic wired for Icoms - I wanted an improvment on the HM-36, but I really didn't want to spend $200 for an SM-20, and besides, I really prefer a hand mic. So I tried the HandiMic and I'm glad I did. Looks good, feels good, sounds great even though I like to crank up the compression. I would recommend this mic to anyone - very good value.

Mikey
K2BKT
 
KF5OK Rating: 4/5 Nov 8, 2008 11:39 Send this review to a friend
Good Mic  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have the HM-5. While using it with my TS-480hx mobile I often received unsolicited good audio reports. Once on 10m i was in QSO with a Florida station while in VA and an anonymous caller just broke in and said “that sure is a fine sounding mobile.”

I am now using it with my 746pro and have received no unsolicited reports. When i ask i get it “sounds ok” or “pretty good” . Just nothing exciting. no bad reports though.

I think i may put my SM-6 back on. I have had a few unsolicited really good reports with it.

I don’t think the HM is really up to the task of driving my 746pro properly.
May be the HM for icom would do a better job or i just need to get a second receiver and methodically take the time to adjust my settings to get the best audio i can. I love hearing a nice sounding station but I won’t invest in an external EQ just to get broadcast audio.
 
K8GMG Rating: 5/5 Apr 10, 2008 06:36 Send this review to a friend
HM-IC woth a IC-2200  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Once again Heil has come through with a quality mic that out performs the stock microphones.

Hooked up to my 2 meter IC-2200, this mic makes this little radio crank out large, clean, clear audio with a rich full sound. Actually comparing the stock mic and this heil mic, the stock mic sounds very hollow and no low end.

Thanks to Bob and his entire staff!!!


George, K8GMG
 
Page 1 of 4 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.