eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antenna Rotators & Accessories | Alliance HD-73 Help


Reviews Summary for Alliance HD-73
Alliance HD-73 Reviews: 19 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $499.00
Description: Medium duty rotator
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Alliance HD-73.

Page 1 of 2 —>

K9NZ Rating: 2/5 Apr 7, 2014 17:54 Send this review to a friend
Ok for vhf   Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought one of these at Dayton years ago, to use with a A-3 triband beam. That is when I learned all about tower climbing there is no brake to speak of so when the big winds start your antenna spins like a pinata, Thats why there is no brake switch! After a couple of years I replaced it with a Ham-IV and never looked back. The Ham IV has been in service for over 15 years on several towers with mono bands and stacked beams not one problem. I gave a $125. for mine new, that was more than it was worth.
K9NZ
 
KC9CS Rating: 5/5 Mar 8, 2014 16:19 Send this review to a friend
A workhorse  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had mine up in the tower here in FL since 1989. I can't recall how long it was at my 9 land QTH in northern Illinois. Regardless, with one checkup with Norm's after a lightning strike as a precaution, it's been a terrific rotor. I have it in tower mounted with a thrust bearing at 60 feet, no weight rests on the rotor, all it has to deal with is turning. I have a Mosley CL-33 up there, right at the spec limit of 11 sq ft. I also have 19 element long boom 2 meter antenna and an 11 element 440 MHz ant being handled by the rotator. It has simply been excellent..
 
W7NIK Rating: 5/5 Nov 15, 2013 20:15 Send this review to a friend
Works Great after couple years  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have this rotor, works great i love the no brake button. This is mounted on a HDBX48, with a thrust bearing with TA 33 mosley and tri band yagi . total ft sq is about 8 ftsq., If you see one buy it and rebuild the bearing and you are good for years
 
KL2TC Rating: 5/5 Jul 31, 2011 13:53 Send this review to a friend
Works solidly  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is running under a Swan Tri-bander that I restored and it works great. I bought it used, bench tested it, put it up and all is as advertised. It features very solid construction and excellent performance. What else could I ask for?
 
K2FOX Rating: 5/5 Nov 4, 2010 08:09 Send this review to a friend
Over 20 years of reliable service!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this rotor in the mid-1980's and have had several different antennas mounted above it over the years. Not one single problem. Last year I lowered the tower and removed the rotor, cleaned it up a bit and lubicated it, and put it back up. It's still going strong...
 
KA4ETV Rating: 5/5 Sep 13, 2010 10:08 Send this review to a friend
GREAT ROTOR FOR THE MONEY  Time owned: more than 12 months
This was the cheapest rotor on the market when I got mine in I believe 89' or so. It turned a 4 element 10 meter beam and stayed up for about 15 years. Planning to use it again for an a3s and a 2m beam soon. The only problem has been the rotor control box light. The bulb go popped in a surge/lighting hit. Norms rotor service does have them. Replaced and working fine. So for this kind of longevity, pretty darn good product.
 
W7VO Rating: 5/5 Sep 10, 2010 10:50 Send this review to a friend
20 years and still ticking  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this rotator new in the early 1990's, and used it to turn a small A4S when I lived in CA. Three years ago I moved to northern OR, and now use it to turn a TH6DXX on a 50 foot Rohn 25 tower (with a Rohn thrust bearing), with a 10 foot mast with a 3 ele 6 meter beam on the very top. This is probably the limit of what this rotator will do, and I was expecting problems with our windy winters here. Hey, I already had the rotator, so if it broke I would replace it with something stronger.....

Well, 3 Oregon winters later it still works flawlessly. Sure, with not much of a brake (the Alliance uses a kind of "disc brake" system) the antenna can change bearings a few degrees with very strong winds, but at least the gears don't break from the wedges that the Hygain rotators use.

During storms I always turn the antenna to face the wind direction, which probably helps.

I have seen these at ham swaps complete with the controller for less than 100 dollars, and my buddy once bought one for $40. What a deal.....
I paid $100 for my "spare".....
 
N4ZAW Rating: 5/5 May 1, 2009 09:12 Send this review to a friend
Too bad they are out of production!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have one now and have had others in the past. The only thing I don't like about them is the lack of a "stop" on the motor. They are very reliable if installed properly and kept under the winload limit.
 
N5NPO Rating: 5/5 Apr 21, 2007 04:08 Send this review to a friend
Works for me!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Hello all. I put this used HD-73 up back in late 2005. I got it on 70' of Rohn 25 with a 3 element 17 meter monobander with 2" od 19' boom made from a couple of DB-224 masts. I also have a 6 meter monobander on it with a 6' boom. I got this stacked on a 9' steel mast. Only problem so far is lightening took out a motor winding and some components inside the control box. I had some spare parts, so I re-built. She is back up and still going strong. I have a HAM 3 and a T2X that needs fixing and I may do that, but why hurry, the HD-73 is working great.
 
AA5TE Rating: 5/5 Oct 24, 2006 08:26 Send this review to a friend
Excellent for the price  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've owned two of these, got both of them at separate times for about $125 each, including the control box.

They never failed to work, are a better design than a lot of other rotators, and I've never had any problems with these unlike I have with HyGain rotators.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.