eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | Yaesu FT-7800E Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu FT-7800E
Yaesu FT-7800E Reviews: 22 Average rating: 4.5/5 MSRP: $270
Description: V/U mobile
Product is not in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FT-7800E.

Page 1 of 3 —>

ON4LG Rating: 4/5 Jan 23, 2013 23:46 Send this review to a friend
So far so good  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought mine second hand but in excellent conditions.

Manage to install it in the car easily. Main box under driver'seat. Front panel on dash board.

Excellent audio in RX. I don't use an external speaker.
Some people told me the modulation is too loud. I had to reduce to narrow mode and apparently, it's better now. No more remarks. No mike gain on this radio?

I enjoyed the fact that the mike is directly plugged on the front panel. Not to the box itself. Ir makes things easier for mobile use.

Using a 45cm magnetic dual-band mobile antenna and it rocks on all local repeaters. Power is comfortable.

Fair second hand price and reliable. I finally enjoy mobile FM!

73's

Fred ON4LG
 
PD1ET Rating: 4/5 Jan 9, 2013 03:18 Send this review to a friend
Right for purpose  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I own a campervan and wanted a sturdy set, mounted permanently. The Yaesu came to mind for it's broadbanded receiver as I like to listen to the vhf-maritime channels. The Yaesu has more than enough memory channels, so I can store the complete VHF/UHF scheme for repeaters and the maritime. Aircraft channels with AM are stored as well. The very handy 'hypermemories' let me switch between mij needs. Just one push between a switchover from maritime listening / scanning, VHF/UHF repeaters, aircraft or else.
The set performes well, combined with a Diamond 505 antenne mounted on the steel roof and is build in in a roof-cupboard, with a seperate speaker in the cabin. Very easy to handle and not in sight.
Just one disadvantage: the power setting of the set seams to be of no influence on the amps consumed. This is important when 'going wild' (not connected to the grid)thus battery dependant. The only reason for rating '4'.
I bought the set for a second hand price, new in box. It saved me a 100 euro's and there is no significant difference between the 7800 and the 7900.
 
G4AWY Rating: 5/5 Dec 20, 2012 04:53 Send this review to a friend
Good solid workhorse  Time owned: more than 12 months
Bought a second hand (pre-loved) 7800 about 3 years ago. Can honestly say I haven't had a single problem with it (except self inflicted ones). If I really had to find fault with it, I'd say that skipping a channel (temporarily) is a real PITA. But this is really the worst criticism I can level at this box.

The Hypermemory facility is very much played down in the handbook. It really gives you 5 separate rigs! Yaesu should publicise this much more as a real plus of this rig

Richard G4AWY
 
CR7000 Rating: 5/5 Oct 20, 2012 10:39 Send this review to a friend
Super - No Nonsense Radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
Another gem from yaesu

My 7800 is used mobile and portable, and performs faultless.

Great little set that does exactly what it says on the tin !
 
G6UWK Rating: 5/5 May 23, 2010 08:19 Send this review to a friend
very Good  Time owned: more than 12 months
I FT-7800E for just over a couple of years from new, first off it does what it sets out to do, that is be a good dual band transmit with wide band recieve, I like the illuminated mic, easy to use in the dark, I haven't used lots of memories etc, but as a mobile radio it has just worked, intuitively I can change frequency, repeater offsets are automatic and to use tone just press F3 on mic. I have not found it deaf rather it has "good ears" and I have had compliments on audio, my only gripe is I cannot find a English version pdf manual only FT-7800R type.
 
G1HQK Rating: 4/5 Nov 7, 2009 06:47 Send this review to a friend
Nice Set.....  Time owned: more than 12 months
Had mine for about 2 years now, very nice receiver, hears much more than my FT100D on VHF/UHF. Lots of features, DTMF mic, mine came with a yaesu seperation kit all for Ģ179.

The only problem has been that last week the set lost all of the memories, nothing had changed just switched on there was a beep and then the radio reset itself to factory setting.

Not too happy as lost all my faves!
 
OE5BFM Rating: 5/5 Nov 7, 2009 05:43 Send this review to a friend
Just a fine mobile rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
I own now my FT-7800E (European Version) for 2 years. In Austria we have a lot of UHF-Repeaters, so this Duobander was the right choice for mobile use. For programming I use the ADMS-2K, without any problems.

Itīs not a real duobander, you cannot watch both bands at the same time. You must switch to one band, but thatīs no disadvantage for mobile use. But of course you can do memory-scan for both bands in one pass.
Normally I transmit with 20 Watts, so the rig only gets hand-warm.

My rig never had any faults and I am very satisfied with itīs possibilities and capability.
 
G6NLX Rating: 5/5 Sep 26, 2009 14:49 Send this review to a friend
Just what I wanted.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I gave this a 5 because it met my expectations exactly (and more). V/UHF, up to 50 watts out, memory operation, separable control head, small size, dual receive not required.

The "and more" is the Hypermemories. These really are a real useful feature and allow me to completely reconfigure the radio dependent upon my preferred configurations.

Got my 7800 from Moonraker in UK, at a local Rally, who provide a great service. Small downside with the radio is the OEM power connector, almost impossible to source in the UK, especially if you want to sometimes remove the rig to use somewhere else - But I fitted mine with Powerpoles now, so no more problems.

I use FTB7800 to manage memories; not absolutely necessary, but I find it useful as I also use it to interchange memory configurations with my FT-60 handy.

All in all, the FT-7800 does what it says on the box - and once you understand how the Hypermemories work - it actually does more than you expected.
 
2E0XOM Rating: 5/5 Aug 22, 2009 18:49 Send this review to a friend
super little box of tricks  Time owned: more than 12 months
what more do you want for your Ģs$euros yen or what ever you spend i got mine for my girlfreind M6NDY from where iam i can work over 30 repeaters as far away as 80miles from a cheep colinar so what more do you want for Ģ150/$300 easy to use dtmf mic thats Ģ60 on its own would buy another one PS DO NOT MOD THIS RADIO TO TX OUT OF BAND IT WILL GO DEAF AS A POST !!
 
W1ZE Rating: 5/5 Mar 27, 2009 10:24 Send this review to a friend
Good value  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have my 7800 installed in my 08 Prius and it works very well. Programming needs a little study
but it has a good receiver and power out is more than adequate. The broad range tuning for receiving public service freqs up to 900 MHz.
Worth the investment.
 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.