eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Shack Clocks | MFJ-121 / 121B Help


Reviews Summary for MFJ-121 / 121B
Reviews: 17 Average rating: 3.8/5 MSRP: $69.95
Description: Large Display, Dual-Time LCD Atomic Clock for wall mounting or table top. Read both UTC and local time at-a-glance with the MFJ-121 dual atomic clock that displays 24/12 hour time simultaneously.
It's fully automatic! Just install batteries and tell it what time zone.... it actually synchronizes itself to the exact time daily.
It tunes into the radio signal emitted by the US Atomic Clock in Ft. Collins, Colorado to give you precise and reliable time. It receives automatic daily updates from the US Department of Commerce's National Institute of Standards and Technology.
Mounted in a handsome hard plastic frame, the MFJ-121 features HUGE, easy-to-see 2 inch tall by 1 1/2 wide LCD numerals and seconds display that makes it easy-to-read from across the room.
Mounts on wall or Desk mount. Perfect for the shack, emergency office or professional office.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.mfjenterprises.com/products.php?prodid=MFJ-121
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the MFJ-121 / 121B.

Page 1 of 2 —>

VE2LXR Rating: 1/5 Jun 3, 2014 21:21 Send this review to a friend
Works only during warranty period  Time owned: more than 12 months
Warning save your money do not buy this clock.
Clock works OK during the warranty period, but the displays looses segments to the point of being unreadable after warranty period ends.
New batteries has no effect on the missing segments.
Louis VE2LXR
73
 
N4RHC Rating: 2/5 May 29, 2014 16:36 Send this review to a friend
Fails after warranty period  Time owned: more than 12 months
Clock works great during the warranty period, but the displays start to fade after warranty period ends. I have owned two of these clocks and the fading happened to both clocks. Changing batteries has no effect on the fading.
 
W6OU Rating: 2/5 Mar 7, 2014 17:50 Send this review to a friend
Segments fade  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a great clock when new but after a few years some of the display segments fade away. I've experienced this fading a while ago in another MFJ clock.
 
W2EVU Rating: 2/5 Jun 5, 2012 07:52 Send this review to a friend
Has problems  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought a MFJ-121B clock. I live in upstate New York. This clock had problems syncing with WWV. Then several of the numeral segments went out. I returned the clock and they sent me a new one. The new one still wouldn't sync and now several of the segments have gone out again.
 
K6RWM Rating: 5/5 May 26, 2012 02:44 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Product  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This is a very nice clock for the ham shack. I have owned it for several months now, and I like the UTC/local time zone feature. It also has a light that provides just enough illumination to read the clock easily in a dimly lit radio operating position. The large numerals are very easy to read.
 
WA2ILB Rating: 5/5 Nov 12, 2011 07:53 Send this review to a friend
Very Nice!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I completely agree with W9IQ's review.

I live in extreme northern NH and the clock will not synchronize with Bolder, CO during the day because of the distance involved. Also the clock needs to be at least a foot away from any equipment with a microprocessor in it and the clock need to be broad side to the direction of Bolder, Co to maximize the low frequency signal strength of the time transmitter. If you are in an RV or a boat the signal may not be strong enough to synchronize every time.

This clock is definitely a keeper!
 
N7SOC Rating: 5/5 Mar 26, 2011 18:46 Send this review to a friend
great clock  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
love the large numbers....clock locked onto synchro overnight...has been accurate ever since...was exactly what i was looking for..both utc and local...had no problem with dst...utc time stayed as it should and local advanced...absolutely no problems with this clock...would rec. it...ski, n7soc
 
N8QH Rating: 4/5 Jan 14, 2011 09:21 Send this review to a friend
OK with good WWVB reception  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
A good clock PROVIDED it can lock to WWVB. When allowed to freerun, it loses as much as a minute a day, and is about as accurate as a Micky Mouse watch.

Too bad the clock oscillators aren't "disciplined" (automatically adjusted for deviation offset). Then it would be a great clock.

I'm operating the clock in a fiberglass sailboat at sea level above salt water. Receiver conditions for WWVB can't be much better than that. WWVB reception here in Northern California isn't wonderful, and it's disconcerting to see a disagreement between UTC and Pacific time on the dual displays, which frequently occurs when only one of the two clocks achieves a time correction.
 
W6DXK Rating: 5/5 Mar 15, 2009 14:43 Send this review to a friend
Does it all right  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just what I wanted - a local and UTC clock that handles DST. Each of the two independent clocks has time zone choice (US) plus UTC and each clock has it's own switch for DST or Standard Time.

Excellent display contrast and the 2" high digits are easy-to-read.

I have it hanging on the wall, but it could also sit on the desk with its built in stand.
 
W9IQ Rating: 5/5 Dec 26, 2008 08:08 Send this review to a friend
Very Nice  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I received my MFJ-121B as a Christmas gift from my Dad, N9LOU. I installed the four AA batteries, set the time zones, pressed the SET buttons to synchronize to WWVB and in a few minutes both displays snapped to the correct time including the displayed synchronized seconds. My clock was on the shelf and ready for use in less than five minutes showing Central time in AM/PM format on the upper display and UTC in 24 hour format on the lower display.

The clock has a nice, stylish silver frame that can be wall hung or supported by its rear foldout leg. The control panels are on the rear of the clock. The large digits have a very wide viewing angle and their size make it easy to read it from across the room with low ambient room light. The digits are all full width and well proportioned.

The clock allows both displays to be set to any time zone. The primary US time zones and UTC are selectable by cycling through the icons on the front of the clock. All other time zones can be manually selected. Each display can be set for daylight savings time as well as 12 (AM/PM) or 24 hour mode.

The displays show a blinking satellite (hmm…) icons when they are attempting to lock onto WWVB. Once they have synchronized, the icons remains on solid. If no signal is found, the icons are extinguished. In this case, you can manually set the time on the displays. You can also elect to turn off the automatic synchronization.

Two of the batteries are for the clocks and two of the batteries are for backlighting. The clock batteries have a battery low icon on the upper display. You can program the time when the backlighting comes on for one eight hour period or you can manually turn on the backlighting via a rear panel switch. The backlighting appears to be incandescent lamps. There is no battery low icon for the backlight batteries but the lack of backlighting would make the need for a battery change quite apparent.

The MFJ-121B is a very nice addition to my station. Thanks, Dad!

- Glenn W9IQ

 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.