eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Ham Shack Clocks | MFJ-121 / 121B Help


Reviews Summary for MFJ-121 / 121B
Reviews: 21 Average rating: 3.2/5 MSRP: $69.95
Description: Large Display, Dual-Time LCD Atomic Clock for wall mounting or table top. Read both UTC and local time at-a-glance with the MFJ-121 dual atomic clock that displays 24/12 hour time simultaneously.
It's fully automatic! Just install batteries and tell it what time zone.... it actually synchronizes itself to the exact time daily.
It tunes into the radio signal emitted by the US Atomic Clock in Ft. Collins, Colorado to give you precise and reliable time. It receives automatic daily updates from the US Department of Commerce's National Institute of Standards and Technology.
Mounted in a handsome hard plastic frame, the MFJ-121 features HUGE, easy-to-see 2 inch tall by 1 1/2 wide LCD numerals and seconds display that makes it easy-to-read from across the room.
Mounts on wall or Desk mount. Perfect for the shack, emergency office or professional office.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.mfjenterprises.com/products.php?prodid=MFJ-121
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the MFJ-121 / 121B.

Page 1 of 3 —>

K0UM Rating: 0/5 Jan 2, 2016 16:25 Send this review to a friend
Ridiculous  Time owned: more than 12 months
My wife bought this for my birthday. Several digits went out. Sent back to MFJ for a replacement and waited OVER A YEAR for a new one. Several digits quickly went out again. Threw it away. See the other reviews and then decide if you want to throw away your money too.
 
KB4JKL Rating: 0/5 Nov 21, 2015 09:20 Send this review to a friend
Terrible  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This clock worked for 11 months. It had the well noted missing segments in the LCD numbers. I notified MFJ customer service who wanted pictures of the clock with the missing segments. I have sent multiple emails with these pictures with no response as well as phone calls that unfortunately went no where. I bought a Clock at Office Depot. They don't call MFJ "Mighty Fine Junk" for nothing. It has earned the name with products like this.
 
WZ1U Rating: 2/5 Sep 13, 2015 14:22 Send this review to a friend
Total Junk and a waste of money !  Time owned: more than 12 months
My 3rd unit just started with the display issue again...New batteries don't make a difference...If you get 2 years out of it your lucky....Stay away from this unit and save your money....That's why MFJ is called Mighty Fine Junk....
 
KC6RCM Rating: 1/5 Sep 29, 2014 22:22 Send this review to a friend
Junk.  Time owned: more than 12 months
Same fading/missing display issues as the previous four reviews. As already mentioned, new batteries has no effect on the missing segments. Five reviews in a row with the same issue... junk.
 
VE2LXR Rating: 1/5 Jun 3, 2014 21:21 Send this review to a friend
Works only during warranty period  Time owned: more than 12 months
Warning save your money do not buy this clock.
Clock works OK during the warranty period, but the displays looses segments to the point of being unreadable after warranty period ends.
New batteries has no effect on the missing segments.
Louis VE2LXR
73
 
N4RHC Rating: 2/5 May 29, 2014 16:36 Send this review to a friend
Fails after warranty period  Time owned: more than 12 months
Clock works great during the warranty period, but the displays start to fade after warranty period ends. I have owned two of these clocks and the fading happened to both clocks. Changing batteries has no effect on the fading.
 
W6OU Rating: 2/5 Mar 7, 2014 17:50 Send this review to a friend
Segments fade  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a great clock when new but after a few years some of the display segments fade away. I've experienced this fading a while ago in another MFJ clock.
 
W2EVU Rating: 2/5 Jun 5, 2012 07:52 Send this review to a friend
Has problems  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought a MFJ-121B clock. I live in upstate New York. This clock had problems syncing with WWV. Then several of the numeral segments went out. I returned the clock and they sent me a new one. The new one still wouldn't sync and now several of the segments have gone out again.
 
K6RWM Rating: 5/5 May 26, 2012 02:44 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Product  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This is a very nice clock for the ham shack. I have owned it for several months now, and I like the UTC/local time zone feature. It also has a light that provides just enough illumination to read the clock easily in a dimly lit radio operating position. The large numerals are very easy to read.
 
WA2ILB Rating: 5/5 Nov 12, 2011 07:53 Send this review to a friend
Very Nice!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I completely agree with W9IQ's review.

I live in extreme northern NH and the clock will not synchronize with Bolder, CO during the day because of the distance involved. Also the clock needs to be at least a foot away from any equipment with a microprocessor in it and the clock need to be broad side to the direction of Bolder, Co to maximize the low frequency signal strength of the time transmitter. If you are in an RV or a boat the signal may not be strong enough to synchronize every time.

This clock is definitely a keeper!
 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.