eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antenna Rotators & Accessories | CDE Ham M Help


Reviews Summary for CDE Ham M
Reviews: 7 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $??
Description: Medium Duty Rotor
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the CDE Ham M.

WB0SNF Rating: 5/5 Aug 9, 2016 19:39 Send this review to a friend
35 faithful years  Time owned: more than 12 months
Hi. I got my ham m in 1980, It had had either a lightning hit or a voltage spike as the motor was burned out as was the large xfmr and a few other parts in the control box. I could see where windings were burned on motor so just shined up the burned ends, spliced it and that was that. A good cleaning and a little grease and the rotor was done.
I only had a xfmr about the size of the whole control box so mounted the xfmr behind control box on a 1/6 board. New capacitor and a few other minor parts and it has worked great on a full size 20 meter monobander ever since---till summer of 2016. Brake got sticky this summer and didn't want to release. Another good cleaning, a little grease, new control cable and another capacitor, works fine and it will probably outlast me. Best $4:00 I ever spent.
 
WB0SNF Rating: 5/5 Dec 31, 2015 21:54 Send this review to a friend
problem free  Time owned: more than 12 months
Got mine in about 1978 and has been rotating a full size 20 meter mono bander ever since. No problems. Moved tower 2 years ago and cleaned and greased rotor. At this rate it will outlast me. What a great unit. Best 73
 
K2IZ Rating: 5/5 Dec 7, 2014 21:39 Send this review to a friend
outstanding  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my Ham M II in 1974 when they first came out, I finally took it down this past November, 2014, it was still working, I bought a refurbished Ham M II and installed it, in the 40 years I used the original rotor I got into the habit of releasing the brake, rotating the antenna and when it stopped I did a slow count to 5 before releasing the brake, apparently other owners don't do this, resulting in the wedge brake breaking off inside the rotor.
The original rotor held the antenna in place through 3 hurricanes and numerous Nor'easters and summer storms.
 
W2HP Rating: 5/5 Nov 17, 2013 17:34 Send this review to a friend
Bought new in 1964  Time owned: more than 12 months
My Ham-m I bought new in 1964. When I moved in 1977 it came with me on top of my 55ft 25G. In 1990 I put up a Triex 55ft tower and took my Ham-m off the 25G and onto the Triex tower. Only work ever was new resistor and lubricants. Its still turning a Mosley PRO-57 WARC and a Diamond X-510 and works perfectly. It survived Super Storm Sandy! Very happy!
 
K0KS Rating: 5/5 Jul 12, 2013 18:59 Send this review to a friend
Golden Oldie  Time owned: more than 12 months
I got over 40 years of service from a Ham-M but did have to replace bearings several times and the capacitors and the pot-strip was always noisy or not functioning. It always turned oversized arrays and stopped them with a jolt that shook the 25G tower. Parts and repair service are widely available.
 
W8KQE Rating: 5/5 Feb 21, 2010 20:23 Send this review to a friend
In use since 1977! Built like a tank!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had my CDE medium duty rotor and control box since I first got licensed in high school back in 1977! I am turning 49 this year. I've never opened it up or done any maintenance on it whatsoever, and it still works perfectly like it did when new. It's been used at 3 QTH's, and has never failed to turn my Mosley TA-32 and 33 'Junior' tribanders all these decades! Blows my mind!
 
W4VD Rating: 5/5 Feb 1, 2005 21:35 Send this review to a friend
great old rotor  Time owned: more than 12 months
I found one of these oldies about 3 years ago on ebay for around 100-125 bucks, I forget the exact price, but after opening it up and giving it a cleaning and a greasing, it's been turning my A4S very effortlessly and regularly ever since. I don't have the specs on this rotor, but I think it's around the CD45 range, maybe a tad more. I plan on adding a 3 or 5 element 6 meter yagi in the future, and I am positive it will be up to the task.

Well built unit, with the price of rotors, should you see a deal on one, jump on it.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.