eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Yaesu FT-530 Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu FT-530
Yaesu FT-530 Reviews: 65 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $260.00
Description: Hand held
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.rigpix.com/yaesu/ft530.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FT-530.

Page 1 of 7 —>

KJ4FGI Rating: 4/5 Jun 12, 2017 13:10 Send this review to a friend
Very Nice, minor heatsink problem  Time owned: more than 12 months
Quick review, I owned the FT-530 and enjoyed it, the problem with this radio is that the Belt Clip on the back of the radio is the heat sink. Many of these radios are missing it, if your's is it might be a good idea to correct that issue. It is a good radio.

Than the newer Yaesu FT-51r came out and I enjoy it, it even has help menu on the display. The FT-51r is also a full duplex HT and fixed the heatsink problem
 
DL2DMC Rating: 5/5 Feb 13, 2016 05:06 Send this review to a friend
The best handheld I ever had  Time owned: more than 12 months
I owned, beside other portables, three of these nice radios during the last 10 years. I bought them one by one on eBay, partially paying high prices. Unfortunately I have sold the last one some months ago.
The FT-530 is easy to operate, features full duplex and cross band repeater function and is also capable to receive VHF Air band in AM! What a nice bonus function. It can be used with 6 standard AA batteries. I had one empty battery case that I equipped with a 11,1 LiPo battery that fits exactly in that case. That gave me the full five watts and had a great capacity.
Also, this radio gains the price as "the most beautiful amateur handheld transceiver ever produced".
Display and keyboard can be illuminated, and pressing the F key before will make the light stay on permanently.
Still today, the FT-530 does not need to hide behind modern equipment. It is a dream holding this fine piece of electronics in your hands. Wherever I took it, people made big eyes.
I hope I will get one more mint FT-530 in the future.
 
K8IDX Rating: 5/5 Jun 17, 2015 14:50 Send this review to a friend
A rare gem  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is the best HT I have ever used. When I got a 530 new back in 1995 I noticed a clear reduction in intermod from pagers and other near by sources in the Washington, D.C. area. I found out that a good receiver can save you there and the 530 just amazed me. I have a vx6 and four FT-530's. The VX6 is a great little HT but it is the 530 that I grab when I go out. They still fetch a high price on ebay but I am keeping all 4 of mine.
 
K1MGY Rating: 5/5 Dec 28, 2013 05:07 Send this review to a friend
Repair  Time owned: more than 12 months
The FT-530 is an easy to operate, rugged, robust radio. I traded with a local ham for two of these; one non-functional and the other delivered with a warning: "never, ever set this in the desk charger when the radio power is turned on". Two months later I did just that, which resulted in another dead FT-530.

Recently I determined to repair at least one of these radios. The schematic diagram available by download is of poor quality, but I managed to nurse it into a somewhat useful state. A brief study led me to a 5 volt voltage regulator on the CNTRL Unit made by Seiko Instruments: S-87050-VR. In one unit the regulator was hot, and the output was flat. In the other, the regulator was cracked (had overheated to the point of destruction). A read of Seiko's data sheet for this part revealed its lack of short circuit and over-current protection and a very limited input voltage range (a transient when the radio was first attached to the charger was the likely culprit). Although available through YAESU, the part is otherwise absent normal distribution. Further search led me to Seiko, for they have updated this part, and greatly improved upon its capabilities. Plus it has a new part number, in the S-87 series. If I were re-designing the FT-530's 5V supply, I'd use it, for Seiko has added short circuit protection and - significantly - improved the input voltage range. The package is tiny but is able to dissipate 500mw through an integrated heat sink pad at the base of the device. Makes it difficult to remove, of course.

Seiko kindly provided a few samples of the part (S-875033EUP-AJAT2). Readers who dig into the data sheet will note that there are a 5 versions of the device, one handling shutdown and another providing delay for voltage detector. I chose the wrong part and had to jumper the SENSE pin to VIN so the device would regulate. This problem aside, my FT-530 is working again. I'll keep the other broken unit in reserve for parts.



 
KI4WBZ Rating: 5/5 Nov 3, 2013 12:51 Send this review to a friend
Best in its class  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had at least one of these for several years. No current HT has all the features this does. How many current HT units on the market offer crossband repeat? This one does! Full duplex, affordable replacement batteries, backlit LED for night time operation... it even has an alarm clock for use when traveling. While it may not have computer download capability like the new ones, or fit in your palm thanks to SMT components, it was the best of its era and still gets good audio reports in my QSOs on the local repeaters.
 
KC9SNB Rating: 5/5 Feb 8, 2013 10:35 Send this review to a friend
The best dual band handheld ever made  Time owned: more than 12 months
I love this radio. It is a bit large and heavy, particularly by today's standards; but when I die my grandkids will get this. It is a metal bodied radio with cross-band repeat capability, and a full 5 watts on battery power. I love the display, the capability to dual monitor,and the many memories, as well as the ability to set any repeater offset, program DTMF tones in memory, and even to detect PL tones on receive so that you may discover the local tones being used. Every time I use this radio, it surprises me. No issues, no drama, no disappointments. It has extended receive which allows listening to weather and air bands, as well as mods to permit extended (and illegal) transmit. There are a number of battery options, and I love the display microphone, which shows frequency and allows limited remote control of the rig. The unit is as capable as any base or mobile I have ever had - except for the limit of five watts of power. Oh, well, you can't have everything.
 
WW4CC Rating: 5/5 Jan 17, 2012 12:27 Send this review to a friend
The best hand held I have ever owned!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I was first licensed in 1990 as KC4TCG. I purchased an Icom IC2-SAT used from a friend and it was ok, but I wanted a brand new ht. I bought this one from HRO in Atlanta in 1994. It cost a lot of 1994 dollars, but it was the best money I ever spent. I used it for years, but decided one day that it was getting "long in the tooth" as it were, and a new ht was in order, so I sold the 530 and I bought a vx-5r. That was the first in a long line of mistakes. The VX-5 was ok, but I wasn't happy. It was nowhere near the radio that my old 530 was. Over the next few years I went thru every HT Yaesu (and some of the others) could come up with, but nothing was ever quite the same with the "New" technology, so I sold every HT that I had and went back to the 530, and unless they just die and I can't find a replacement, that will be all I'll ever use from now on. It just can't be beat. It certainly gets my vote for the best handheld ever made!
 
VE3PWR Rating: 5/5 Aug 27, 2010 14:46 Send this review to a friend
It Was Well Worth The Money Back in 1994..  Time owned: more than 12 months
I Have NOTHING bad to say about my experience
with my Yaesu FT 530... ( FIVE STARS ***** )
I purchased it new back in 1994... I also purchased the NC-50 Desk Rapid Charger and soft cover case for the radio and It came out to
$ 570.00 (CDN. with taxes). I thought back then.. What the heck am I doing spending soo much money on my first handheld... WELL... Let me tell you... It was the BEST $ 570.00 I have ever spent...
I still have and use the handheld to this day...
I will never sell it....
Everything still works on it.. ( even the rapid charger works and chargers all the battery packs I have had to replace over the years ) .. That's it.. I've just had to purchase new battery packs every sooo many years .. The Handheld keeps going and going..and going.. Problem Free !!!!!
It actually still looks like new.. The soft cover case I purchased back then is still used on the handheld and has kept it looking like new... It's Great to have a True Dual Band Receive VHF/UHF at once with the dual volume and squelch controls...
I haven't been impressed with any other handheld Yaesu has brought out since this BABY...
They sure don't make them like this anymore...
I've recently purchased a new Handheld from a company in Hong Kong on Ebay for alot less money then I spent in 1994 .. But when you hold the FT-530 in your hand.. then hold the handheld from Hong Kong.. You can even feel the difference without having to turn them on...
If you get a chance to buy one at a Flea Market or on Ebay that has been well looked after Grab It ...
You may have to buy a new battery ( which are available also on Ebay or Batteries America )
and you won't be dissappointed...
It's a True Work Horse !!!!
73 Martin VE3PWR

 
N4SRQ Rating: 5/5 Feb 18, 2010 11:13 Send this review to a friend
Awesome HT  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I was looking for a true full duplex mobile for satellite work and read about the FT-530 as being a good candidate. Hopped onto ebay and picked one up with the LCD remote mike. WoW. Nice audio, good xmit, easy to figure out without a manual. This radio can cross band repeat quite easily. I cannot understand why they don't make them like this anymore. They are great in their simplicity and provide good performance. I recently picked up a second one on ebay for a song - seems like everyone prefers those VX models and got this last one on the opening bid - lucky for me. You can get good 12V batteries online for less than $30. If you can get one, do it. You wont be disappointed. It is great for SAT work - nice to hear yourself on the downlink while transmitting. Most modern HT's can't.
 
KJ4PKO Rating: 5/5 Oct 11, 2009 21:26 Send this review to a friend
One great radio!!!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months


I was given one recently and love it. I use both vhf and uhf; I live in a rural area and thought I would not be able to reach a repeater, but with two watts I can talk to any repeater within thirty miles. I have also been complemented on the sound quality of the radio. I am using a 7.2 volt battery from Batteries America battery. I also love the backlight for using in night applications. I would recommend this radio to anyone.

KJ4PKO
 
Page 1 of 7 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.