eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: General Coverage | Panasonic RF-2200 Help


Reviews Summary for Panasonic RF-2200
Panasonic RF-2200 Reviews: 22 Average rating: 4.5/5 MSRP: $On ebay as of 12/14/05, can be h
Description: General coverage receiver with AM/FM
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Panasonic RF-2200.

<— Page 2 of 3 —>

COUNTERACT Rating: 0/5 Sep 10, 2007 19:26 Send this review to a friend
Not a pleasure to listen to  Time owned: more than 12 months
Nice concept and design but even for an analog receiver, it drifts so much, it is no pleasure to listen to.
 
WA4053SWL Rating: 5/5 Aug 12, 2006 16:50 Send this review to a friend
Panasonic RF-2200, a true radio.  Time owned: more than 12 months
Hi there.
I have 3 portable radio to MW-DX, The General Electric "superradio III", The Sony ICF-2010, and Panasonic RF-2200, I love the GE, great, great sensitivy for $50.00, but my favorite is the RF-2200 by its accuracy in the dial, sensitivity and selectivity, S-meter, Sound, Dial Light, tone control Bass-Trebble, and by its elegance [hi,hi]a true radio with Shortwave bands exceptional, sincerely the Sony 2010 never I conform, and the good thing that has is the sinc-detector, 73 to all.
 
REMOVED_EHAM_JUSTICE Rating: 4/5 Aug 9, 2006 17:59 Send this review to a friend
Best Analog MW Portable Ever  Time owned: more than 12 months
At the time of the RF-2200's release there was quite a stable of shortwave receivers in Panasonic's lineup, a few tabletops and a few portables. I'm not sure if this one was meant to be a shortwave radio with a mediumwave gyro antenna thrown in, but over the years its developed a reputation as the best analog portable for the AM broadcast band ever made.

I've owned the GE Superradio I and II, there's no comparison. They're not even close regarding sensitivity, selectivity and certainly not frequency readout. The '2200 will give you 10 kHz readout and very accurately, too. The only portables that I've ever found to match its pulling power was the Channel Master 6515 Super Fringe and a Nordmende Mesa 9000 series, but neither had the ability to give you frequency readout, and you had to turn the radio (and therefore the speaker) around for nulling out and peaking frequencies, while the '2200 can sit firing the audio right at you while you adjust the gyro antenna. The CM didn't have anything for tone control (though it did have the ability to bring speech out of the static quite well), and the Nordmende just didn't sound nearly as good even with seperate bass and treble controls.

There's nothing like sitting out back or on your front porch cruising the MW band with one of these '2200s just seeing what's coming in, day or night. Modern digital portables just don't give you the same experience as an analog radio.

Now shortwave performance is another matter entirely. First off, the tuning system is unlike anything produced today. There's a reason they don't make them like this anymore. There are marks on the vernier dial to which you tune and hold down a switch that activates a crystal marker tone, which also locks the vernier dial. You then turn the dial (though the readout won't change) until you zero in on the frequency of the crystal marker. While it is fun if you're a hands-on radio person, it can be annoying if you simply want to tune in a station for a particular broadcast. For bandscanning it really doesn't matter unless you find something you like and want to know the frequency, in which case you have to go through the procedure and then retune your previous station.

Sensitivity on shortwave with the whip isn't bad, but reception with an external wire antenna is better. Panasonic made a tuner specifically for this radio, but I don't remember the part number and have never come across one. You can always use any antenna tuner available to match the impedence of your wire, and use the ground screw on the back of the radio. The '2200 is a good enough receiver to make it worth the trouble to set up a good antenna system for it.

While selectivity on MW is fine unless you want to dx Transatlantics, I've been frustrated by the narrow filter choice on the '2200. While the wide filter is great for the best audio on clear signals, there have been too many times when a program I was listening to had adjacent channel splatter which could not be cleaned up with the narrow choice. If the opposite channel was clear then I could always off-tune to that side, but many times that's not possible. From what I've been able to find out, the filters are LC circuits and therefore can't be replaced, such as going from a cheap ceramic filter to a good Murata ceramic filter.

Another problem with the shortwave section of this radio is the bleedover effect from the different SW bands. You can tune on SW1, for instance, and be receiving signals from SW2 or whatever band next to the one in use has a transmisson on it at that spot of the dial. This is a well known issue but I've found that jiggling the band selector will clear it up, so it never bothered me.

FM reception is outstanding, perhaps the best radio I've ever come across for dxing the FM band in a portable. Beatiful seperation and capture.

This radio is truly a classic and, aside from the SW tuning and narrow filter, a pure joy to use any time of day. I think it has a killer look to it, as well.
 
RF2900 Rating: 4/5 Apr 1, 2006 18:34 Send this review to a friend
old fashoned sound and feel  Time owned: more than 12 months
this one is on all day. it has warm audio. makes music on shortave as good as it will sound anywhere. it reminds me of old am car radios. people used to say "good tone" but this expression makes audiophiles cringe.it's "tone" is much better than the later 2900 model. the tuning dial has crystal calibrated analog readout....very nostalgic and fun. if you're not feeling particularly nostalgic that day keep a digital radio around for checking. a bigger problem is tuning in ssb mode. it's quite a challenge, but CAN be done; if only out of pure meanness.the analog dial is a bit rubbery,but surprisingly stable once you leave it somewhere. the later 2900 model had a trimmer cap. one could be added here.i havn't done it yet. i would have to look inside. i was also thinking about a vernier reduction drive. however if it doesn't look good like it belongs there, the collector value is toast. like a lot of older radios, there is room inside to do other mods, but i have other radios.this one's just nice to look at and especially listen to.
 
SCTVGUY1 Rating: 5/5 Mar 3, 2006 11:35 Send this review to a friend
Greatest portable I own  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought mine new while in the service. It has taken quite a lot of use over the years, losing its whip antenna in the process. It reminds me of the old boatanchors in its tuning process, which definitely takes skill in doing. This is a great radio for BCB DX'ing and beats modern radios hands down. It has a treasured place alongside my two S-38's and got used during the four hurricanes we had in Florida. I regularly listen to NYC stations on it here in South Florida, and it pulls them in like locals.
 
N2HUN Rating: 5/5 Feb 8, 2006 15:46 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding  Time owned: more than 12 months
I rate this radio top notch. I purchased my first RF-2200 brand new back in 1976 from Grand Central Radio in New York City, enjoyed it for a number of years until I sold it to buy my first ham station. Anyway, about 23 years later I purchased a used one because I missed this great portable receiver. The sensitivity, with only the internal whip antenna, is outstanding on shortwave. It's signals are about as strong as my FRG-7 with an external antenna.

For AM DX, with the rotatable antenna, it has picked up stations as far away as Nova Scotia. I have owned a number of portables as well as desktop SW radios, and this one beats all the portables.

There are some things I would have liked it to have, such as longwave and possibly a little more of the lower end of the shortwave spectrum (it only goes down to about 3.5 mHz). But it that doesn't bother you, get one of these, you will not be disappointed.
 
WR2W Rating: 2/5 Dec 14, 2005 14:31 Send this review to a friend
A Banana Peel In A Puddle Of Oil  Time owned: more than 12 months
I think everyone is over rating this one, and paying way too much for them... I had 3 of these from the time they first came out to the time they were discontinued, and all were bought New. Yes, it has a very good receiver on the lower frequencies of the HAM, SW, and AM broadcast. However, 20 through 10 meters had totally unacceptable frequency stability, and only fairly acceptable frequency stability from 20 meters to AM broadcast. This was also true of their other portables in the series as well as their base receiver. Panasonic did Nothing to correct the stability problem during their production runs.
 
KF7CR Rating: 5/5 Dec 10, 2005 01:01 Send this review to a friend
Wonderful receiver  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a great radio! I have perhaps 25, and I consider this my favorite. This is one of the best analog portable radios ever made. Accurate dial, stable sensitive and selective. Includes a crystal calibrator. Good BFO and SSB reception. While it is not a FRG-7 or Japan Radio super special, it is great. I used it India, back in the 70' and had to depend upon foreign news broadcasts to know what was going int the world. I gave up a lot of my airline baggage allowance to take this along. I have yet to find a digital portable radio that will light a candle to this. If you can get ahold of this radio, do it!
 
W8GTX Rating: 5/5 Sep 18, 2005 01:25 Send this review to a friend
excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
If your looking for a good solid AM/FM/SW broadcast receiver this should be on your list! The analog dial on mine is spot on in accuracy. Reception of AM & FM signals is what really shines from this radio IMHO. I have many consumer multiband portable radios from the 60s 70s and 80s and for AM/FM DXing this one is at the top. It's SW reception is no better or worse when compared to other high end portables such as the Zenith Trans Oceanic but it out shines most when it comes to it's abilities on AM/FM BC bands.

This radio is noted as one of the best by AM BC DXers. So I bought one recently just to see what all the hoopla is about and I must say, I agree. Sound quality is not only good, but excellent from this portable. Performance wise both sensitivity & selectivity our outstanding for a radio of this type and this is on both AM/FM BC bands. The Gyro loop stick antenna for AM on this rig really helps in nulling strong signals from weaker ones. Also this radio doesn't suffer from "noise" on the AM band like many portables do. It reminds me of an automotive radio, low noise with high sensitivity. Another asset is the AM BC band is evenly spread out from bottom to top in 20-kc increments. On FM BC it is again, one of the best portables I own bar none!
 
KA2EEV Rating: 5/5 Jul 26, 2005 17:31 Send this review to a friend
Best analog portable ever made  Time owned: more than 12 months
Introduced by Panasonic to the shortwave community around 1976, the RF-2200 was certainly a marvel of achievement for its day, and could very well be the best damn analog portable ever made. This radio still commands high respect today and can easily fetch anywhere between $150 to $200 on ebay in good working condition. You're getting it for a steal if you are lucky enough to find one of these gems at a flea market or yard sale for $100 or less!
Here is a receiver which offers the combined advantages of good solid construction along with high quality specs and great features. Being no slouch to size and weight, the RF-2200 is built around a heavy duty plastic body measuring 12" x 4" x 7" and it weighs in at a hefty 6 lbs without batteries. Its tuning range covers 8 selectable bands which include, the medium wave BC band 520 to 1600 KHz, FM band 88 to 108 MHz, and shortwave frequencies 3.8 to 28 MHz. It features an analog frequency scale matched together with a manual rotary dial. Accurate and reliable tuning is accomplished with a set of 125kHz and 500kHz calibration markers. The radio also features a BFO which provides adequate reception for SSB / CW signals, selectable fast and slow tuning speeds, selectable wide and narrow bandwidth, RF gain control, separate bass and treble controls, plus good illumination for tuning and signal meter. All of these features on the RF-2200 are further enhanced by a receiver having excellent sensitivity along with audio that delivers a full rich sound. This is a radio that is a genuine pleasure to use...both for beginners and seasoned users alike! 73,
KA2EEV
 
<— Page 2 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.