- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | Yaesu FTdx-9000 (non PEP version only) Help

Reviews Summary for Yaesu FTdx-9000 (non PEP version only)
Yaesu FTdx-9000 (non PEP version only) Reviews: 44 Average rating: 4.5/5 MSRP: $$11,500
Description: Yaesu's newest rig. Covering HF and 6 meters; this radio will be available in a total of three configurations including a 200 and 400 watt versions. The 200 watt versions feature a built-in power supply. There will be an external power supply on the 400 watt version.
Product is in production.
More info:
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FTdx-9000 (non PEP version only).

Page 1 of 5 —>

M0AUW Rating: 5/5 Oct 19, 2016 11:29 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Rig  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've only recently got this Rig and having owned a 1000MP and the 2000d I was a little bit hesitant because of the price, even when 2nd hand. But once used in action I was immediately impressed with this beast. The very first QSO I had was a CW operator in Russia 2000 km from my QTH using 1500 mw of power, nobody else could hear him but the FTDX9000MP could! I've continued to sample the CW side so far and the receive capability is amazing. It's the old adage what you hear you can work. I'm glad I bought this rig
AA6VB Rating: 4/5 May 10, 2016 16:30 Send this review to a friend
FTDX-9000 Contest  Time owned: more than 12 months
I had this radio for several years and really enjoyed it. The ergonomics were poor, but the performance was a major step up from the FT1000D.

I added a number of options including the second RX. It seems to be a common misconception that adding the second receiver reduces the "gain" of the main receiver. This is not true. The system "gain" is unchanged. What does change, however, is the amount of signal that goes to each receiver. The signal power is split and only half of the signal goes to each receiver. This reduces the signal strength (and noise) by 3 db. It is physics, not a defect in the radio. This is true for ALL radios with two receivers that share the same antenna.

Lots to like about the radio.
K0IVK Rating: 4/5 May 10, 2016 11:26 Send this review to a friend
FTDX-9000MP  Time owned: more than 12 months
I made my 1st QSO with my FTDX-9000MP on December 30, 2011. I bought it used and it was already 5 years old, being manufactured in 2006. The radio will soon be 10 years old !! I have never had a moments trouble with it. I bought the MP model expressly for the 400 Watt feature. I was already using an FT-2000D at 200 watts and liked the simplicity of not using a linear with it. I had an old SB201 which I could use with my TS-570 but the extra tuning of the amp was a pain, so I primarily used the FT-2000. I had noticed the 9000MP as soon as they came out but I couldn't justify paying the new price for ham gear, so I waited till 2011 and went with a used one. The 9000 has simplified greatly my hamming. Contrary to others comments, I have found operation of the radio to be very simple and straight foward. The very fast QSK allows me to hear everything going on between transmissions, and 400 W signal allows me to work nearly everything I can hear. I prefer not to run much more power than 400 Watts because I live in a crowded residential area and respect my neighbors. I constantly use the CW message memories, saving wear and tear on my Arthritic fingers. I did the last software mods in 2012 to add 60 Meter CW. The only complaint I could make about the 9000 has to do with the 2nd receiver. When the 2nd RX is switched in, the gain on the 1st RX drops. So I leave the 2nd RX off except to check my transmitting frequency, then shut it off again. My FT2000 does't have this problem, Yaesu must have corrected it by then.
It was only because of the problem with the 2nd RX that I give it a 4 instead of a 5.
I still wouldn't trade it for any radio except maybe a 600W Hilberling PT-8000....Maybe.
VE4BAE Rating: 4/5 Apr 1, 2015 17:38 Send this review to a friend
lots to learn  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I wrote a reveiw on the yaesu ft-9000 contest rig and since the reveiw I have learned a lot about the radio Its still a difficult radio to get to know but I will get there some day soon. I have up graded the radio to a 4 out of 5 as i have learned to operate the radio better lots of reading and lots of settings will try to keep you posted
W3DCB Rating: 5/5 May 7, 2009 17:59 Send this review to a friend
Superior!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have just written a quick review a few days ago upon receiving my new 9000D. It is too soon to give a detailed review. However, there is just one issue which I just have to tell about! I placed my new FTdx-9000D right next to my Icom IC-7800. Same frequency, same antenna, monitoring the same stations. The FTdx-9000D is by far superior. This is not an issue of sensitivity. It is an issue of inteligability. Faint signals are brought out of the noise by both. However, the Yaesu delivers much superior inteligability hands down. Even after fiddling with all of the controls, notch filters, band pass, etc., there is just no comparison. The Yaesu out-performs the 7800. I would not have believed it, but it is true. I do not know if this is a function of the PEP update, but hats off to Yaesu! Thanks for reading...73.
Daniel Baral wb2mjb
AC4SF Rating: 5/5 Mar 11, 2009 12:32 Send this review to a friend
ft9000contest  Time owned: more than 12 months
Ive seen in a ft2000/D(both models) and have a ft9000 contest right now and the receiver in the ft2000/D is not the same as in a contest.And before someone says maybe they changed it in the pep version please understand I do have the pep done to my ft9000 contest.The contest as well as the FT9000 D/MP models have the same RX1 UNIT.In fact the RX2 UNIT in the D/mp model is basically the same board as the RX1 unit.
AA6VB Rating: 5/5 Mar 11, 2009 10:26 Send this review to a friend
FTdx9000 Contest  Time owned: more than 12 months
I feel compelled to write an accurate review of the FTdx9000 series radios.

I recently contacted Yaesu management and received written confirmation that (a) the FT-2000/D receiver is not identical to the FTdx9000 receivers (although much of the technology for the FT-2000/D came from the FTdx9000 radios) and (b) the main and sub receiver boards are the same for all of the FTdx9000 Contest, D and MP radios.

You get what you pay for.


IK0YKM Rating: 4/5 Mar 11, 2009 04:19 Send this review to a friend
FTDX-9000 CONTEST  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Some time ago I used the Yaesu FTDX9000 Contest. The receiver is the same as the Yaesu FT-2000/D. Identical.
The difference is only with the u-Tune.
Perhaps for this reason the Yaesu was to reduce the selling price.
However, the "master commander" remains the FTDX9000/D model, full optional.
K7ERQ Rating: 5/5 Feb 23, 2009 08:57 Send this review to a friend
FTdx9000D PEP 9000 UPDATE! FANTASTIC!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
MY early FTdx9000D review here on Eham, July 05 show my early disappointment with my serial #XXXXX11. But Yaesu has pulled off a unbelieveable update with the PEP9000! Not even the same rig! I highly recommend anyone consider an FTdx9000D (WITH the PEP9000 UPDATE) if you are seeking best Amateur Transceiver ever produced.
I have the FTdx9000D next to an IC7800, IC7700, Orion II, Elecraft K3,...I like each one, they are all simply outstanding..BUT I prefer to use the FTdx9000D with the AWSOME improvrements of the PEP9000. I would NEVER recommend a FTdx9000D WITHOUT the PEP9000 updates!!!!!!!.
I congratulate YAESU for their OUSTANDING committment to their Amateur Radio customers with the PEP9000 committment!
NJ1X Rating: 5/5 Feb 3, 2009 12:53 Send this review to a friend
Excellent radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
My wife gave me this FTdx-9000D for Christmas and I couldn't have made a better choice myself.
I often use it with my Commander HF-2500 and they make a great pair.
I'm looking forward to using this radio for many years to come.
Page 1 of 5 —>

If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.