eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF models) | Yaesu FTdx-9000 (non PEP version only) Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu FTdx-9000 (non PEP version only)
Yaesu FTdx-9000 (non PEP version only) Reviews: 40 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $$11,500
Description: Yaesu's newest rig. Covering HF and 6 meters; this radio will be available in a total of three configurations including a 200 and 400 watt versions. The 200 watt versions feature a built-in power supply. There will be an external power supply on the 400 watt version.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.yaesu.com/indexVS.cfm?cmd=DisplayProducts&ProdCatID=102&encProdID=LGAPdoibciM%3D&DivisionID=65&isArchived=0
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FTdx-9000 (non PEP version only).

Page 1 of 4 —>

W3DCB Rating: 5/5 May 7, 2009 17:59 Send this review to a friend
Superior!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have just written a quick review a few days ago upon receiving my new 9000D. It is too soon to give a detailed review. However, there is just one issue which I just have to tell about! I placed my new FTdx-9000D right next to my Icom IC-7800. Same frequency, same antenna, monitoring the same stations. The FTdx-9000D is by far superior. This is not an issue of sensitivity. It is an issue of inteligability. Faint signals are brought out of the noise by both. However, the Yaesu delivers much superior inteligability hands down. Even after fiddling with all of the controls, notch filters, band pass, etc., there is just no comparison. The Yaesu out-performs the 7800. I would not have believed it, but it is true. I do not know if this is a function of the PEP update, but hats off to Yaesu! Thanks for reading...73.
Daniel Baral wb2mjb
 
AC4SF Rating: 5/5 Mar 11, 2009 12:32 Send this review to a friend
ft9000contest  Time owned: more than 12 months
Ive seen in a ft2000/D(both models) and have a ft9000 contest right now and the receiver in the ft2000/D is not the same as in a contest.And before someone says maybe they changed it in the pep version please understand I do have the pep done to my ft9000 contest.The contest as well as the FT9000 D/MP models have the same RX1 UNIT.In fact the RX2 UNIT in the D/mp model is basically the same board as the RX1 unit.
 
AA6VB Rating: 5/5 Mar 11, 2009 10:26 Send this review to a friend
FTdx9000 Contest  Time owned: more than 12 months
I feel compelled to write an accurate review of the FTdx9000 series radios.

I recently contacted Yaesu management and received written confirmation that (a) the FT-2000/D receiver is not identical to the FTdx9000 receivers (although much of the technology for the FT-2000/D came from the FTdx9000 radios) and (b) the main and sub receiver boards are the same for all of the FTdx9000 Contest, D and MP radios.

You get what you pay for.

73,

Bob/AA6VB
 
IK0YKM Rating: 4/5 Mar 11, 2009 04:19 Send this review to a friend
FTDX-9000 CONTEST  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Some time ago I used the Yaesu FTDX9000 Contest. The receiver is the same as the Yaesu FT-2000/D. Identical.
The difference is only with the u-Tune.
Perhaps for this reason the Yaesu was to reduce the selling price.
However, the "master commander" remains the FTDX9000/D model, full optional.
 
K7ERQ Rating: 5/5 Feb 23, 2009 08:57 Send this review to a friend
FTdx9000D PEP 9000 UPDATE! FANTASTIC!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
MY early FTdx9000D review here on Eham, July 05 show my early disappointment with my serial #XXXXX11. But Yaesu has pulled off a unbelieveable update with the PEP9000! Not even the same rig! I highly recommend anyone consider an FTdx9000D (WITH the PEP9000 UPDATE) if you are seeking best Amateur Transceiver ever produced.
I have the FTdx9000D next to an IC7800, IC7700, Orion II, Elecraft K3,...I like each one, they are all simply outstanding..BUT I prefer to use the FTdx9000D with the AWSOME improvrements of the PEP9000. I would NEVER recommend a FTdx9000D WITHOUT the PEP9000 updates!!!!!!!.
I congratulate YAESU for their OUSTANDING committment to their Amateur Radio customers with the PEP9000 committment!
 
NJ1X Rating: 5/5 Feb 3, 2009 12:53 Send this review to a friend
Excellent radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
My wife gave me this FTdx-9000D for Christmas and I couldn't have made a better choice myself.
I often use it with my Commander HF-2500 and they make a great pair.
I'm looking forward to using this radio for many years to come.
 
AC4TT Rating: 5/5 Nov 5, 2008 19:32 Send this review to a friend
An operator's review of FT-9000d  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is an operator's --not an engineer's-- review. I have a new FT-9000d from factory 3 mos. ago. I have used in contests and in direct switching comparisons with the K3, the ORION ONE, and the IC-775dsp. I have a history in this shack of op of FT-1000MP Mark 5. I was licensed in 1957 and hold a Ph.D. in the humanities. I am a contester and DXer.
1. Receiver...Operationally equal to the K3 in all ssb tests. FT's filtering of all kinds is not as sharp as K3 on CW. FT rings at tighter settings. FT auto notch is useless. FT manual notch is unbeatable and there is a visual assist in adjustment of it. The u-Tune filters are great...no loss of intelligibility but substantial reduction in all kinds of noises, but only makes improvements 30% of the time by tuning it off-center. FT needs lots of experimenting with Contour and DSP controls to find your favorite setting. I use Cont at 10 o'clock and DSP at 2 or 3 o'clock. Receiver hears everything the K3 hears (sensitivity)and selectivity on ssb is equal to superior to K3, but FT is weaker than K3 on CW.
2. Transmitter... puts out clean RF to 200watts, what more can I say. Drives amps ok.
3. Ease of use... MANY knobs and switches make the FT a dial-fiddler's dream and functions for the first rcvr are duplicated for the other rcvr. Both seem to be same performance. Built- in information screen is great, bright enuf, large enuf, and displays so much. I do not need outboard monitor, but I wear glasses. Band scope is almost fast enuf for real time, but stops changing when the main dial is turned, making tuning onto the desired sig peak unhandy. Grey-line map is fun. The FT is the best base radio for hams who like many controls, a beautifully smooth main tuning and a real precision feel to other knobs, too. Very great tactile feel. Some of the sw LEDs are too dim and the light bar above the left group of knobs is way too dim. Not all LEDs change color the way the book sez. If you like to OPERATE a real radio, not a computer screen and mouse, the FT-9000d should be your first choice.
4. Overall... I turn to the K3 only for a long CW session. If I had only the K3, I would add it to a computer and bandscope because then it would be more easy to control instead of so many multi-function buttons. However, it is the FT that gives me-- by far-- the most operating pleasure.
de K4VUD Charles
 
EI7BA Rating: 5/5 Aug 16, 2008 16:42 Send this review to a friend
Impressive  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Very impressive. No issues so far. Everything works as described.Very easy to operate,and like the FT-1000D, mechanically excellent. No surprises there....For that kind of money it ought to be good.
 
K9OQ Rating: 5/5 Jul 19, 2008 12:09 Send this review to a friend
This is the best  Time owned: more than 12 months
I received my FTdx9000D about two years ago. It was my type of radio. Heavy, built like a tank and lots of knobs! I was in love with the radio from the beginning. I use it with the VL 1000 amp and it is a great combination. I want to focus attention however on Dennis K7BV. What a champion of the Yaesu users he is! How many times can you pick up the phone and talk to the person who is actually in charge and find that person compassionate rather than defensive and have them go to bat for you. Any radio as sophisticated as the FTdx9000 series has the potential for problems. However, for any company in today’s world to come forward and retrofit the radio at no expense to the customer even including shipping is a sign of unbelievable integrity. Since Dennis has come on board I can say that Yaesu service is the model for any industry. Anyone buying an FTdx9000 can not only be assured of the best in amateur radio but be assured that the company believes enough in quality that they are willing to step up when necessary. The definition of a quality company is one that meets the defined needs of the customer. Yaesu has done that in spades. Given how the radio works now I can only imagine what it will be like after the retrofit! Thanks to Dennis and Yaesu for a great product and wonderful support.
 
K5VY Rating: 5/5 Jun 9, 2008 14:24 Send this review to a friend
Best I've ever owned!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I own the FTdx-9000MP, 400 watt model. I've added the three Mu-tuners, and the outboard monitor display. I've had this unit since December of 2006. Let me say that I've been envolved in Ham Radio as a Hobby since 1947, and Wireless Telecommunications (we called it "radio" most of the time ) as a profession since 1958.

I've had Drake, Collins, Hallicrafters, endless military gear, Icom, Kenwood and eary Yaesu radios during that time. Add plenty of Commercial equipments to the list, and you'll get the idea...

Certainly, there were units that were outstanding at the time, but none to compare with this unit. Sensitivity and selectivity are without doubt the best. Along with a nice assortment of filters and Rx & Tx extras, I can't imagine this radio being any better!! I'm getting DX contacts from around the world running a barefoot 200-250 watts!! Running Class A, SSB with outstanding audio reports. CW & digital are really rewarding too. Mostly on 40 meters on a wire dipole!! The 66' tower is going up this Summer or Fall, with a 20 meter beam, God and my XYL willing !! I have to admit it took me several months to "Learn" this radio, but it is a patient teacher!

Now I learn there is a retrofit/recall program in the works. And at Yaesu's expense!! Including Shipping both ways!! So, as the saying goes, "The best is getting Better"... As one of my Aussie buddies says.."It's a bit pricey, but worth every bit..."

Best 73
Garland, K5VY
 
Page 1 of 4 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.