eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: VHF/UHF+ Omnidirectional: verticals, mobile, etc | Diamond SRH805 144/430/1200 Mhz SMA HT Antenna (ducky) Help


Reviews Summary for Diamond SRH805 144/430/1200 Mhz SMA HT Antenna (ducky)
Diamond SRH805 144/430/1200 Mhz  SMA  HT  Antenna (ducky) Reviews: 14 Average rating: 3.6/5 MSRP: $39,95
Description: Short HT Antenna (SMA) for 144/430 1200 Mhz, with wide band receiving coverage. only 4 1/2 cm long.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Diamond SRH805 144/430/1200 Mhz SMA HT Antenna (ducky).

Page 1 of 2 —>

M1CXF Rating: 5/5 Sep 17, 2015 06:41 Send this review to a friend
Great for its size  Time owned: more than 12 months
This antenna can only be described as physically small but considering its size it is an excellent performer.
I have had one on my ic-e90 for many years and its performance impressed me so much over the standard issue that when I ordered a new id-51e plus I ordered another diamond srh805s for it at the same time.
Beware the Chinese copies. A neighbouring ham bought one of those and it wasn't even a dummy load! It was identical, including the name markings.
Would I buy anther? I already have, and would do it again if I needed too.
 
W5DTW Rating: 1/5 Mar 10, 2015 07:05 Send this review to a friend
2M no way  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Tested this on an Aeroflex 3550R, from 140-150 MHz the swr is over 7:1 might work marginally on 70CM as the swr is fairly flat at 2.9/3.0:1 across the 440-450 range.
 
KA5SVR Rating: 1/5 Jun 22, 2014 13:29 Send this review to a friend
Good RX Bad TX  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Receives great all the way up to 800 MHz. Its transmit on VHF is very bad. I hit the repeater (less than 7 miles) but cannot be understood.
 
KC2VVC Rating: 4/5 Aug 4, 2013 12:29 Send this review to a friend
Impressive on UHF  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Very nice stubby for UHF work. On a Baofeng UV5R, my watt meter only shows 4 watts for the high setting on UHF but with this little antenna, the combo is impressive. Even receive is very impressive for such a small amount of surface area.

For 2 meters, look elsewhere, this antenna is simply ineffective even for close in stuff in my experience with it thus far.

Well worth buying for UHF.
 
AA7BI Rating: 4/5 Apr 19, 2012 08:56 Send this review to a friend
Better Than A Dummie-Load  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
NO antenna this size is going to work well!

That being said, for close-range work and shirt-pocket operation, you can't beat this stubby. After all, according to regulation, we only need to produce enough RF to get the job done.

I expected transmit to be AWFUL, and was not disappointed. What did surprise me was how good the receive is.

To summarize:

Receive A-
Transmit D-
Convenience A+

Great scanner antenna....

de AA7BI/VE5
 
W9HAN Rating: 4/5 Oct 24, 2008 19:51 Send this review to a friend
Good performance for size  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I put my SRH805S onto my MFJ-269 analyzer and found the bandwidth to very narrow, but very good SWR at the "sweet spot". Got SWR readings of about 1.2:1 at 145.500 and 438.000. If you are more than 0.500 MHz away from these frequency centers the SWR hits 3:1 very fast. I set my radios for 438.000 and 0.5 watt and went 0.6 miles with ease with full quieting through homes and heavy trees. This test was done with two ICOM IC-91AD radios each with the SRH805S antenna.

I have not tested 2M yet as I really purchased this antenna for 70cm work. You canít expect any kind of performance in the VHF band with a bullet size antenna.

This is a good antenna for close work. What was said earlier is true that you need a club for each shot and this one is for chipping onto the green on VHF and itís a 9 iron on UHF.
 
N3IDG Rating: 2/5 Jul 19, 2008 13:10 Send this review to a friend
poor  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
got this antenna to use on icom ic-q71 to carry in shirt pocket duing storm warnings so i didnt get poked for not getting poked this antenna receives an A but for receive it gets a D- used a staighted paper clip for better receive than this antenna
 
K6USN Rating: 5/5 Jun 21, 2008 06:45 Send this review to a friend
Has its place in the toolbox  Time owned: more than 12 months
Like a bag of golf clubs, there are different antennas for different 'shots' and conditions.
When traveling with other hams or for local work, I find the SRH805 to be a good performer for Simplex use up to about a mile (depending on terrain). Like others have mentioned, it works
repeaters if they are nearby.
A very well made antenna, it fits on my IC92AD like it was made for it, and it is my antenna of choice for hiking and sporting events. I carry
a longer ducky for the times when I need it.
Allen
K6USN (E51USN)
 
N8EKT Rating: 3/5 Jun 19, 2008 15:17 Send this review to a friend
Ok on uhf  Time owned: more than 12 months
This antenna is typical of antennas this size.
Poor performance on 2 meters and fair performance on uhf.
 
SQ5NAZ Rating: 5/5 Mar 7, 2007 13:33 Send this review to a friend
Very good for 70 cm  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought it in Avanti in Warsaw. I looked for small antenna for 70 cm and 2m bands. SRH-805S is good for 70 cm band. It works well with my Yaesu VX-7R. On 2m band it isn't as good as yaesu antenna but if you're close to repeater it works. Ducky is good choice when you looking for very short antenna (only 4.5 cm). I think it's great if you like work on repeater in city centres and... what can I say... For me: great! :)
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.