eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: VHF/UHF+ Omnidirectional: verticals, mobile, etc | Diamond X-50A Help


Reviews Summary for Diamond X-50A
Diamond X-50A Reviews: 28 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $99.95
Description: 2m/70cm Dual Band High Performance Gain Vertical Base Station Antenna
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Diamond X-50A.

<— Page 2 of 3 —>

IZ2EAS Rating: 5/5 Jan 20, 2012 12:23 Send this review to a friend
Great antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
My first X50 has been installed for more than 10 years now, without problems, at my holiday house, on the mountains; it got heavy doses of sun, rain, snow and ice. I was so satisfied with it that I purchased a second X50 for my main station in Milano. It is really a set-and-forget antenna, good performance and no troubles. Wish all the antennas were like that.
 
KJ6MSG Rating: 5/5 Nov 6, 2011 17:54 Send this review to a friend
Solid Performance  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Paired with my Yaesu FT-7900R, this antenna has given me solid performance. I receive nothing but good reports on my transmissions and I can clearly hear every repeater and public service/aviation transmission in the area. Very nice antenna.
 
W2NJU Rating: 5/5 Sep 5, 2011 14:48 Send this review to a friend
Great Antenna For the Money  Time owned: more than 12 months
Low VSWR across 2m and 440. Withstood Irene from a chimney mount 40 feet up with no damage. No increase in SWR even in heavy rains. Solid signal reports. In short I love this antenna. Put it and forget it. Hopefuly for 10 years.
 
KE5JA Rating: 5/5 Nov 22, 2009 09:29 Send this review to a friend
Excellent!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Well built, very low SWR, all that I expected and more. The antenna is mounted half way down on the back side of my roof (keep the neighbors happy), and with 50 watts and the space station ~ 22 degrees to the south and east, I was able to maintain an eight minute QSO with NA1SS recently!
 
N0FPE Rating: 5/5 Nov 7, 2009 06:42 Send this review to a friend
Bee's knee's  Time owned: more than 12 months
works good for me.
 
WE8Q Rating: 5/5 Nov 7, 2009 06:14 Send this review to a friend
Strong  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Put this antenna atop my new tower. This antenna is like a baseball bat...very strong. Low SWR and excellent performance on both bands.
 
W5XJ Rating: 4/5 May 28, 2009 17:14 Send this review to a friend
so far so good on 144/440  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just put it above my garage in the attic at 15 feet AGL and it is nice. Hits repeaters 30+ miles away, good quieting on locals. Perfect height - fits just under the roof peak on a broomstick for a mast in a milk crate with paint cans for ballast. The jury is still out on VHF DX, i keep calling on SSB but have few QSO's to show for it.
 
KJ4EOZ Rating: 5/5 May 19, 2009 14:24 Send this review to a friend
very nice antenna  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have been using this antenna for about 90 days now , and works very good . SWR's are flat on 2 meters and 440 1.1 but i am using 50 feet 9913 Coax .
and the antenna is up about 55 - 60 feet up .
the repeater im on most of the time , is 40 miles
away . and i can work it with 5 watts out of my FT-8800R . pick one up you will be happy !!!!
 
K1MRI Rating: 5/5 Apr 29, 2009 16:17 Send this review to a friend
Good to go  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have 2 of these mounted about 35' up at the peak of the house, both up there for over 12 years. Using my HT I can hit machines some 30 miles away........on 5 watts! Easy to put together (this was my 1st antenna)and mount.

Looking for a great antenna look no further.
 
K2ID Rating: 5/5 Oct 16, 2008 20:39 Send this review to a friend
Fits in my attic  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have two in my attic. One on the north side and one on the south. I use a coax switcher to go from one to the other. Most of the time they receive and send about the same but there are some places that I can only reach with one or the other.

The short size makes it a perfect fit for my attic. Good enough to reach over 25 repeaters in NJ/NY area. Not very interested in VHF/UHF simplex so this antenna is perfect for me. Occasionally will use it with my 746 Pro simplex but I mostly use it with my Yaesu 817. 5 watts and this antenna is usually all I need to work the area repeaters and even a few in NYC.
 
<— Page 2 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.