eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Yaesu VX-6R Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu VX-6R
Yaesu VX-6R Reviews: 115 Average rating: 4.5/5 MSRP: $$275 USD
Description: 144/220/440 Triband Handheld Transceiver
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.yaesu.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu VX-6R.

Page 1 of 12 —>

N4GKS Rating: 5/5 Jul 12, 2014 08:18 Send this review to a friend
Great little radio  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I've had this radio for about 8 months now and I love it. Great audio and has lots of features. I would but another in a second.
 
N6BIZ Rating: 5/5 May 19, 2014 22:22 Send this review to a friend
TERRIFC  Time owned: more than 12 months
HAD MY VX6 FOR YEARS ... NOT A SINGLE PROBLEM ...
 
KF4BOG Rating: 5/5 May 19, 2014 16:47 Send this review to a friend
Easy to use   Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This radio is a good radio for the ham that got his/her licence. I've had many Yaesu radio like the ft50 and also the ft60 . But you can't beat this one after you'll learned how to program the ft60 this radio is a walk in the park. So i think you should let this radio "yes" this is a must have radio
 
KK4PLD Rating: 2/5 Mar 21, 2014 07:38 Send this review to a friend
Low reception quality  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I delayed in reviewing this radio publicly until I have tested every avenue possible to rule out any issues on my part.

This was my first radio after getting my license. I realize that I am working with a radio that is portable, small and low power compared to a mobile unit with 50w. I did not expect to simplex at 60 miles but to be able to hit local repeaters. I have had good audio reports to a point but the weak link is the reception. My biggest complaints are two-fold. Low quality output on the speaker and low quality reception.

Once you program a frequency in a memory it will stay there. If you do not want to scan it you can select to skip that channel. To erase any memories you can either reset or overwrite the memory. That bad part is that if you have quite a few memories on skip and you are manually tuning through the memories to a particular frequency, it may be a while until you find it if you do not know where that frequency is stored. If you know the channel it is stored in you can select it directly from the keypad.


I purchased a Diamond SRH320A antenna with the idea I would have better reception. I also purchased Diamond MR77 SMA mag-mount antenna then went with a permanent 5/8 wave Diamond SG-7500.

Reception on all these antennae results in weak and scratchy signals. I have an area of town where a particular repeater fades out due to geographical terrain. Using any portable screw on antenna makes it hard to hear the repeater, it is often scratchy and intermittant. Moving up to the 1/4 wave and 5/8 wave is not much better. When I installed my FT-8800 I was able to not lose the repeater at all where the VX6R did not perform well at all.

Yesterday I finally tested it against another handheld, a Realistic HT-202 and a VX1R that a co-worker (ham also) had. The repeater was about 7 miles from me, line of sight. In front of me was an airport, university and then downtown where the repeater antenna was located. The VX6R reception is not full scale, scratchy and audio was poor. The HT-202 had much clearer audio, less noise and almost full scale. My co-worker and I switched radios for a sanity check, he too saw the performance difference.

When I got my license I did not just buy this used at a hamfest, I researched all the hand helds using eHam.com and based on my needs this radio had good reviews. All-in-all I used 4 different antennas using different locations and different users. I am very disappointed in the cost to performance ratio. If I had to do it again I would buy a Baofeng for $50.

Maybe I got a bad radio, I don't know. Again I realize that I am not working with a powerful radio but the reception should be better for the price and reputation for Yaesu. I am planning on selling this radio and getting something else.
 
N4GKS Rating: 5/5 Mar 1, 2014 16:22 Send this review to a friend
Great handheld  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Radio has received great audio reports and has a fine receiver. I also bought the CD for programming from ADMS and it works great. Can't ask for a better radio.I did however buy the Comet 224 antenna, because as usual, the supplied antenna leaves a lot to be desired. The supplied antenna does work better on the FM commercial stations than the Comet.
 
W5PFG Rating: 5/5 Oct 16, 2013 09:22 Send this review to a friend
Hard to beat 8 years later  Time owned: more than 12 months
Not many HT's make it this long in my collection. Normally I "upgrade" or move on to bigger and better features. Since reviewing this radio in April 2005 (under my old call,) it has been my primary go-to HT.

I have tried several other makes and models over the years and keep coming back to my trusty VX-6R.

The OEM batteries died a long time ago but I replaced them with W&W Associates brand FNB80LI's. For 1/2 the price they last twice as long as the Yaesu OEM.
 
KF6VTA Rating: 1/5 Oct 14, 2013 16:30 Send this review to a friend
Very very very Bad for INTERMOD!!!!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Don't you think about having one of these in a urban area with many systems around you. I live in downtown Miami and this radio is simply useless. I have an FT-60R that handles Intermod great, buy one of those instead. The VX-6R is well build, metal case, Li-Ion battery, many features in the menu, DCS, narrow/wide band, 220Mhz!.etc etc etc...Simply take it outside your house and go to downtown and you will have a useless full bars signal box with nothing to receive. Sorry Yaesu, but not this time. I tried 4 diferent units between last year and last week. I returned all. Same problem, INTERMOD INTERMOD INTERMOD!!!!!!!.....Specially in UHF. Ft-60R is a winner, VX-3r and VX-5r handle fairly well. This one becomes useless. Save your money and get an FT-60R...You will be able to see the light!
 
K9XXX Rating: 5/5 Sep 6, 2013 13:16 Send this review to a friend
better than my 10-year-old vx7  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The audio quality is great, even when driven far
beyond any level I will ever need.
Volume control is dedicated by default to the center dial. No "push this,then turn this", or push and hold for 1 second,then turn this!"That's important to me, but it should be understood by all that "layered" controls are necessary in full
featured HT's.I have an extensive collection of after-market antennas,but even with the stock one
I don't need more 100mW for FQ with either of the local club's RPT's from inside home,so 300mW is overkill,but overall the power splits are perfect.
 
YO3IDN Rating: 5/5 Jul 4, 2013 06:43 Send this review to a friend
Sturdy and reliable  Time owned: more than 12 months
After many years of relying on the Kenwood TH-F7 which i love and think is an excellent HT (if not the best) in is class, I wanted a tougher and waterproof radio for using outdoors hiking, kayaking, skiing, camping, etc. I found an used (almost new) VX-6 and bought it at a good price and started fiddling with it. I've programmed it by keys pretty fast, but the hole menu is somewhat overwhelming due to the abbreviated settings names and the combination of keystrokes to reach some functions is hard to remember. I just set and forget the least used settings, but still find hard to remember some combinations of keys when I need to change something. I find the TH-F7 menu easier by far (maybe is just me getting used to it so many years).

First things I like about the VX-6 is the build quality: metal case except front (and battery) means good heatsink for the finals and good resistance to shocks. Nice finish as well. And most important for me - waterproofing. Solid 5W both in 144 and 440. Service menu accessible by keys - allowing to make further alignment if needed/wanted.

Few things most people complaint, I find as pluses:
-threaded waterproof speaker/mic port is absolutely needed when outdoor, where you really need an external speaker/mic, so what's the point on having a waterproof HT without a waterproof mike/connector? When kayaking it gets splashed a lot, sometimes even submersed for short time.
-belt clip looks absolutely ugly and cheap, but after some use I found it better then others, keeps the HT very well attached to my belt and the probability to have it dropped is very slim;
-it can be programmed by keys fairly easy.

The things I miss:
-a bigger battery (I always carry a spare battery in my backpack);
-dual receiving capability;
-more than 6 character alpha tagging;
-a smaller/lighter power adapter, maybe a switching one; the one supplied is noisy anyway, heavy and produces only 0,5 amp;
-a better antenna; since the EU version is locked for TX on 144/440 MHz only, why not supply a real dual band with it?

Couple days ago I find another used unit for sale and grabbed it without any hesitation for my recently licensed son, I think that says a lot about my opinion on the VX-6.
 
KK6BRV Rating: 5/5 Apr 3, 2013 21:55 Send this review to a friend
Multi-band Radio, good price.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Here are the Stars for VX-6R:
* Good wide range reciever covering most all bands with great sensitivity.
* Good Audio sound for the small size.
* Battery lasts 7+ hours and charges in 5 hours with charge indicator.
* Submersible good for Emergency and outdoors.
* Modification and you have TX for Air band, GMRS, Marine and others. I am licensed for GMRS and a licensed private IFR pilot. It is great to carry one HT that works for many bands.
 
Page 1 of 12 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.