eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Books/Manuals/Videos/Pod-WebCasts on ham radio | 200 Meters And Down Help


Reviews Summary for 200 Meters And Down
200 Meters And Down Reviews: 7 Average rating: 4.4/5 MSRP: $12.00
Description: The "Family Album" of Ham Radio, if you're a ham you really need to read this
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.arrl.org
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the 200 Meters And Down.

KD0ZV Rating: 3/5 Sep 23, 2017 12:56 Send this review to a friend
Hard to read !  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I probably should give it a 2 but it had a lot of accurate history about amateur radio that bumped it to a 3.

The book was dry and boring and had to force myself to read it. I actually gave up on finishing it at chapter 18 out of 20.

Part of it might be from the fact it was written 80 years ago. It answered lots of questions but created even more because you had no idea how they carried out something they wrote about in the book before days when every house had phone, email,internet. Probably ignorance on my part for not knowing some of this but the book was genuinely drab.

I learned more from Arthur Collins book about history although it did not cover the league.

If anyone has suggestions on something better to read drop me a message. Email good her and QRZ.
 
KE0Z Rating: 5/5 Oct 5, 2015 18:56 Send this review to a friend
An enlightening read.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Reading 'Thunderstruck' by Erik Larson which chronicled Marconi's invention of wireless whetted my appetite to learn more about the history of radio. '200 meters and down' was a natural follow up book for me. The book was written in 1936 and was surprisingly prophetic in predicting television and single sideband voice transmission. Before 1929 hams ranged freely on frequencies below 200 meters. In 1929 hams were corralled into ham bands. Many counties wanted hams to have little or no spectrum privileges but thanks to lobbying by the ARRL we ended up with at least decent sized ham bands. It's a good read for those curious about the history of amateur radio.
 
N3DF Rating: 3/5 Aug 8, 2008 11:16 Send this review to a friend
Dry Reading  Time owned: more than 12 months
Unillustrated and, for the most part, uninteresting. The dull writing style does not help. I believe that most people will fund "Fifty Years of ARRL," a book that collects QST articles commemorating the League's 50th anniversary in 1964, a far more useful review of early amateur radio.
 
W2NSF Rating: 5/5 Jun 26, 2008 15:05 Send this review to a friend
Must read  Time owned: more than 12 months
Love the dated style. Couldn't get enough of the history. Interesting to see the hobby transform after almost going under. Should be must reading for all hams, newbies to OMs. See that your local library gets a copy for you and your friends.
 
KY6R Rating: 5/5 Jun 26, 2008 13:45 Send this review to a friend
Exciting  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The stories about the accomplishments of hams around the world - and their pursuit to improve the technical aspects, the operating aspects and the DX-ing aspects of amateur radio is very exciting.

It even reminded me that traffic handling (before our "ho - hum" over-wired world") was an exciting pursuit.

Funny to read the fellows who proclaimed they would never give up spark, and their contemporaries - who used tubes and CW and pushed way past the "supposed" tubes ratings.

Better, faster, more!
 
WI7B Rating: 5/5 Nov 17, 2006 13:15 Send this review to a friend
A definitive history of ham  Time owned: more than 12 months

One or two things may surprise you in '200 Meters and Down'. It is not all complements for Hiram and or the ARRL.

Specifically, you don't need a microscope to detect DeSoto's criticism of the ARRL during the important international negotiations for the first, defined amateur bands in the 1920s.

You may also be surprised to learn that convicts were also hams in the early years, or that a sharecropper's son built a CW rig from scratch using an appliance motor to make a vacuum pump to faricate his own tubes. Amazing stuff.
 
N8DXR Rating: 5/5 Jul 27, 2005 16:30 Send this review to a friend
A fine starting point, but take note of the writing style...  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
...which is pretty dated, almost as if the gentility of the conservatory (read: snobbishly effete) was as important as the facts. So be warned that DeSoto's tone can get to you if you let it; editors of today would have cut out a great amount of his flowery language and metaphors, without losing sight of the points he wanted to get across.

But what keeps DeSoto's work at "5" range is the sheer breadth of history, particularly in the early days of our hobby. Yes, the truly definitive history of Amateur Radio is waiting to be written - but this is a great starting point for the researcher willing to undertake the task. Still available through the ARRL, and a pretty good gift or library addition in its own right.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.