eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Hand-held | Icom IC-V82 Help


Reviews Summary for Icom IC-V82
Icom IC-V82 Reviews: 31 Average rating: 4.1/5 MSRP: $$239.99
Description: 2M HT
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Icom IC-V82.

Page 1 of 4 —>

KD8QOI Rating: 5/5 Apr 3, 2014 15:27 Send this review to a friend
Wow! Nice HT  Time owned: more than 12 months
Very nice HT! It is not rated to be waterproof but can take a bit of water. I use this radio for any use in areas where it may be dropped. Mainly because it is cheap.. But it also feels like a brick and I have dropped it many times. Once from a second story window (onto grass) and it still works great! The HT is also pretty easy to program and very very easy to use after you read the mannual
 
RAINS Rating: 5/5 Nov 21, 2012 20:27 Send this review to a friend
A rare gem!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Watch out for fake v82's! Only buy from authorized retailers or someone who did.

I've had a lot of HT's but this one is special.Sad that's it's been discontinued. Quite obviously it's a casualty of cheap chi-com Ht's.
bought mine for use at volunteer events where I help provide e-com. So I need a radio that can really get out and has great battery life.


Pro's
1.Sturdy
2. big but not too big. really it's perfect size.
3.very good RX and TX. People sometimes can't tell I'm on an HT!
4.with AA pack you can use 1.2v-1.5v AA's of any type.2700mah AA nimhs give mine super long battery life!
5.great stock antenna with real BNC on it! No need to buy an aftermarket unit.
6. GREAT STRONG belt clip. Yaesu are you listening?
7. 7w output dose help in the real world.

Cons
1.stock battery is junk! toss it!
2. Not waterproof. Then again few ht's are.
3.small display
4. AA case makes radio a little fat for thous with small hands.
5. It was a little tough for "me" to program

Great radio for any fair weather events. If you don't go out in the rain or snow buy this radio. It's great for home use as well. Or if you need an HT that will work in the car. 12v adapters are dirt cheap!
Bottom line this is the ideal volunteer event radio as long as it's not raining. Or for hiking or for biking or for in the car or or or. Just don't get it wet. Good luck finding one. Mine won't be going up for sale! 73's!
 
KK4JVR Rating: 5/5 Jul 28, 2012 16:12 Send this review to a friend
Great radio!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The supplied antenna was able to reach the nearest repeater(15 miles away)! I have used it for HAM and also to monitor public safety freq. It works well for both! I have found it very easy to program and use! This was my first HT and I really like it!! Simple and inexpensive(most of the time) HT!!
 
KF7SWC Rating: 5/5 Apr 20, 2012 20:09 Send this review to a friend
Very nice radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'm new to the ham world but in the short time I have used this HT I really like it so far. This is my first HT and I really like how easy it is to program the unit. Not only that but I really like the 7 watts output as well. That extra 2 watts really makes a difference in reaching out and touching someone. Thats almost 50% more power. The battery lasts a long time as well and I rarely use the HT at 7 watts. I almost decided on a dual bander but 440Mhz is not popular here where I live so I opted for 2 meter only and this baby is rugged. She's built like a tank and for guys with big hands you will appreciate the heft of this HT. It just feels good in your hands.
 
KF7RYU Rating: 4/5 Mar 10, 2012 14:27 Send this review to a friend
Great radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
• Only had it a short time. I am an Alinco fan (for ham) Icom fan commercial band. This is easy to program feels good to hold. As far as all the battery concerns I have read. Go to amazon. This radio uses the same batteries for the IC F-11 and F-21 1800 to 2200 Mah for under 30 bucks and a charger “Compatible with Ni-MH, Ni-CD and Li-ON batteries” I have been using them for a long time and no problems. also for around 30 the factory charger works on 12 volts d.c. so mobile charging is a “no brainer” So I am using the batteries and chargers I have.
• It has great audio in and out, where my friends Vertex sounds “weak” we are told the v-82 sounds clear. On my Byrd meter it shows 7.5 watts low to 7.75 high. The antenna could be better and the BNC I have mixed feelings but they have worked for ever and make external hook up easy. Will see if it lasts as long as my work Icoms. So far I like it

 
K6HOM Rating: 4/5 Mar 9, 2011 16:42 Send this review to a friend
Nice, Simple, Rugged HT  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I purchased my V82 used with the higher capacity BP-210N battery. I also own an IC-92AD. Initially, I was surprised by the size of this HT, it was a lot larger and heavier than my 92AD. After several months of use, I really like this HT. Simple to program, easy to use, and I have come to prefer its larger size. No, there is no back-lighting for the keys and there is no battery status indicator. But this thing works and works well. Excellent RX, keeps right up with the 92AD RX. Simplicity is nice! Didn’t think that 2 extra watts (7W total) would make a difference, but it does at my suburban QTH. We have lots of surrounding flat farmland, I can hit a few repeaters that I normally cannot with 5W. Nice solid feel, well built (all metal), and very rugged. Very happy with this HT, it is the one that I take on business trips and vacations because it is simple to scan, find, set PL and save local repeaters that I am not familiar with. No operating manual or repeater guidebook needed. Might have to buy a U82 next. Highly recommended.
 
KJ6EFY Rating: 3/5 Jan 19, 2011 13:32 Send this review to a friend
Great little radio but could be much beter  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought this radio in January of 2011. I was looking for a cheap radio to get me back on the air and thought about another Yaesu FT 250 but decided I wanted to try something different. I liked the fact that this radio could be D STAR upgradeable and that it packs 7 watts output. I can say that coupled with the Diamond RH77CA this radio gets out pretty good on the repeaters. I can get a couple of distant repeaters that I could not get before. Audio quality is fairly good too. Now for the bad part. As has been said before the 600 MAH battery that comes standard with the radio is paltry to say the least. I have ordered an 1100 MAH battery but according to the specs don't expect much more life out of that one. If you want a LiOn battery not only are you gonna pay a premium for that but you will need to buy a whole new charger as all of their standard batteries are NiCad. The worst part of this radio is that there is no battery meter. When your battery runs out you will know when the radio wont transmit anymore usually in the middle of a conversation. While I love this radio I cant say I would buy another one I wish Icom would come out with an updated version of this radio and fix some of these major flaws.
 
KF7LNX Rating: 4/5 Oct 31, 2010 19:02 Send this review to a friend
Very Good First Radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
It's been 3 months since I have my first Technician License and since I have the Icom IC-V82 and it's been a great radio. This radio has all of the features that I would expect to have.

This radio have CTCSS/DTCS Tone, Repeater Off Set, NOAA Weather Radio, the ability of Scanning all other VHF Frequencies, and the capability of having 200 channels (Which is a lot to me, since I'm only using 76 channels). The radio is really durable and is built to last. I did drop the radio several times and it has survived a lot more better then most of my other scanners.

There is a few downsides that I have noticed with the radio. The first impression I noticed is that I wish the display of the radio could have been a bit larger and the keyboard pads could have been back lit for low light use.

Other then that, with the $140 that I paid for this radio, this radio is really durable with features that will make me happy. This is a great radio for first time ham users who don't want to break their budget. This radio is one of my personal recommended handheld radio.
 
KF6NNR Rating: 5/5 Oct 4, 2009 06:41 Send this review to a friend
great product!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I love this little ht!i bought it at ham radio outlet for $140 pluse $20 for a diamond antenna. most people say that the 7 watts is just a scam. WRONG! i can rach a repeater 50+ miles awy from my house. the audio on it is wonderful. the rubber duck antenna, not so good. it is not very flexible and mine is already sterting to come apart.i would recommend the diamond rh77ca. you can get those at HRO for about $20. alot of people have also said that it breaks with only a little bit of water touches it. NOT TRUE!! i had this radio in the rain for an hour and it still works perfectly fine. i love this radio and would recommend it for beginners and ham radio vetrans.

kf6nnr
 
SQ3HTB Rating: 0/5 Sep 23, 2009 07:10 Send this review to a friend
Low quality  Time owned: more than 12 months
I own this radio 3 almost year, accumulator has died after 1,5 year :(, it was loaded current 50mA (stabilized). Other my radio has proficient accumulators for 8-12 year when they are loaded so. Radio is unresistant break down on rain which microphone. It long price Iqom and low quality, each radio is better, even chinese. It falsity MIL-STD.
 
Page 1 of 4 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.