eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Work Bench Tools & Test Equipment | Weller WLC100 Solder Station Help


Reviews Summary for Weller WLC100 Solder Station
Weller WLC100 Solder Station Reviews: 8 Average rating: 4.0/5 MSRP: $$42.99
Description: 40 Watt Soldering Station for the Hobbyist and DIYer
This model is the Weller "Consumer" Solder Station line

Product Features:
-----------------
On/off switch with "power-on" indicator light
Variable power control (TRIAC design) produces 5-40 watts
Quality lightweight pencil iron (SPG40) is UNGROUNDED
Cushioned foam grip with replaceable heating element (HE40)
Ideal for hobbyist, DIYers and students
Safety guard iron holder (WCC105)
Natural sponge tip cleaning pad (WCC104)
Includes ST3 iron plated copper tip (1/8" wide screwdriver profile)
UL listed, cUL version available
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.cooperhandtools.com/brands/electronic_applications/index.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Weller WLC100 Solder Station.

N9MXQ Rating: 5/5 May 27, 2007 09:30 Send this review to a friend
Tried and true old friend  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my WLC100 back in the middle 90's. It's been through heck and back again. It was, and is, my first soldering station. I've used this little gem for everything from radio components to coax to minor jewelry repair. It's never failed me until now.

I believe the heating element has finally gone south. I plan on replacing the bad element and keeping on with the little gem.

If I'm reading the stickers right, mine is serial #0395.

I can't vouch for the newer versions, but if I were to find another WLC100 like mine in a garage sale, or hamfest, I'd buy it!
 
W3TUA Rating: 3/5 Mar 31, 2007 18:23 Send this review to a friend
Broken After A Year  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this soldering station due to the Weller name and the reviews on Eham. It was treated with loving care and I built several kits with it. Kept it clean and tinned.

The problem came about a year later when the set screw wouldn't hold any of the tips. I always made sure not to apply too much force but it didn't make a difference in my case.

I still use the base with a Walmart brand iron so it's not a complete bust.
 
W8ZNX Rating: 3/5 Mar 31, 2007 14:35 Send this review to a friend
ok but thats all  Time owned: more than 12 months
had mine for about 10 years

ok for light use
not grounded

no longer trust it
around some chips and transisters

if trying to de solder using
solder wick
tip looses heat
you sit there waiting
for the tip to get back up to temp agn

got my moneys worth out of it
but
for not much more money
you can get a much better tool

mac



 
AF6G Rating: 5/5 May 21, 2005 19:58 Send this review to a friend
Great deal for the money  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just brought the WLC-100 based on the positive reviews on this site. I want to amplify and add a few things:

1) The unit does come with a 3-prong, grounded cord and 3-prong, grounded outlet for the included iron but the iron supplied is a 2-prong (ungrounded) unit. You could plug in another grounded iron but make sure it is 40 watts or less, the same as the supplied SPG40. A higher wattage unit risks overloading the control circuitry.

2) As suggested in another review, do order the ST-1 tip. I was able to demount 2 surface mount switches with this tip. The supplied ST-3 tip is good for switches, tube equipment, etc.

3) Out of curiosity, I checked the controlled output under load using the supplied iron. On "1" output was 1.5 volts, on "5" the output was 114 volts, within 3 volts of the mains. While not obvious to me initially, the output is continuosly variable, not stepped 1,2,3, etc as I had assumed before buying it.

4) The screw used to retain the tip on my unit is flush with the barrell when tightened. A previous review mentioned problems with it catching on the funnel. Evidently, Weller is using a different type of retaining screw now. Mention was also made of the set screw being lost easily. A 1/2 turn of the screw is enough to allow removal of the tip on my unit, leaving about 4 more turns before the screw falls out of the barrell. Another revision?

5) Rebates - Weller is running a rebate on this unit thru June 30th, 2005. Weller's webpage rebate form lists a $10 rebate for the WLC100, but I was able to locate a $13 rebate on All-Spec's site:

(http://www.all-spec.com/cgi-bin/fccgi.exe?w3exec=showitem&w3product=WLC100&w3path=cat&e=5_05me)

They are selling the unit for $39.84 minus the $13 rebate = $26.84 (plus freight).

That's hard to beat. Between the price and (what appears to be) Weller's product improvements, you can't go wrong with this unit.


 
HBC610 Rating: 5/5 Apr 21, 2005 19:50 Send this review to a friend
Great Soldering Station for the Money  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought a WLC100 station at www.hmcelectronics.com at an unbealievable price. What a bargain. And the station is a real workhorse.
 
WV4R Rating: 5/5 Apr 19, 2005 19:22 Send this review to a friend
My 1999 Model: WCC100 keeps on Tickin'......  Time owned: more than 12 months
My 1999 Weller Model: WCC100 was a $30.00 promotional and it has been 100 percent reliable for me. Mine is a funny kind of institutional looking light green? Also, my soldering pencil cord is hard-wired into the base unit. So IF I had to find Something wrong with mine, it would be the absolutely tasteless Color! For almost Six Years of fully dependable service... In Spite of the Color... it warrants the wv4r FIVE Star Rating. 73 es God bless, murf/wv4r.
 
W9GB Rating: 3/5 Apr 19, 2005 19:06 Send this review to a friend
Budget minded choice  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
As a follow-up - the WLC-100 station on my workbench also had a bad TRIAC. This is easily tested with a desk lamp plugged into the side outlet (for this later model - will not work with earlier models)). IF the lamp is at full brightness and the dial does not change the brightness - then the TRIAC is bad - easily cross referenced and replaced.

For the budget minded amateur this is an appealing station -- but the TCP series has true temperature control.

w9gb
 
W9GB Rating: 3/5 Apr 4, 2005 18:28 Send this review to a friend
Modern versin of old QST/ARRL "build project"  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have always seen the WLC100 station in the electronic stores, but never had on the bench - until last week. This one came to my repair bench from a local radio/TV shop owner (who knew I have been repairing Weller TCP stations for 30 years - see my eHam.net Weller WTCPT review).

Let me start by saying that this was a 2002 mfg. station. This model has a GROUNDED 120 VAC on the left side of the base unit (WPC300) for plugging in the soldering iron (SPG40) packaged with the station. I have seen earlier models that had a "wired-in" iron and the bottom of the base unit (front) has a spot for entrance of a wired in cord.

This consumer model is suitable for the CASUAL hobbyist (e.g. RC models, connectors, light wiring) Tony van Roon VA3AVR has a web page, where he "reverse engineered" the PC board within the station (His station had failed after 6 years of usage)

Through my disassembly during repairs and his web site, I was able to determine that this Weller model is actually a modern version of an old QST/ARRL 1970s project (2005 ARRL Handbook - look on page 8.7) using a readily available light dimmer control for reducing the temperature of readily available "stick" irons.

What I do NOT like:

The SPG40 iron packaged with this unit is UNGROUNDED. Odd, since the base unit (WPC300) of this station does have a grounded outlet. However, IF you desire to use a grounded iron - you CAN use the Weller WP25, WP30 or WP35 stick irons with this base unit! These irons also use the same Weller "ST" tips

The iron uses set screws (easily lost) instead of the more convenient locking system used on the Weller WP series irons. Some users reported problems with the standard screw catching on the funnel of the iron spring holder

Would I recommend the unit?

Probably not, BUT with the current Weller Spring 2005 Promotion price of $30 (until June 30, 2005), it is CHEAPER than a Radio Shack iron and building the ARRL Handbook dimmer control project (page 8.7).

IF you do purchase this unit, a few recommendations:

Purchase the ST1 tip (1/16" screwdriver profile). This is an excellent profile tip for PC board work. The ST3 tip that comes with the station is more suitable for point to point wiring (switches, connectors, "boat anchors")

Weller Replacement Part Numbers:
Heater - HE40
Sponge - WCC104
Iron Spring - WCC105
Standard tip with station ST3 (1/8" screwdriver)

w9gb
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.