eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Vertical, Wire, Loop | ZeroFive Antennas 20 Meter 5/8 wave vertical Help


Reviews Summary for ZeroFive Antennas 20 Meter 5/8 wave vertical
ZeroFive Antennas 20 Meter  5/8 wave vertical Reviews: 9 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $299.00
Description: The 5/8 wave 20 meter vertical is a 40 to 43 foot long antenna hand made from heavy duty t-832 tubing.Big 2 1/8 inch bottom section tapers to 1/2 inch at the top.Comes complete with tuning network and fold over mount.power handling 3kw cw,6kw ssb.
Product is in production.
More info: http://WWW.ZEROFIVE-ANTENNAS.COM
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ZeroFive Antennas 20 Meter 5/8 wave vertical.

KK3RW Rating: 5/5 May 5, 2014 04:19 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have a pair of these verticals mounted on the ground in a phased array NE/SW configuration. Tuning is accomplished by sliding a shunt capacitor in or out for resonance, and adjusting a shunt tapped inductor for feed point impedance which results in a perfect match.By the way if you shorten the elements 5 or so feet you can obtain a perfect match on 17m. Tom at Zero-Five is always available to answer questions either by phone or email. Great antennas!!
 
W6KAN Rating: 5/5 Jan 1, 2011 07:36 Send this review to a friend
Phased 5/8 WL 20M Verticals Ground Mounted  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have two Zero Fivve antennas ground mounted spaced 1/4 wavelength apart and phased. The low angle of radiation coupled with the gain from the phasing network make this system perform exceptionallly wall.

Go to http://w6kan.com/5.8wlverticalantennas.html for an article I wrote on the antennas. W6KAN Tom
 
K7PP Rating: 5/5 Aug 29, 2010 19:19 Send this review to a friend
Flame thrower  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
OK, perhaps not a flamethrower but definitely spectacular! The 5/8's is mounted at 10' with four 16.5' radials.
I've also got an R7000 up at 20 feet. I've got an A-B-C switch with the 5/8's, the R7000 and a dipole set up East West.
The dipole is as good if not better in the direction if favors. The R7000 seems to do pretty well for the long haul. It's very quite. Now I know why.
If you pump enough power into a piece of wet string, you can make people hear you.
This is not an optimum antenna. I knew that going in but didn't fathom how much.
It doesn't hear very well in comparison to the Zero 5, which, for me, is flat across the phone band and very usable all the way down to the bottom of 20.
The Zero 5 antenna constantly hears 2-3 S units better than the R7000. Let's face it, Three S unit up from the noise floor is quite a bit.

Now I know there is a difference between a half wave end fed and a 5/8's so let's just say that thats the reason for the performance difference and not the inefficiency of the Balun and traps on the R7000.

I might also add that I had no problem walking the 38 foot vertical with the 10 feet of 2" Aluminum mast up and into position. Heavy but manageable.
The radials steady the top of the mount for the big 5/8's and hold things pretty steady.

This is one well built antenna and I'm hoping to log lot's of contacts this Winter.

Regards,

 
LA0GE Rating: 5/5 Mar 15, 2010 06:32 Send this review to a friend
Great  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is one great vertical. I have it ground mounted now, but as soon as the snow is gone I'm mounting it 10m over ground.
The built quality is nothing more than spectacular. You can not compare Zerofive antennas with anything else.
Do you want to work ALOT of DX? Then get one of these.
 
W6KAN Rating: 5/5 Jul 19, 2009 10:55 Send this review to a friend
WOW  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Several years ago I purchased a 5/8 wavelength 20M vertical from ZeroFive. It laid around the garage in its shipping carton until this summer. Having receently moved to California it needed a trial. Wow! This is better then my 11 element log.

Last night I worked the following DX in less then an hour:

IK5BAF, ZL1IRD, 4X4WN, UA3VSX, IZ7NLM, I7WL, LZ1YE, A61R, and DL8FL.

The reports were anywhere from 5/3 to 5/9 +10db. My ground conditons are bad so I have about 30 radials under the antenna.

I love this antenna...no more yaggis for me.

Tom W6KAN formerly K0GKD
 
W3ADC Rating: 5/5 Mar 19, 2009 11:47 Send this review to a friend
Great Vertical  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I put this up for Digital modes and it works great. Made one call to Tom and he was a great help. I put down 64 radials 32 feet long and it does a good job working DX.
 
KC9BLT Rating: 5/5 Dec 4, 2007 18:35 Send this review to a friend
I have 20 Meter 1/4 Wave  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I figured I would put my review in here. I have the Zero-Five 20 Meter 1/4 Wave Vertical. It has been a great performer for me on 20, 17, 10 and it works on six meters as well as 40. The mounting system is truly impressive and made putting this antenna up a breeze. The large diameter of this antenna makes it very broad-banded and it tunes up even with my TS-480SAT's auto-tuner on 40 very well. Zero-Five's communication is stellar, and they answer questions almost immediately via email. I would do business with this company again, a great performing product which I purchased as a single band antenna but find myself using all over when my wires and band condx demand a vertical.
 
KC9BGT Rating: 5/5 Feb 2, 2007 17:21 Send this review to a friend
A 20 METER ROCKET  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is my fifth antenna from TOM ,It is one big 20 meter vertical.It is super strong and I don't have to guy it. I have it mounted 7 feet above ground with 16 elevated radials 18 feet long,Easier to cut the lawn. This vertical really play's. First call and I am in. The signal reports are nothing short of ,YOU ARE LOUD !!
I recommend this antenna if you want to have a serious signal without the tower a huge beam.
Thanks again for another great antenna.
Jim
KC9BGT
 
KC0W Rating: 5/5 Nov 19, 2006 15:55 Send this review to a friend
A Vertical Flamethrower  Time owned: 0 to 3 months

I worked Tom (the owner of ZeroFive antennas) during one of my many DXpeditions to Martinique as TOO. In that trip, I made over 11,000 QSO's with many stations all over the world. Over the years I only remember QSO's with stations that had BOOMING signals or some other unique incident that happened during our chat.

Tom was an HONEST 35 over 9 into Martinique during our chat on 40 meters. When I found out that Tom was the owner of ZeroFive antennas & he was using one, I knew I had to purchase one of these vertical flamethrowers from him.

I called Tom on a Sunday night expecting to get an answering machine so that I could leave my ordering information. I was pleasantly surprised when Tom answered the phone & started fielding my lengthy questions about his 20 meter 5/8 wave antenna.

Tom stated that he would start custom building my antenna in the morning centered on the CW freq of 14.030 MHz. The antenna would be built & then fully assembled & tested out on the air by ZeroFive before being shipped to me.

Six days after I placed the order, the antenna was on my doorstep packed in such a way that it would easily survive a direct nuclear blast. It literally took me one hour to unpack the antenna.

I went the elevated radials route. Antenna is mounted on a 2" diameter galvanized pipe with the base of the antenna at a height of almost 15'. Total height (including mast) is 60'. This is one large 20 meter vertical antenna!!! The aluminum tubing is marked at the factory for where each piece should be nested into their corresponding "neighbor". A real no brainer setup because all the work has already been done for you to properly resonant the antenna on the freq of your choice.

I installed eight, 17' each elevated radials at the 15' mark of the antenna & hoped for the best.

Went inside, turned on the radio & checked SWR. It was 1:3 on 14,030.....Good enough for me.

Made a short CQ DX call & was immediately answered by TZ6LF in Mali. What a way to break in a new antenna. I then proceded to run a string of JA stations for the next hour or so. I asked for HONEST signal reports from the 25+ JA stations & was never greeted by less than a 579.

This monobander kicks some serious DX butt. It's built to last & is backed up by a company that will take the time to answer every question you may have regarding their products.


Tom KCW & TOO
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.