eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Books/Manuals/Videos/PodCasts on ham radio | ARRL Repeater Directory 2005-2006 (34th ed) Help


Reviews Summary for ARRL Repeater Directory 2005-2006 (34th ed)
ARRL Repeater Directory 2005-2006 (34th ed) Reviews: 10 Average rating: 2.5/5 MSRP: $10.95
Description: The ARRL directory of VHF/UHF repeaters in the US and Canada
644 pages. ISBN 0-87259-942-6 Includes band plans and contact information for repeater co-ordination. IRLP nodes also listed.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.arrl.org/catalog/?item=9426
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ARRL Repeater Directory 2005-2006 (34th ed).

N0FPE Rating: 5/5 Dec 30, 2013 09:53 Send this review to a friend
Still important  Time owned: more than 12 months
yes repeater book is great! I have it on my home computer and tablet, don't have a cellphone so cant speak for that.
BUT a hard copy is nice to have in your go kit or in the glove box of you car or truck. Even in todays world the cellphones don't work everywhere. There are places here in AZ that there is NO cell coverage of any kind. But area repeaters do cover those areas!!! The Repeater Guide is great for these times. People seem to think that having a cellphone is the be all end all but its not. I will always care a copy of the ARRL directory in my truck.

 
K4IA Rating: 3/5 Dec 30, 2013 06:36 Send this review to a friend
Old technology  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The printed book is OK but it is old technology, quickly outdated and clunky to use. The free RepeaterBook app for iPhone and Android is much better because it uses your smartphone GPS to list the repeaters (and their settings) withing a distance you set. You don't have to guess which particular town is nearby. You don't have to haul around a book full of data from all over the country. And, the print is big enough to read without a magnifying glass.

If you want to program your radio before you leave, you can put in grid squares and it will identify the nearby repeaters. You can sort out the bands you don't use or look for particular modes. This is much easier to use than a book.
 
N8FZ Rating: 5/5 May 29, 2012 05:43 Send this review to a friend
A classic must have  Time owned: more than 12 months
Every ham radio operator should always have the following in their automobile glove box:

1)Registration.
2)Proof of insurance.
3)ARRL Repeater Directory.
 
W5ALF Rating: 0/5 Jul 10, 2008 08:52 Send this review to a friend
Don't waste your $  Time owned: more than 12 months
Piece of junk..not worth the paper it is written on. It would be a formidable task to attempt to get even close to getting it accurate. I don't know why they even try.

Use the internet it will probably be wrong as well but it won't cost as much
 
W4KPA Rating: 4/5 Jun 19, 2005 11:53 Send this review to a friend
Pretty good, actually  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The Repeater Directory is a guide to what's been coordinated, not to what's actually on the air. I don't know any way that kind of data could be obtained at any sort of reasonable cost. The real problem is that coordinators rarely revoke the coordination of a machine, even it has been off the air for years. It's a problem on all the bands, but especially on 440. Coordinators need to clear out the "paper repeaters."

Here are a few suggestions that would improve the guide though:

1. Make it bigger. The idea of a pocket-sized book doesn't work. The guide is mostly used as a reference in the car. The size makes it hard to handle. The thin-paper pages are hard to turn. The narrow pages make the whole thing spring loaded. If you lose your grip, thirty pages may go spinning around before you can stop it.

2. Make the type bigger. I could barely read it 20 years ago. I have to have my reading glasses now.

3. Ditch the geographic area listings under each state. They are useless unless you can key them to a map. Often they're inaccurate. A simple, alphabetical listing by city (like the one used in the states covered by SERA) is better, although not perfect.

4. There is a lot of verbiage in the front of the book. I'm not sure how useful it is. Cut it down to only what is essential.

But, mainly -- make it bigger.
 
AA4A Rating: 1/5 Jun 19, 2005 11:28 Send this review to a friend
Absolutely ARRL's Fault  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
If the Repeater Directory were free, I would agree that the vast number of errors would be forgivable. But it isn't, and the publisher has to be held responsible for the very publication of this farce.
 
K6LCS Rating: 4/5 Jun 19, 2005 09:49 Send this review to a friend
Not Publisher's Fault  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Reviewers here seem to blieve that the ARRL has a staff to travel to all fifty states and personally verify each and every entry of the thousdands of repeaters listed in this Guide...

Let's get real.

Sourcebooks like this one are only as good as what the contributors submit. It is NOT the ARRL's fault for problems - it is the repeater coordination committees and governing bodies that haven't submitted current information that are at fault.

Instead of demeaning the ARRL, how about submitting corrections? And get your local coordinating committee off its rear end and submit current data. It is only by our timely and accurate submissions that this book gets to be a respected volume.

Clint bradford, K6LCS
 
N1QZ Rating: 1/5 Jun 19, 2005 08:28 Send this review to a friend
useless fiction  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I couldnt agree more with the other two postings. There are listings for many machines that do not even exist or many that have not been operational for many years.........Someone needs to go thru these listenings and let some frequency pairs go for those who will actualy get use out of them. I dont think it is a very hamlike quality that some people collect up six frequency pairs for themself and put one repeater on the air......thats not right.
About the only thing that this little $11.00 gem is good for is the band plans in the begining of the book and even at that the info is not all that much to remember.
For The New England area the best and most acurate source is http://www.nerepeaters.com/
Its the only way to go !
 
K7VO Rating: 2/5 Jun 18, 2005 17:50 Send this review to a friend
Highly inaccurate and only vaguely useful  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I, too, find the ARRL Repeater Directory to be poorly organized and highly inaccurate. I'm sorry but a published *IS* responsible for what goes into the books they publish. If the ARRL can't put out a reasonably accurate repeater directory then they shouldn't put one out at all.

When I lived in the southeast the SERA Journal was my resource for what repeaters are where. It, too, listed non-existent repeaters, but it wasn't nearly as bad as the Repeater Directory. I bought one this year as I am now in Ohio. I'm not convinced I got my $10 worth at all.
 
KC0ORP Rating: 0/5 Jun 18, 2005 16:01 Send this review to a friend
I paid money for this?  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Yes, it *is* possible to go downhill in both accuracy and utility from the previous editions of this guide. I live in the St. Louis metro area, and I have found that tracking the Illinois and Missouri repeater co-ordination websites is far superior to shelling out money for this turkey every year. Pity the travelling ham.

REPEAT, ARRL: We are paying you money for this. Don't bitch about tracking amateurs is like herding cats, WE ARE PAYING YOU MONEY FOR THIS.

AND YES, THE PETTY, BITCHING, DETAILS *DO* COUNT! ESPECIALLY IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT, IN THE RAIN, TRAVELING IN UNKNOWN TERRITORY.

I feel better now.

Some egregious violations:

Stations in same geographic area not listed in freq order, as well as by city of license. In metro areas, this is important.

AA9ME'S collection of dead air. Six stations listed that have not been on the air for five years. He's not the only one. You don't field check this stuff?

Umpteen tones missing. Field check?

SK machines and hams, changed calls- you guys can't use the FCC database?

No SKYWARN notes. You're outta luck if you're travelling.

K0RWU listed in STL when it is in High Ridge, and many other city of license follies.

Most hams are elderly, and your typeface is, like, 8 point?? That's really readable by a dome light...aaawww you'd have to make the book bigger. GOOD. It doesn't fit on most pockets anyway. You might as well make it useful.

I'm sure other hams in other locations would be glad to do some dxpeditions for you as secret kerchunkers.

Ok. Enough, it's time for dinner.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.