eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | SWR & Wattmeters & Dummy Loads | Diamond SX-40C PWR/SWR Meter Help


Reviews Summary for Diamond SX-40C PWR/SWR Meter
Diamond SX-40C PWR/SWR Meter Reviews: 10 Average rating: 3.9/5 MSRP: $89.95
Description: The SX40C is a compact SWR-power meter. Featuring cross needle design for measuring SWR and output power simultaneously. Compact size makes it very useful for testing mobiles as well as base station installation.Special Features: Cross needle design
Rated from 144-170 MHz Power ranges of 30 & 300 Watts


Product is in production.
More info: http://www.rfparts.com/diamond/sx40c.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Diamond SX-40C PWR/SWR Meter.

N8YQX Rating: 5/5 Nov 12, 2014 21:07 Send this review to a friend
Works fine  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Bought this meter used from another ham. Meter works fine for checking power and SWR. Nothing fancy, but gets the job done.

One minor concern is that the meter is light weight, so it may move around under the weight of the coax.
 
KD4AIQ Rating: 1/5 Jun 2, 2014 09:59 Send this review to a friend
two died in one year  Time owned: more than 12 months
Both meters worked at first. One lasted a year, the second lasted 4 months. They both failed by showing a 40% reading suddenly. The last one never had more than 50 watts through it. As with another reviewer they both started about 10% on the low side on both bands. I,ll try my luck with MFJ next.
 
W6QT Rating: 5/5 Aug 6, 2011 20:46 Send this review to a friend
Works Exactly as Described  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Couldn't be easier to operate. Tested low/high power and SWR functions with my log periodic and the meter was spot on.
 
W5WDV Rating: 2/5 Feb 9, 2011 05:03 Send this review to a friend
Not quite up to snuff  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Well, read the good reviews and thought I'd give it a shot.... first one from Ham City was defective. THe replacement works but is off by 50% low on 70cm. On 2 meters reads about 20% low. Will contact Diamond for an RMA so they can get this one fixed. Verified power output on IC7000 with a lab grade meter, good news is the 7000 is working slightly better than spec, bad news is the SX40C indicates that the radio is putting out half power! Rather it be ther meter than the radio anyday!!
 
AG4SO Rating: 4/5 Aug 3, 2009 08:57 Send this review to a friend
Good Product  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Nice size and good movemnet of the needles. Do not have a calibrated source for comparison but it is in line with my trusty Daiwa CN410. The only recomindation I can make to the manufactor is to have an option for N connectors.
 
K2TJR Rating: 5/5 Mar 3, 2008 14:40 Send this review to a friend
Good addition to my Shack...  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just bought it new recently. I like the small form factor and clean lines. Two power settings are a plus so it's more sensitive for checking a hand held unit.

I like the dual needle design and clear read out. I checked my SWR on both power settings and they are consistent being that the SWR reading is the same at both settings. Seems accurate but I was surprised that the VHF SWR was higher than I imagined. UHF SWR almost nill.

Now I have something to go by to tune my supposedly "no need to tune" antenna.

A very nice meter.

KE7QFM Ted
 
KI4BDS Rating: 2/5 Feb 10, 2007 16:55 Send this review to a friend
BLEEEEEEEEEECCCCCCK  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Mine fried in 1 year, both needles stick like they have mollasses in them.
 
KI4SMP Rating: 5/5 Jan 8, 2007 12:17 Send this review to a friend
Satisfied  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The meter works just as described
 
N2PKN Rating: 5/5 Jun 22, 2006 11:38 Send this review to a friend
GOOD METER  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
My last meter died so i was looking for a replacement.This fills the bill nicely ,very happy with it
 
KB3LOT Rating: 5/5 Jun 28, 2005 22:52 Send this review to a friend
Great Dual Band Meter  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
A great all around meter for dual band use.
The correct rating for this meter is 30/300 Watts.Some early production models were labeled as 15/150. This has been corrected. Nice and easy to use and fairly accurate for the price, some shops sell this as low as $69 bucks.
73's
KB3LOT
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.