eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: VHF/UHF+ Omnidirectional: verticals, mobile, etc | Smiley 270A Tri-Band HT Antenna Help


Reviews Summary for Smiley 270A Tri-Band HT Antenna
Smiley 270A Tri-Band HT Antenna Reviews: 15 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $25
Description: Collapsible (but spring at bottom!) SMA HT antenna.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.htantennas.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Smiley 270A Tri-Band HT Antenna.

Page 1 of 2 —>

KB5ELV Rating: 5/5 Jan 13, 2014 06:58 Send this review to a friend
Excellent!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought one of these, first, for my Kenwood TH-F6A, years ago...probably at least 6 years ago. It really is an improvement, and the spring in the base really helps a lot as well. Two years ago, I bought a second one for my Wouxun/Baofeng/Puxing handhelds. Passed the Kenwood on to a friend of mine with no radio and kept the Smiley, so I have two...or had...need to replace one that went missing with an HT that also went missing. Anyway, no hesitation in buying the replacement, it's that good. Tip: you can order it with the female SMA for the Wouxun/Baofeng/Puxing handhelds. It's not an available option on the form, but if you call or Email them with your order number, they'll include the correct base. Ask for the female SMA. You want the Yaesu one, not the Motorola one, and if you just tell them you've got a Wouxun or other Chinese HT, they'll know which one you want. That way you don't have to buy an extra base you might not need.
 
K9XXX Rating: 5/5 Aug 26, 2013 13:08 Send this review to a friend
Just replaced much-needed lost one  Time owned: more than 12 months
I just today received my replacement for my long-lost 270A.That's why I checked more than 12 months.
I have reviewed a number of HT ANTS here. I will not be without a 270A, not to say it's the only one I will ever use. Band dedication is important to HTperformance, and that is why I love the 270A.
I wouldn't use it outside in rain on a waterproof
HT. That will most usually the reason to swap antennas.
Great design + great execution = great product!
 
K7RNO Rating: 5/5 Mar 24, 2013 15:45 Send this review to a friend
Best compromise  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Dedicated antennas for the individual application (and band) are always the best, but if you want a Jack of all trades, master of some, then this telescoping midget is for you.

Fully extended on my HT (FT-60), inside the house, I can reach a repeater 34 miles away, if scratchy, so I am told. For listening to the same repeater, the fully retracted Smiley works just fine.

The flexible design with the base spring is a strike of genius. And if it needs to come off the HT, it does so in one twist: I chose the BNC version and use it on a Diamond adapter--a top notch product too.

Both are highly recommended.
 
KD0PBO Rating: 5/5 Aug 26, 2012 16:03 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic replacement for Wouxun HT  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
So like many others, I have one of the $109 Wouxon 2m/440 HTs purchased from HRO. Its a great little radio for the price, but the antenna is lacking. I had a lot of trouble trying to reach the local repeaters. Using it mostly around the house, I had to be in certain areas to talk to certain repeaters. After a few months of this, decided to upgrade and heard about the Smiley Antenna Co. Let me just say that this antenna has really improved this HT. Receive and transmit have both drastically improved. I can now hit the local repeaters any where inside my house. Another great thing about this antenna is the universal base. Every antenna is universally thread to fit Smiley base adapters. For the Wouxon I had to order seperate the Yaesu female sma base. This antenna only come with a BNC base or sma male. So I ended up having to pay a total of $33 shipping included. The advantage to this is that you can purchase only one antenna and several base adapters for use with multiple hts. No buying two of the same antennas with two different bases. Overall, its a great antenna and for the price it can't be beat! 73
 
HFHAM2 Rating: 5/5 Nov 18, 2011 10:34 Send this review to a friend
Best HT antenna I've come across  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I use this with my Yaesu VX-3R.

It's only 1" longer than the stock rubber duck antenna when fully retracted (5 1/2"). It's a 1/4 wave on 2M when fully extended (22") and can be a 5/8 wave on 220 or 440 by collapsing some of the telescoping sections. Fully retracted, it's a 1/4 wave on 440.

I've noticed a big improvement on both transmit and receive, and it's opened up the other bands that this little radio can receive (they were pretty much dead using the stock rubber duck).

Before buying the Smiley 270A I was using antennas like the Comet SMA-24 and the Diamond SRH-320A. Both good antennas giving similar results to the 270A. That said, the former was annoyingly "whippy" (which often affected the transmitted signal), and the latter is expensive and not so good for the extended coverage that the VX-3R is capable of. In addition, both were too long to leave attached to the radio full-time, so were a hassle in needing to be transported separately and screwed on/off as needed.

With the 270A however, I leave it attached to the radio all the time and only need to extend it when I want to transmit; in fact, I don't even need to extend it to transmit on 440 (1/4 wave).

It seems to be very well made (solid), has the (covered) spring at the bottom to protect your antenna connector and is inexpensive too.

Not quite as sleek as the stock duck, but a small price to pay for the much improved performance.
 
KC2GUY Rating: 5/5 Sep 22, 2011 06:16 Send this review to a friend
An improvement for your HT  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I live quite a distance from the nearest repeaters...my stock rubber duck antenna worked ok, but the reception and often the transmissions were weak. Bought the Smiley 270a. There is a noticeable improvement. Clearer and stronger on transmissions and reception. I like the spring loaded bottom of the antenna with a good support for it when you extend the antenna. Precision made.
The sma connector fits snug on my Alinco HT. I now leave it on my HT almost all the time. Thank you Smiley !
 
N5OFQ Rating: 4/5 May 14, 2011 06:26 Send this review to a friend
Good compromise  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
On my FT-60R, this is much better than the stock duck and even smaller than the duck when collapsed. When extended, the 270A is lightweight. Comparing collapsed and extended with my old Anli AL-800, the AL-800 pulls in signals about 2 S-Units better but it's large and heavy. Overall, I think the Smiley 270A is a good compromise between a duck and a serious whip.
 
N1KSN Rating: 5/5 Jul 22, 2010 16:38 Send this review to a friend
Works very well  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased this antenna some time ago, but didn't get around to using it much until recently. I've paired it with my IC-Q7A and have found that it works very well. The radio and (detached) collapsed antenna fit in a small plastic bag for transport while I'm on my bicycle. I've tested it at various distances from our local repeaters and have been quite pleased.

The spring base is a real asset as others have said. I have also found myself forgetting to collapse the top two sections when moving from 2m to 70cm, but it still worked. (Of course, I try not to do this!)

 
AF6QZ Rating: 5/5 Jul 11, 2010 15:38 Send this review to a friend
Just what I wanted  Time owned: more than 12 months
When I bought my Yaesu FT-60R, I knew at once that I would need to get a better antenna than the cheap rubber ducky that came with it. I originally purchased a Diamond SRH77CA, and was very pleased with it. I still use it. But as things turned out, I wanted to make the radio a little more portable and be able to carry it in my belt without arising too much suspicion with that foot-long antenna. A friend of mine recommended this one, and I have got to say that I am very happy with it. I had originally not bought a telescopic antenna because I was afraid that it or the connector on the radio might break from the strain, but the flexible base/coil prevents that form happening.
It is a little annoying to have to extend/collapse it all the time, so I still use my SRH77CA for hiking and outdoors when I need a 'usable' antenna 100% of the time, but for when I am doing anything else, the Smiley is the one I use and it has been great.
 
VE3LNU Rating: 5/5 Jul 6, 2010 11:19 Send this review to a friend
Perfect antenna for Kenwood TH-F6a handheld!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
For years I have complained that amateur radio manufacturers simply do not understand how to make a practical antenna for the new, ultra-compact HTs. I mean, what's the point of buying a small, compact handheld when you need to hang it from your belt with a 12" long antenna that could easily poke you in the eyes? And let's be honest, people: who wants to be seen walking around a mall or city park with a foot-long antenna (or longer) on top of their tiny HT? In practical terms, most gain HT antennas have to be unscrewed and carried in a pocket, and then re-inserted when you want to go on the air. This is far from ideal, in my view!

Enter this little beauty. Fully retracted, it's shorter than the stock rubber duck supplied with the THF-6a, making it even easier to carry on your belt. A bonus is that, when retracted, the 270A is a 1/4 wave on 440, so you can actually "walk and talk" with the radio on your belt just like the stock antenna (but with better performance).

When I want to work 220 MHz (which I use more than 440), I stop and extend 3 sections - now I have a 5/8 wave for this band!

In my mind, this is the perfect tri-band HT antenna (or as close to it as you will find). I will soon be ordering a second one as a back up.

A great value for the price. Smiley has really outdone the "big manufacturers" with this one.

Joe, VE3LNU
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.