eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Software - Other than logging | Win96 Help


Reviews Summary for Win96
Win96 Reviews: 8 Average rating: 3.6/5 MSRP: $30.00
Description: Programming software for the Radio Shack Pro-96 & Pro-2096 digital trunking scanners.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.starrsoft.com/software/win96/default.asp
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Win96.

N6VQL Rating: 0/5 Feb 20, 2010 09:58 Send this review to a friend
useless software  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Win-92 software completely made my scanner inoperative. Sent 5 e-mails to Don Starr with no response. I rate the software and support worse than pXXX poor.
 
KB8UDE Rating: 0/5 Mar 1, 2008 22:59 Send this review to a friend
NO SUPPORT  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is partly my fault but I lost my registration key and the author claims he will help out but hasn't answered any of my emails for the past year. Every so often I remember to email again and never is one returned. He finally has a page that claims he is behind on requests like this and offers a 180-day temporary key. It's been more than 180 days since my last email for help!!
If this is what my $30 gets me, then I guess you get what you pay for and the price of quality is apparently much higher.
I continue to be very happy with my software for the BC-250d scanner. I use ARC250pro and it is great. The author Gommert is a nice guy and even got to meet him a Dayton a couple times. Too bad he doesn't do the Pro-96. :(
 
KX1C Rating: 5/5 Dec 10, 2005 22:22 Send this review to a friend
A Winner !  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just purchased the PRO-2096 and discovered the WIN96 software on-line. It is a bit pricey at $30.00 but does what it is supposed to. A great time saver and detail oriented to enhance all the PRO-2096 features. The only minus feature is the need for a more detailed discription on setting up the digital trunking. This could be elaborted on more in the included "Help Index". Otherwise, send in your cash, sit back, and enjoy this great combination of scanner and programing software.
 
N6URU Rating: 5/5 Aug 16, 2005 11:13 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Outstanding program - as is Win92. While not ABSOLUTELY required to program the scanner, I can't imagine doing it manually. I'm an old-time listener, since before they scanned, and never thought I'd need a computer program. I thought wrong. Great.
 
K6IHC Rating: 4/5 Jul 29, 2005 23:23 Send this review to a friend
Almost excellent  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
It's actually about a 4+, but not quite a 5. I give it a less than perfect score in that I am an experienced user of commercial/public safety radio programming software (and some amateur programming software). In most of the software I use, one can individually edit and reprogram a single bank/group, without rewriting the radio's entire program. If Win96 can do this, I haven't been able to find this function.

Otherwise, Don Starr's software is very useful, and it makes the programming of the 96/2096 *V-Scanners* easy.
 
DEWEY3 Rating: 5/5 Jul 29, 2005 19:12 Send this review to a friend
Excellent!!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This software is a must! None of this author's software has ever crashed, or locked up any of my computers. The software is very "computer friendly", and does not install a bunch of different files in different places. The author is very supporting of all of his software. Highly recommended!
 
JAKEG Rating: 5/5 Jul 29, 2005 15:06 Send this review to a friend
GREAT!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just started using the program the last couple of days. The ONLY program I would use for the Pro 96/2096.


easy to use and works well

Well worth the $30 fee.
 
KG6EJT Rating: 5/5 Jul 29, 2005 13:39 Send this review to a friend
Makes programming easy  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This well designed application for the Radio Shack Pro-96 and Pro-2096 digital scanners makes programming trunked radio systems (Both Motorola & EDACS) easy. It also makes managing and organizing the radios' vast number of memories a breeze.

There are enhancements to both radios that can only be done through Win96, including extended frequency coverage (Military aircraft 225-440 Mhz), a customizable boot-up screen and the ability to import from the web and other's .p96 files.

This application is well worth the $30.00 registration fee. A fully-functional 30-day demo is available on the Win96 website.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.