- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Antennas: VHF/UHF+ Omnidirectional: verticals, mobile, etc | MFJ-1729 Dual band antenna Help

Reviews Summary for MFJ-1729 Dual band antenna
MFJ-1729 Dual band  antenna Reviews: 15 Average rating: 3.8/5 MSRP: $34.95
Description: MFJ's Power Gain is ham radio's most powerful dual band magnet mount mobile antenna!
It gives you outstanding gain on 440 MHz and 2 Meters. Low SWR lets you rig deliver full power safely. Get a whopping 2.6 dB gain on 2 Meters and 6.3 dB gain on 440 MHz.
Perfect for dual band mobiles or HTs. Free BNC handheld adapter. Handles 300 Watts PEP.
MFJ's exclusive 27 1/2 inch stainless steel SlimLineRadiator minimizes wind vibration for less SWR flutter -- gives you longer range and better readability. Includes 15 feet of coax with PL-259 connector, heavy duty magnet mount with scratch resistant rubber guard.
Product is in production.
More info:
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the MFJ-1729 Dual band antenna.

Page 1 of 2 —>

WB4JPG Rating: 2/5 Feb 25, 2016 08:41 Send this review to a friend
Needs help  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
The MFJ-1729 when it works, works OK. I'm on my 3 replacement in less than 10 months (Yes MFJ does honor there warranties and they ship the very same day), but it's a hassle. The main problem is the capacitor goes out in the base. Seems like a serious quality or design problems with the MFJ-1729.

The only other problem I have with the antenna is the wire they use to make the whip is thin gauge. Just driving down at highway speeds will create a slight bent at the base. And yes it does whistle and has a good deal of flutter. Just a slightly higher gauge will would solve those problems.
KB7OOM Rating: 2/5 Jul 26, 2015 11:19 Send this review to a friend
*sigh*  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Update to previous review:

In late June, roughly 6 months after purchase, I noticed a lot of cutting out of signals on any frequency. Took the antenna off the truck and noticed the bottom "membrane" was coming off. Peeling it back a bit (oh man, is it thin!) I noticed rust where the coax is soldered to the capacitor and the coax was also rusted and had broken away from the the antenna mount.
When this was new, despite the whistle going down the freeway (see previous review), this thing worked pretty well. Would like to give this a 2.5 - OK but needs help!
Am disappointed in the quality if the underside of the base. Calling MFJ to see what kind of customer service they provide.
K1EHZ Rating: 5/5 Jun 8, 2015 14:28 Send this review to a friend
Works fine!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I recently installed a 2m FM radio in a 2013 Subaru Outback. I purchased the MFJ-1729 in case I wanted to move to a dual band radio in the future. It is centered just behind the first roof rack rail with the coax tie-wrapped to the rail over to the door behind the driver side door. The coax fits nicely down the front edge of the door opening with bits of coax seal keeping it tucked in front of the door gasket down to the bottom where the coax enters the car. The SWR is 1.0 on a fairly wide band around 146MHz, including the receive and transmit frequencies of the local repeater. I don't have any other mobile antenna experience for comparison, but the MFJ-1729 works fine on the road with 25 watts from the radio. Because it is tie-wrapped to the rail, I unscrew the antenna element when going into parking garages and car washes. The mag mount connector can be protected with a 3/8" vinyl tube cap. A 3/8"x24 cap nut also fits for more protection in a high pressure car wash.
KF2YD Rating: 1/5 Mar 31, 2012 10:30 Send this review to a friend
MFJ-1729 Review  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I was really hesitant to buy another MFJ product because I had purchased so many MFJ products in the past that were defective because of poor quality control. The reviews sounded so good that I decided to take another chance and buy one. When I opened up the package I noticed that the rubber protective piece that was on the bottom of the mag mount was deformed and was coming loose! This was very upsetting so I called HRO and explained to them that I had a received another defective product from MFJ. They were very nice and told me that I could return the defective MFJ antenna and that they would send me another replacement. After seriously thinking about all of the defective MFJ products that I had received in the past I finally came to the conclusion that it would be better to ask for a refund and spend a little more and buy a much better quality built antenna from a different manufacturer. Very dissatisfied!
KD8EZU Rating: 5/5 Dec 20, 2011 08:54 Send this review to a friend
MFJ can make a good product  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Reading most reveiws about MFJ, one would think that anything that comes out of Starksville , Miss would be pure junk. That is pure BS.

Bought this antenna from HRO and it arrived in a super nice and HUGE box to protect it ( thanks HRO ) Very nice packaging if one was looking at it on a display board. I coated the plastic ( rubber?) base and O-ring seal ( goes around the screw on fitting for ant,)with 3M Silicone paste to protect it and also about 1 foot of the coax from the base to also protect that from the elements\UV.

VERY strong magnet that did not move at all and my car gets up to 90 MPH at times on isolated roads. T

The whip did not flutter or sway in driving and I like that. Fairly flat SWR ( 1.3-1.5 ) on 2-meters . THe addition of BNC adapter is just great as the primary use for this antenna is with my trusty Radio Shack HTX-202 HT , battery powered . I noticed that I could immediately HEAR stations that I could not before. Hit the Blumont, VA repeater, while 50 miles away near Frederick , MD on 5 watts or less from the HT. A real improvement that was a pleasant surprise.

MFJ does have quality control issue's but they're American made and affordable.

I'd recommend the antenna, spray\apply rubber parts with either 3M Silione Paste or good ole' Amour All to protect against UV .

Why pay more?
KJ4WHO Rating: 4/5 Dec 9, 2011 11:10 Send this review to a friend
Whistles!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bought the antenna and mounted it on the roof of my 4 door pickup. Driving down the road I noticed that at 40 mph and above there was a very high pitched noise coming from the area of the antenna. It was really annoying. Tried changing the position but nothing helped. Finally tried wrapping the coil section in electrical tape. Voila! Problem solved. Had to drop a point for this.

Oh, it's a great antenna I was able to hit repeaters from 90 miles away with a HT in the truck. Really impressive performance.

I'll update as I have more time with it. I would recommend it, especially for the cost. But be aware it might whistle for you too.
WA2B Rating: 3/5 Aug 4, 2011 05:53 Send this review to a friend
Works Well But....  Time owned: more than 12 months
The MfJ-1729 works well but be careful of the center pin on the PL-259. When parking my car in NYC I remove my radio and antenna. Taking the antenna on and off from the back of the radio is difficult and eventually the center pin weakens.
N6XXX Rating: 5/5 Aug 17, 2009 03:46 Send this review to a friend
solid, great performance  Time owned: more than 12 months
Had this on my car for almost 4 years now. SWR is 1.1 to 1.3 for 2m and around 1.5 to 1.6 for 440. Has held up really well, never comes off unless I want it to. Where my trunk lid has opened and closed on the wire over and over it's worn a hole through the plastic and the inner coax mesh, but it's had no effect on performance. Probably will have this antenna forever.
KB2VYZ Rating: 5/5 Jun 8, 2009 00:09 Send this review to a friend
Does really well  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I purchased this antenna to replace one of the so-called better antenna companies dual band antennas. My receiver was way better than before, and I was getting into, and staying into repeaters, that I once could not hold. I highly recommend this mobile antenna.
N4LRA Rating: 4/5 Jun 7, 2009 20:31 Send this review to a friend
Decent Antenna  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
A decent and very affordable antenna. It is very flexible, which is a plus for me since it gets whacked regularly by a low parking garage roof.

Performance is equal to more expensive Comet and Diamond dual band mobile antennas with equivalent gain figures. Time will tell how durable it proves to be.
Page 1 of 2 —>

If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.