eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Software - Other than logging | FTB60 Help


Reviews Summary for FTB60
FTB60 Reviews: 8 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $15
Description: FTB60 is a memory management program for the Yaesu FT-60
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.g4hfq.co.uk/ftb60.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the FTB60.

ON6SX Rating: 5/5 Jul 16, 2013 12:51 Send this review to a friend
Great  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
It made my life a lot more easy when i program my FT-60,you really need this when you have a FT-60.
Good software,great job.
 
K7TCE Rating: 5/5 Jan 8, 2012 14:50 Send this review to a friend
Great Software  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I had Bob's FTB1802, recently bought the FTB7800, and now the FTB60. All I can say is I've used the competition's offerings for years, and Bob's software runs circles around it. $15? Free updates (unlike the other guys)? Worth every penny.
 
KD2BHP Rating: 5/5 Jan 8, 2012 13:37 Send this review to a friend
works great  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just got a FT-60 and picked up a usb cable from amazon... the software is easy to use and programs the radio no problem...

what more could you ask for...

Being able to read files from rt systems programmer would be nice so I could exchange files with people who use that would be nice. But as they both support CSV I guess that works... but it's kind of a pain having to fix the columns as they both output there data in a slightly different format...
 
KC8TJ Rating: 5/5 Jul 18, 2011 07:15 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Great software, inexpensive and easy to use. Bob's customer support is superb. Brief issue with the radio talking to the computer... turned out I needed to shave 1mm off the plug at radio end. Bob stayed with me until the problem found and solved.
 
K6MTT Rating: 5/5 Sep 21, 2007 13:39 Send this review to a friend
Superb  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Don't waste your time with crappy RT Systems/Yaesu software. Buy it for the cable, if you don't want to make your own, then get Bob's great software packages. As with the other packages, FTB60 is straightforward, easy to use, and flexible. If you like using Excel to massage your frequency lists, you'll enjoy the CSV import and export features. It also supports the ARRL Travel Repeater list format. It's everything ham software SHOULD be.

It's clean and well organized and makes dealing with your radios a breeze. Even my Kenwoods are maintained using FTBasic, so you can share a common database of frequencies for a number of radios.

Support is great too - can't say enough good things about G4HFQ!
 
AE9K Rating: 5/5 Dec 9, 2006 18:42 Send this review to a friend
Excellent software  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased FTB60 after comparing the reviews for both RT System's ADMS software and G4HFQ's FTB60.

This software is very well layed-out. You don't need a manual to use it either. Simply select the desired com port, then click Read FT60. A pop-up follows that walks you through the few steps to perform on the FT-60. Since these steps are identical to the cloning directions in the Yaesu manual, you don't need to refer to that manual either.

Editing is simple. The software allows shortcuts like highlighting a range of values, making a single selection, and the selection applies to the whole range. This is great if you want to change 20 channels to low power, for example, in one step.

There's also a page where you can edit all the global SET menu options. Each option shows the default, the current value and all the possible values. Again, eliminating the need to consult a manual.

I am using the RT Systems CT-29A serial-to-TTL level converter cable and the CT-28A adapter to the Yaesu 4-conductor 3.5mm plug. My review for that cable pair is on: http://www.eham.net/reviews/detail/6345

If you're only programming a few repeaters into your FT-60, you don't need this or any software. If, however, you travel and want to stuff lots of repeaters in and assign them to banks, then this software is just what you need.

This was well worth the $18.50 and is highly recommended.

Version reviewed: 1.1.4
 
GM4SLV Rating: 5/5 Nov 20, 2006 05:38 Send this review to a friend
Great Software  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought an FT60 recently and having used Bob's software for the FT8800 I knew it would be worth buying his prog for the little handie too.

I wasn't disappointed!

It makes using the 1000 memories (and all the other config tweaks) painless. It's intuitive to use - just point, click, type (in fact you can do it all from the keyboard if you're mouse-a-phobic like me!) and follow the on screen instructions to "CLONE" the image from the rig to the PC and back.

My FT60E has been modded for wider RX/TX and this software handles it without any problems.

I use about the simplest homebrew interface (from http://www.qsl.net/g3vgr/civ.html Icom and Yaesu use the same style of interface) and a 4-pole plug modified as per the instructions on Bob's own website (the standard one available in the UK is too wide to fit in the recess on the FT60).

Cheers,

John GM4SLV
 
KD8BIZ Rating: 5/5 Oct 12, 2005 05:24 Send this review to a friend
Excellent software  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Throw the ADMS software away and use this! Great job - very similar to FTB8800, which I also have. This makes the radio useable without having to keep the manual open on the desk.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.