eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF Verticals and Wire | ECO VERTICAL 7+ ART.283 Help


Reviews Summary for ECO VERTICAL 7+ ART.283
ECO VERTICAL 7+ ART.283 Reviews: 9 Average rating: 3.8/5 MSRP: $460$
Description: VERTICAL 7+ Bands 10-12-15-17-20-30-40 mt. Polarization: vertical
S.W.R. : see GRAPHICS
Impedance: 50 Ohm
Bands: 10-12-15-17-20-30-40 mt.
Connector: SO 239
Height: 7,07 mt.
Radials lenght: 1,23 mt.
Connection: 32-60 mm.
Power with S.W.R. 1:1,5: 1500 W SSB 10-12-15-17-20-30 mt. 500 W SSB 40 mt.
Material: anticorodal aluminium and stainless steel
Weight: 6,6 Kg.
Requires installation at short distance from ground floor!
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.ecoantenne.it/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ECO VERTICAL 7+ ART.283.

SV1XV Rating: 3/5 Dec 31, 2012 02:45 Send this review to a friend
Good value for money  Time owned: more than 12 months
I installed this antenna in 2001 and used it until 2004, when its mast collapsed and element #4 was destroyed. During this time I managed to work some 250 DXCC entities using this antenna. Four weeks ago I decided to repair and re-installed it. The antenna still works fine, I checked with my MFJ-269 and saw reasonable SWR in the 7 amateur bands. I did not bother to optimize the SWR and I prefer to use a MFJ-969 antenna tuner. I hope we get some good propagation conditions in the next few months...
 
IZ5MAO Rating: 4/5 Nov 15, 2008 22:36 Send this review to a friend
Easy and Smart  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Very easy to assemble , clear and complete write instructions ( refer those in italians only) , good materials compare to the price, following the dimension on the manual i've SWR very low in all the bands at 1,8 mt. above the roof.
Not rating 5 because one of radials was not well drill , so finally Quality control not at 100%.

More tecnical review after some period of use and extreme weather condictions.
The first impression in RX it's quite positive.

'73 Roberto
 
LZ1ZJ Rating: 0/5 May 25, 2008 11:18 Send this review to a friend
Awful!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I was so silly to buy this antenna a month ago and now even the crows on my roof are making fun at me!
I am using TS 480 HX-200W. After a few days working mostly at 40 and 30m,SWR went to the enfinity and I needed to re-wind the 1:1 balun with high-grade coaxial cable.Working on transmission a little bit longer SWR
rised up till 3:1 for 40m. and 2.8:1 for 30m.
I thing, that the Englishman have a good proverb... " I am not rich
enought to buy myself cheap things." Save your money and nerves! Sorry for my poor English.
73 de LZ1ZJ
 
IZ2LSC Rating: 4/5 Jan 11, 2008 06:23 Send this review to a friend
Good Product  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I think this antenna is a good product, also considering the price.
I own this antenna since 5 months and I have worked 176 countries most of them with 100W.

The 7+ is installed on the top of my roof at about 15 meters (50 feet) from the ground.
The SWR is quite low on all bands but when the weather get wet, there are some changes.

I also report the problem with 100W in RTTY on 40 meters band, as PA2RU reported in the previous review.
Maybe a possible workaround is to change the 2 toroids into the matching box with a more performing type.

 
PA2RU Rating: 4/5 Sep 20, 2007 11:46 Send this review to a friend
Nice vertical  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I own this antenna now 3 day's and very happy with the results untill now.
For DX on 40 and 30m is this antenna much better then my horisontal deltaloop.
On the other bands 50/50

The swr is on each band ok , exept on 30 ( best 1:2 at 10.200kHz ) , just like the diagrams on the papers who is delivered at the antenna.

I fixed this antenna 7 meters above ground and it is working very good.
There is 1 thing i discovered today:
If you making a qso in CW on 40meters with 100 watt from the TX , and you're making a long transmission you will see the SWR is rising up!!
If 40 is your favorite band --> pay attention !!
I think the balun at the bottom off the antenna is getting warm.

I hope ECO will come with a fix for this 'problem' in the very near furure.
 
DL2SBA Rating: 4/5 Apr 6, 2007 07:06 Send this review to a friend
Well build antenna for restricted space  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought the antenna used two month ago from a german ham.

The antenna was very easy to assemble and the factory proposed setup gave a well SWR reading at the antenna base as well as after 38m of RG58C.

The construction of the antenna is good compared to its price of about EURO 300,-

The noise level of the antenna is signficant higher than from my G5RV but the signals on the WARC are usually more than 18db stronger than on from my G5RV.

I'm still experimenting for which station distance the antenna works best...

For german speaking hams, i posted a detailled review on http://home.arcor.de/photog/v7review.pdf.
 
IW9CTR Rating: 5/5 Oct 19, 2006 09:42 Send this review to a friend
Buy it  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The best antenna I buy, perfect, without r.o.s. on 7 bands
 
F5TIL Rating: 5/5 Aug 15, 2006 21:39 Send this review to a friend
Very good multiband vertical antenna  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Very solid antenna,good quality aluminium.
Perfect for the dx,one of the best antenna that i used.
I recommend this antenna in all those who lack of room in their garden.(Not need of radians)

73, Stéphan F5TIL
stephane.sechaud@wanadoo.fr
 
SV2HRV Rating: 5/5 Aug 11, 2006 00:34 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Multiband Antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
My husband got this antenna as a "second hand antenna" for over 5 years now. The propagation was quite good at that time and the antenna was surrounded by buildings, but he had no problem at all.

After 2 years all the equipment moved to the QRL. Now (after I became an Radioamateur too) we're installing slowly but stably a new QTH-Station.

After many discussions, we've decide to begin this new Station with the same antenna again because:

1. good price
2. quite resistant (no problems with storms)
3. you've got (excepting the 7 bands) also 6m
and
4. construction is VERY EASY (it took me max. 15 min.)

If you make everything right you've got from less to nothing SWR.

All in one: It's worth the money for a start with less charge of time and money.

Best reguards
Mni 73's

Diana - SV2HRV
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.